....but you said you are going to Chennai. :dontknow:
Sunny is saying "he would be remembered ...:(("

OK .. how many of u have stayed in Chennai for a considerable period... they wud be the better judge.

Stayed there for about 10 days as a baby, 3 days as a small kid and less than a day as an adult. Therefore, the more I matured the quicker I got out of Chennai. :winky:
Not exactly Bro... I was scheduled to be back in Singapore this year (after few years stay in N.Africa) but there are few issues regarding the employment Visa there.. Our Main Office is in Singapore and 2nd H.O. in India - Chennai ..still other offices are there in India - Mumbai , Kolkata ,Cochin,Delhi , Mundra etc ... but they prefer me working in Chennai with the main development team and certainly its a launching Pad to move ahead ... From Last 2 years have received tons of appreciation from Audit team plus the BOD... so its not a punishment... :--D Chennai here I come :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: .. After conquering the IPL :kkr: 2nd base would be Chennai .. Btw.. do i have to wear lungi 24X7 .. even at the appiss ... and should i change me accent .. like instead of M is say 'YUM' .
thats a bengali wear you can wear it in chennai they wont kick you out for that.:diablo:
:laugh: Vilander finally realizes its not racism if you kick their butt with it.
this hsould be in jokes section :rofl:
Ban this guy :whack::whack: This is 2 pages long already? Dude stop being a show off and just move to Chennai. Just like every city in India, there are few annoyances. You can easily survive with English. No one will kill you because you are KKR fan. Our thala Balaji has been spearheading the KKR team for a couple of years. Overall you will have a good time, make good friends and experience new things. Just keep off our girls (this warning does not apply to the North Indian girls) :angelic:
dude, 1, live somethwere in south chennai, its a big middle class locality. Like in mumbai there are many sub urban electric train stations, each one will have suburbans towns in both sides. rentals are cheaper since the city is more spreadout. 2, You will get good cheap food, enjoy all varities. 3, When you speak with any person in a shop or on road , speak with a smile and star with 'saar' they will go out of their way to help you. 4, Dont use the heavy self respect style of north india,it would be counter productive as with your language gap people there would mistake it for arrogance. 5, Auto walahs are mostly cheats when they know you are not local. use public transport, ac busses and electric trains or mrts. 6, Once you find a house make sure you dont do toomuch eye contact with girls and ladies in the house, unless they are friendly with you and initiate themselves. 7, 8 months are super hot 2 months are wet and humid 2 months are wet and normal ( dec, jan). 8, Roads will be filled with pot holes and the trafic police will catch other state vehicles and ask money, if you do not follow lane decipline. 9, Elliots beach is good, marina is not that good. There are big malls in saidape, adyar etc. There are large mercentile towns in mambalam and t nagar, sub urban train station (mambalam) 10, Chennai is a very vast city and there are multiple roads to reach from point a to b so use google maps and local research to find short and safe route for commute with personal vehicle. 11, Make some local friends, they might not speak hindi, so speak in english, speak some broken tamil words and smile they will become too friendly with you. 12, Keep away from slum dwellers and gawkers they will be very abusive and could be a secutiry and well being issue. 13, keep away from less frequented remote mrts stations which are near slums or coom river banks at night these are hubs of anti socials. 14, Keep a few towels and anti prespirants handy , chennai is always humid. Drink lots of water, and take bath twice :)) Contrary to what north indians expect, chennai is actually pretty ok, best of luck.
:laugh: Vilander finally realizes its not racism if you kick their butt with it.
Pravin thanks for taking note dude, but i still consider indians to be the most racist people on earth, it is just that there is no point trying to influenze some thing beyond my control. We are racist without knowing that we would hurt someone, we will as a country have to learn to be less so some day.
Btw.. do i have to wear lungi 24X7 .. even at the appiss ... and should i change me accent .. like instead of M is say 'YUM' .
yup try practicing it from now even batman wear lungi in chennai 314878_506538376030232_566110329_n.jpg
dude, 1, live somethwere in south chennai, its a big middle class locality. Like in mumbai there are many sub urban electric train stations, each one will have suburbans towns in both sides. rentals are cheaper since the city is more spreadout. 2, You will get good cheap food, enjoy all varities. 3, When you speak with any person in a shop or on road , speak with a smile and star with 'saar' they will go out of their way to help you. 4, Dont use the heavy self respect style of north india,it would be counter productive as with your language gap people there would mistake it for arrogance. 5, Auto walahs are mostly cheats when they know you are not local. use public transport, ac busses and electric trains or mrts. 6, Once you find a house make sure you dont do toomuch eye contact with girls and ladies in the house, unless they are friendly with you and initiate themselves. 7, 8 months are super hot 2 months are wet and humid 2 months are wet and normal ( dec, jan). 8, Roads will be filled with pot holes and the trafic police will catch other state vehicles and ask money, if you do not follow lane decipline. 9, Elliots beach is good, marina is not that good. There are big malls in saidape, adyar etc. There are large mercentile towns in mambalam and t nagar, sub urban train station (mambalam) 10, Chennai is a very vast city and there are multiple roads to reach from point a to b so use google maps and local research to find short and safe route for commute with personal vehicle. 11, Make some local friends, they might not speak hindi, so speak in english, speak some broken tamil words and smile they will become too friendly with you. 12, Keep away from slum dwellers and gawkers they will be very abusive and could be a secutiry and well being issue. 13, keep away from less frequented remote mrts stations which are near slums or coom river banks at night these are hubs of anti socials. 14, Keep a few towels and anti prespirants handy , chennai is always humid. Drink lots of water, and take bath twice :)) Contrary to what north indians expect, chennai is actually pretty ok, best of luck.
Thanxs mate... for the post ...8 mths hot weather is a bit of a concern.. which means A.C. should be working 24X7X365 .... How are the rental furnished apartments there... my office is in Raheja Towers .. therefore need a rental flat close somewhere, at least a 30 mins drive ... One of my collegues is paying a whooping 52Ks (obviously company is paying for him) for a furnished flat (i don't remember the area) earlier he was in Dubai office , recently shifted. I am also under the negotiation with the company as I also need a furnished flat on Companies Account. But if company pays me allowance then i need to look something which fits that allowance , if at all i get an allowance it would be close to 15,000 approx .. so guys can i find a rental furnished flat with this amount in a decent area.

