The Outsider Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 For those who did not choose a bowling all rounder, you should probably make three choices here. For the ones going in with a bowling all rounder, pick your best two. Had a tough time coming up with this shortlist and if there are any suggestions to make changes let me know. I was debating on whether to have Steyn in yet or to have Holding or Garner instead.
maniac Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Good list....Dale Steyn should definetely be in.....This may just be an assumption but the fact that he plays 3 different formats in addition of being a superb fielder and still performing outsandingly makes him with all due respect 'marginally' superior than some of the names. If you are going retro why not Frank Tyson...who was supposed to be a terror in his time...the original white lightning
maniac Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Picked Steyn and Akram....Tempted to pick Marshall but maybe he wouldn't have lasted long enough in modern day schedule based on how quickly his peak ended. Right and left combo...Steyn for reason mentioned above and Wasim for being the greatest left-arm seamer ever.
Laaloo Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 McGrath and Ambrose Wanted to pick Steyn/Akram but Pidge and Ambrose were just too damn good.
zaheer Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 I picked 3 fast bowlers, a bowling all rounder and a batting all rounder too.. is that a problem.. So far my Team Gavaskar Hayden Ponting Tendulkar Richards/Lara (Dont remember who i picked) Imran Khan/ Sobers Gilchrist A Spinner (Would Be Shane Warne) Marshall Ambrose Donald Hows that?
Marut Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Marshall and Lillee. So far: L.Hutton Gavaskar Bradman Lara Tendulkar Sobers Healy Hadlee Marshall Lillee
The Outsider Posted June 27, 2012 Author Posted June 27, 2012 If you are going retro why not Frank Tyson...who was supposed to be a terror in his time...the original white lightning Didn't play enough to replace any of the names I guess due to a host of injuries. Kind of like the Akhtar of modern times minus the tampering and chucking. I picked 3 fast bowlers, a bowling all rounder and a batting all rounder too.. is that a problem.. Problem kya honi hai? It's just to have some fun and time pass!
Clarke Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 If i had to pick the three quicks together, i might have picked McGrath (my all time fav, the tomahawk of a bowling lineup), one ATG with reverse swing expertise (Khan/Akram, possibly the former due to batting) and Marshall, probably the best of the ATG Caribbean attack with speed as an advantage. Now that i picked Hadlee because of his bowling, i'll have to skip McGrath to keep the above combination. Bad planning ~ Ghor Samasya!
CG Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 I picked ambrose and marshall .a swing bowler a hit the deck bowler who are good in all conditions,tough to choose between marshall and akram.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Marshall, McGrath and Ambrose for me, and would love to have Wasim Akram in the squad of 16 if I could.
Khalpat Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 So Far: Gavaskar Hobbs Bradman Sachin Richards Sobers Gilchrist Akram Marshal Mcgrath
Lurker Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Syd Barnes Marshall 3rd choice was iffy between Lindwall, Lillee, Akram but I finally went with Steyn. In the batting era and dead pitches his performance has been as good as any ATG.
Sooda Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 ^No, I loved Waqar but he was a bit of a minnow basher. His record vs Aus for instance is poor. He was great though. Maybe could replace Donald, maybe a bit more skillful
Sooda Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Ive gone for Steyn and Akram too..what a combo that would be to watch in tandem...
Pagalpanti Posted June 27, 2012 Posted June 27, 2012 Ive gone for Steyn and Akram too..what a combo that would be to watch in tandem... My choice as well. Terrorising for opposition. One can swing at will, other can not only swing but york at will.
Asim Posted June 28, 2012 Posted June 28, 2012 ^No' date=' I loved Waqar but he was a bit of a [b']minnow basher. His record vs Aus for instance is poor. He was great though. Maybe could replace Donald, maybe a bit more skillful :hmmmm2: