You are getting defensive because you suck. End of story. Dont compare yourself with US. Yes the world may not think of NFL, or US of world football. But guess what, US is still far and away the worlds sporting powerhouse. Check the latest medal list too if you dont beleive me. It is one thing for US to follow what it does, or for a US sport to be not followed by others. It is completely retarded for us to make the same comparison.
Haan to how many people IN US watch swimming outside of olympics ? I have been here 7 years, not a single one so far that I have met.
lol half of the games you mentioned is loved by most people, Indians and non-Indians, that I know of. Statistics what statistics? Swimming will be watched by more people than world cricket finals :winky: volleyball is an awesome game to watch, same with wrestling.
I said outside of olympics. Obviously you are wrong in this one. I don't know of a single American who has ever told me ke haan bhai aaj jamunagar wrestling competition hai, dekhna hai.
Not getting personal here but maybe some of this is down to your exposure to games?? Anybody who has ever played volleyball loves watching it. Simple, fast paced and gets done in 2 hours. None of the 5 day cricket Test mumbo jumbo..and I am a Test cricket lover. That article seems to be hinted right at folks like you.....:winky:
Really ? Non WWF wrestling, archery, shooting have great statistics worldwide ? Kitne logon ka 'exposure' hai shooting/archery mein ?
^ The article seems to imply that watching sport equals medals in olympics. It's not true.
Not at all. In my opinion, Nirmal Shekhar hits it right on the head with a "Dont blame anyone else except for yourself" kind of philosphy. I thought he gave two very pertinent examples: a) Vishy Anand and how he nobody gives a damn on his RS nomination (if that happens). I fully agree. Lets open a thread and see how many posts show up. I would think if such a thread is made for Sachin, MTC would write as many threads by himself :hysterical: b) That IPL lad who was caught smoking at a rave party. Cant be bothered to remember his name. The event was well captured by media and read/argued/discussed by folks. Do tell us how many articles had popped up with regards to Sushil Kumar preparation or Mary Kom. Viewership was an east target for most Indian fans, who as always choose to live in denial. :winky:

^ Kya deny kar rahein hain abhi tak samajh mein nahi aaya ? :confused: We suck at sports on world scale...kaun deny kar raha hai yeh ? I am not going to start watching archery/boxing in the hopes ke bhai agli baar 2 medal aur mil jayenge. Yeh to obvious hai. If am not watching it, obviously kam interest hoga in Mary Kom than Rohit Sharma. Baaki naare lagane vaale bhade pe mil jaate hain, agar Vishy Anand to chahiye to vo arrange karva lega to support his RS nomination.

Haan to how many people IN US watch swimming outside of olympics ? I have been here 7 years, not a single one so far that I have met.
Quite a few. I work with a competitive swimmer. Maybe you should befriend some good people as well. By the by swimming International events can be followed on certain American channels. So please dont assume since YOU dont follow it nobody does.
I said outside of olympics. Obviously you are wrong in this one. I don't know of a single American who has ever told me ke haan bhai aaj jamunagar wrestling competition hai, dekhna hai.
Wrestling is a stepchild in US. Read my post some place else on how NBC gave no coverage to wrestling. Give me a better example.
Really ? Non WWF wrestling, archery, shooting have great statistics worldwide ? Kitne logon ka 'exposure' hai shooting/archery mein ?
Shooting is fairly decent to watch, if you know anything about it. If you are only going to open your TV every 4 years and wonder what clay pigeon shooting is, dont blame the game for it now lol. Same with Archery. You understand cricket so you enjoy it, maybe you should start understanding some other games too :winky:

Nirmal is a good writer. But i gotta say it is not like olympians from other countries live royal life. Their fame and fortune is short lived. Only certain sports get more attention. Genetics, diet play a huge role. If you want a olympian you have to build from scratch like chinese do. From diet to exercise. You have to start at a very young age. What are the major events that you know of 1) Atheletics - dominated by blacks 2) Swimming - dominated by caucasians 3) Gymnastics - once again few elect countries do well here We are not good in any team sports (including hockey). We have only a handful of sports left to have a crack at.