Speaking of antiperspirants and deodorants ..never travel in buses/trains if you are too sensitive to BO. I think people can't afford it, or don't consider essential to use. Still in the talcum powder days. In S'pore, I had to be around aunties from a travel group from India. I was counting seconds for the bus trip to end. Traumatic experience.

Thanxs mate... for the post ...8 mths hot weather is a bit of a concern.. which means A.C. should be working 24X7X365 .... How are the rental furnished apartments there... my office is in Raheja Towers .. therefore need a rental flat close somewhere, at least a 30 mins drive ... One of my collegues is paying a whooping 52Ks (obviously company is paying for him) for a furnished flat (i don't remember the area) earlier he was in Dubai office , recently shifted. I am also under the negotiation with the company as I also need a furnished flat on Companies Account. But if company pays me allowance then i need to look something which fits that allowance , if at all i get an allowance it would be close to 15,000 approx .. so guys can i find a rental furnished flat with this amount in a decent area.
live away from the city and you will get a good flat for 15 k, not furnished though. In my 20 years in chennai i have never seen more than 42 celcius or less than 16 celcius, so for indian standards it hot but not unheardof, the problem is humidity.

Jao ge to mit jaoge oh MHR123, teri barbadi ke charche hain aasmanon mein, tumhari dastaan tak nahi hogi dastaanon mein :P Some months ago I had an interesting convo with Anonymous regarding Nightlife in Chennai. You can read all about it here- Pages 7 and 8 Some travel tips to Chennai- 1) (Valid if your are traveling from Mumbai, Pune or some other such super city)- Set your watch 100 years back. 2) Always pays to have a local friend. No matter how much you ignored him/her during school and college, if he/she is in Chennai he/she has to be your new best friend. Bestest friend if he/she knows Tamil. 3) Chennai has amazing nightlife. You can have filter coffee at 9 pm and hear an assortment of people discuss the following at the kapee house - why did Jayalalitha win? Why is DMK not as efficient as AIDMK? Who was the greater mathematician- Ramanujam or Aryabhatta? 4) Rickshaw drivers are totally cool. They never lie. They are honest, down to earth and co-operative. The phrase Athithi devo bhav was coined during the reign of the Chola king, Murli Vijay III when famous rickshaw driver Pralaynath Gendaswamy ferried the king of neighbouring Kalinga free of cost. The rickshaw drivers are so honest that they will demand only Rs 300 for a 2 km stretch. The malls and beaches ( Lol at those who compare Marina beach with Juhu. Juhu is way better. Chowpatty even more so) are strictly ok. Elliot's beach is fine. But its so humid that the moisture will damage your phone. The best thing to do when in Chennai is to go to Mahabalipuram. That is an amazing site and the trip to Chennai becomes bearable just for that. Or to Pondicherry (poor man's Goa).

oh .. yaar its getting worse which each comments falling it... then why the hell they talk about Tourism , South India calling etc... regarding rickshaw wala they are of same kind where ever u go. On hind side got a msg. from HQ stating that 5-10% chance of getting Singapore Visa .. but even if I am posted in Chennai at least I can count on Mariyam visiting me in once in a while .. :icflove: