Crookbond Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 This makes IPL teams comparatively over valued. I'm sure there's something we are missing. Is the scale of our population and important factor?
Guest Posted July 19, 2012 Posted July 19, 2012 This makes IPL teams comparatively over valued. I'm sure there's something we are missing. Is the scale of our population and important factor? Only successful sports in this country... All the leagues mentioned below ,except for EPL, are US based have to compete with each other (seasons may not overlap still) in UK Rugby leagues are also pouplar...
Crookbond Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 BCCI summons RCB over player payments http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/content/current/story/576687.html "The IPL governing council today summoned the RCB officials to the governing council meeting to discuss on the players' payment issue," a senior governing council member told PTI. "After discussions, the BCCI has asked RCB to get 'No Objection Certificate' from the cricketers on the revised payment schedule. The franchise has promised that they would produce the NOC in some time." I hope BCCI is as prompt on other issues too.
rkt.india Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 lol Mallya ka maal khatam ho chuka hai Mallya daaru se bahut kama raha hai.
Desi Cartman Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 Mallya daaru se bahut kama raha hai. Here is the reason He doesnt pay his staff Staff gets depressed Depression leads to alcoholism More alcoholics = more business = more employees = more alcoholics :asleep:
rkt.india Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 Here is the reason He doesnt pay his staff Staff gets depressed Depression leads to alcoholism More alcoholics = more business = more employees = more alcoholics :asleep: :giggle:
Old guy Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 Here is the reason He doesnt pay his staff Staff gets depressed Depression leads to alcoholism More alcoholics = more business = more employees = more alcoholics :asleep: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Vilander Posted August 9, 2012 Posted August 9, 2012 'BD fans trying to fit in will now go : "ahh damn...all these third world leagues BPL,IPL,SLPL... uff"
velu Posted August 10, 2012 Posted August 10, 2012 for some reason mallya reminds me of tuco of The good , bad and ugly :cantstop:
superstar Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 Here is the reason He doesnt pay his staff Staff gets depressed Depression leads to alcoholism More alcoholics = more business = more employees = more alcoholics :asleep: Theory Proved United Breweries Ltd, the beer arm of Vijay Mallya's UB Group, reported a net profit of Rs 98.64 crore for the April to June period. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/business/india-business/UB-net-profit-at-Rs-98-64-cr/articleshow/15468108.cms
King Khan Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 Well at least Dilshan assures he aint leaving rcb for payment commitment issue. I see less contribution with higher grief here. :giggle: "We got a little bit of money last week. We spoke to the management and I think they are going to sort this matter out as soon as possible." "Some payment is still due but I am not worried about that. I know the owners are going to clear the dues and pay us within next month. I know they will pay us our money." There were reports that none of the RCB players, save Chris Gayle, have received their first installments. Some members of the Royal Challengers 2012 squad, including captain Daniel Vettori, are still awaiting the first instalment of their pay. Dilshan also rubbished suggestions that he is contemplating a change of franchise following the default committed by his owners on payment to the players. source
Desi Cartman Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 "Some payment is still due but I am not worried about that. I know the owners are going to clear the dues and pay us within next month. I know they will pay us our money." lol sounds like a naukar taking about his malik "Hum jaantay hain malik humra khayal rakhaingay, malik puray paise denge, malik sab ka hisaab kartay hai.. "
Ultimate_Game Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 lol sounds like a naukar taking about his malik "Hum jaantay hain malik humra khayal rakhaingay' date=' malik puray paise denge, malik sab ka hisaab kartay hai.. "[/quote'] :hysterical: I am already picturing AK Hangal in the naukar's role :haha:
1983-2011 Posted August 15, 2012 Posted August 15, 2012 Deccan Chargers asked to pay players by August 31 The IPL governing council has set August 31 as the deadline for the owners of Deccan Chargers franchise to clear player payments and sort out the financial problems with the banks to avoid any stringent action. In an emergency meeting called on Tuesday in New Delhi, the governing council confronted the owners of Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited, who hold the rights for the Hyderabad-based franchise, to explain in detail as to why the company had mortgaged the team ownership rights with two leading Indian banks. According to the BCCI officials, the board owns the ownership rights and that no franchise could mortgage the rights on its own. "The governing council asked the owners of Chargers to clear the players' payments as by this time usually almost 60-70% of the contractual amount usually gets paid. But the franchise had defaulted on that. Secondly, they need to sort out the financial mess with the various banks to make sure the team remains unbothered. We need to protect both the IPL and the players," a governing council official said. According to the official, the BCCI was concerned after the banks had directly sought the board's involvement, asking to pay all the money set for the franchise, directly to them as Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited owned them big money. "What is more concerning is the Deccan Chargers owners have hypothecated the intangibles. They have told the banks that the team has a certain market value and based on that they had procured the loans," the official said. T Venkatram Reddy, the owner of franchise, was present at the meeting, but was adamant that the issue was unnecessarily blown out of proportion. "He outrightly blocked all the allegations by the banks and was confident all issues would get sorted by August 31," the official said. However, it is understood that the BCCI had already checked with the Registrar of Companies and found out that Deccan Chronicle Holdings Limited had accumulated borrowing charges amounting to INR 3200 crore. According to the official, the banks were interested in knowing if they were in any position to sell the franchise on their own since the owners had defaulted to clear the dues. "We don't know what exactly the amount is but the very fact that the banks have approached means it is a serious issue," the board official said. http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/577551.html
Desi Cartman Posted August 15, 2012 Posted August 15, 2012 The reality is that the players are over priced and franchises are not making enough money to justify expenses ( not only players but all expenses). Like all corrections, I expect some of these franchises to take a loss and get out of cricket business while some will stop paying millions as they are paying now.
bangladeshifan Posted August 15, 2012 Posted August 15, 2012 'BD fans trying to fit in will now go : "ahh damn...all these third world leagues BPL' date='IPL,SLPL... uff" [/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
MarkusB Posted August 20, 2012 Posted August 20, 2012 I hope BCCI is as prompt on other issues too. Right Mr. Dexter Morgan.
superstar Posted August 28, 2012 Posted August 28, 2012 Pietersen says 'no way' to IPL Kevin Pietersen has insisted no amount of money will tempt him to join the Indian Premier League (IPL). Despite offers coming his way to play in the multi-million dollar tournament, Pietersen says he's focused on his England career, which is too important to him. No England player was involved in the first IPL auction as the tournament clashes with the start of the county season. However, interest was shown in a few leading stars such as Pietersen and Andrew Flintoff. "I know there is interest and, yes, there have been offers, etc etc, but it's not something I'm particularly interested in," Pietersen told BBC Five Live. "Money's not really too important, it's not as if I need money right now," he said. "I'm really enjoying doing what I'm doing. I love playing for England, I love playing for the spectators." "England has given me a fantastic opportunity to a fantastic life at the moment. So I'm fully committed 100% to playing for England, to winning games for England, to scoring thousands more runs for England." Earlier, Lalit Modi, the IPL chairman and commissioner, had indicated that future editions of the tournament might be rescheduled in order to avoid a clash with England's domestic season. http://www.espncricinfo.com/england/content/story/340356.html 4 years back though :finger::finger::finger: Was determined to hunt down this article after the fool Morgan's statement :haha::haha: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=287206