Cricket is the game of the masses which is deeply embedded in our culture . No Mary Kom or Kumar or Anand or Nehwal is going to get as much attention as someone like SRT or Kohli gets . Most of the individuals Sports arent worth watching which is the reason why whatever little attention that they get is only during the olympics . The few individual sports that are fun to watch do not have to rely on olymics for attention , for example tennis , there are four grand slams that are played every year which are enjoyed by masses worldwide . Now compared to tennis who cares about whats going on with other sports such as table tennis , badminton , archery , fencing , rowing , sailing , shooting , trampoline , horse riding , gymnastics , long jump , high jump for the next 4 years ? Sports is all about entertainment at the end of the days . Am sure there are millions of Englishmen who are more bothered about whats going to happen in the next epl compared to a few thousands who supported some Nicola adams .

Nirmal is a good writer. But i gotta say it is not like olympians from other countries live royal life. Their fame and fortune is short lived. Only certain sports get more attention. Genetics, diet play a huge role. If you want a olympian you have to build from scratch like chinese do. From diet to exercise. You have to start at a very young age. What are the major events that you know of 1) Atheletics - dominated by blacks 2) Swimming - dominated by caucasians 3) Gymnastics - once again few elect countries do well here We are not good in any team sports (including hockey). We have only a handful of sports left to have a crack at.
Disagree, same people were winning 20 years ago. Punjab produced most of the team, have good genetics for Hockey but from what I've observed most people haven't touched a hockey in their life (new generation). It's always cricket. Unsure about how it's like in other states. My fathers gen used to play Hockey in the park after school rather than cricket. It was pretty common then. So Indians have potential if they actually try. 8 golds is proof we have good genetics for it, this doesn't change in 20 years.
Disagree, same people were winning 20 years ago. Punjab produced most of the team, have good genetics for Hockey but from what I've observed most people haven't touched a hockey in their life (new generation). It's always cricket. Unsure about how it's like in other states. My fathers gen used to play Hockey in the park after school rather than cricket.
I am not talking about 20 years back. I know we won 8 golds. I am talking about now.
Disagree, same people were winning 20 years ago. Punjab produced most of the team, have good genetics for Hockey but from what I've observed most people haven't touched a hockey in their life (new generation). It's always cricket. Unsure about how it's like in other states. My fathers gen used to play Hockey in the park after school rather than cricket.
but hockey will fetch only one gold.. athletics , swimming and gymnastics has lots of medals , we are not that good in any of those.. even badminton has 5 golds to offer .. :sniffle:
I am not talking about 20 years back. I know we won 8 golds. I am talking about now.
Just saying we have superior genetics for Hockey, doesn't change in 20 years. And we have won once on Astoturf as well. But your right interest in Hockey won't return probably, it's fun to play but I heard since Astroturf was introduced it became boring on tele. India won 86 WC in cric then people stopped playing Hockey as well.
i think we won cricket world cup in 83 :doh:

The idea that one needs hundred million plus followers (as is the case of cricket) for a national team to do better is retarded. If following sports was what mattered , Eastern India alone would produce champion footballers & Bangladesh wouldn't be, what's the word for their cricket performance, ordinary. Less populated nations like NZ wouldn't be any good at any sport considering the tiny fan base. WI wouldn't be an ATG team that went unbeaten in a test series for 15+ yrs.

The idea that one needs hundred million plus followers (as is the case of cricket) for a national team to do better is retarded. If following sports was what mattered ' date=' Eastern India alone would produce champion footballers & Bangladesh wouldn't be, what's the word for their cricket performance, ordinary. Less populated nations like NZ wouldn't be any good at any sport considering the tiny fan base. WI wouldn't be an ATG team that went unbeaten in a test series for 15+ yrs.[/quote'] This. It doesn't matter how many follow. It's genetics. We have those in Hockey but no one plays. :sad:
This. It doesn't matter how many follow. It's genetics. We have those in Hockey but no one plays. :sad:
Our genetics didn't improve 2 fold in the last 4 yrs, neither did our apathy reduce by half. It seems pretty straightforward to me, a set of committed individuals with equally committed support staff and the necessary infrastructure & funding to support them is what's required to achieve overall excellence. You'll always win/lose here and there but we wouldn't suck every single time if those basics, at least the latter two were in place.
Do you mean strong wrists by that?
I am not talking about others not playing. I am talking about why India didn't do well in hockey at the olympics. Why did they fail? Losing to New zealand? :facepalm: We have bunch of mediocre players. It was plain embarrassing. If it is in your gene you should not reach this low. Team sports have nothing to do with genes. I am talking about individual sport.