DADAGIRI : Sourav Ganguly ready to coach Team India

velu

You expect Lordie to do that. :giggle:
Nope :winky: He just wants to be in news every day, keeps coming up with these statements. Didn't he suggest Kapil should coach India a few weeks ago?
Who cares? Here's what Page 3 boy said today. 7faaXGp_N_s

Ganguly woh naam hai jiske bina Modern Indian Cricket incomplete Hai .. True servant of Indian Cricket. He deserves to be anything he wants to be. He was excellent before 2000 as a batsman and then he took the captaincy. He decided he will build a good team and take Indian cricket ahead even if he never becomes a truly great batsman, unlike some other selfish people who kept demoraliasing the team by losing continously and creating selfish batting records instead of inspiring the team to do well. :giggle: 7000+ Runs in just 5 years in ODIs with 18 centuries. Remarkable. :bow:

The pros and cons of Sourav Ganguly as coach

Sourav Ganguly senses an opportunity he has always been good at that. He knows that the best time to strike is when the opposition is weak and even though India have just won against New Zealand, Duncan FletcherÃÔ position canÃÕ exactly be secure. According to sources in the Indian team, the current India coach often wears a puzzled look in the nets. He hasnÃÕ turned out to be a task master like John Wright nor is he an inspirational ÃÃehind the scenes coach like Gary Kirsten. HeÃÔ just been Fletcher and an example that not many would want to follow. Ganguly has had the chance to observe this team at close quarters during his stints in the commentary box; he would have also had the chance to talk to the team players and by saying that he is ready to step up and take over as coach, the former India skipper is showing that he is confident enough to change Indian cricket once more. So what exactly would Ganguly bring to the plate? Not technique. Ganguly was never known for that. India would ideally need to get a separate batting coach, a separate bowling coach and definitely, a separate fielding coach. GangulyÃÔ real contribution would be on the ÃÃŽental side. With him around, there would be no repeat of the third Test against West Indies in July 2011, when Mahendra Singh Dhoni decided to settle for a draw despite having a good chance of going for victory. Indians had elected to abandon the chase when they required 86 runs from the 15 mandatory overs with seven wickets remaining. With Ganguly, as coach, India would never take a backward step. The question of playing for a draw would simply not exist. And the ÃÑlay safe ideology would be banished for the dressing room forever. Ganguly would be the coach that Greg Chappell never was more importantly, he would be the coach that India wanted Chappell to be. Many would argue that he is too big a personality to be made coach. His words would make the headlines in a way that Wright or Kirsten or Fletcher never could and that would be something that the skipper wouldnÃÕ take too kindly to. The BCCI wouldnÃÕ like that either. But at least he wouldnÃÕ be the puppet that Fletcher seems to be. Ganguly has a voice and it would be heard. Then again, Ganguly has just finished his career as a cricketer. Is it too soon? Well, the Chinese do it all the time with their table-tennis and badminton champions. It seems to serve them pretty well. But on the flip side, Ganguly has always had his likes and dislikes, for example we could see someone like Harbhajan Singh get into the side. źou can call it my bias or love for Harbhajan but if in India you are picking three best spinners in the country, Harbhajan SinghÃÔ got to figure in that list. Harbhajan is one bowler who should be playing all three formats of the game, Ganguly recently said. Now, that may not be the best way forward for Indian cricket but knowing Ganguly, he will rely more on his gut instinct than on sheer numbers or facts. The other fear is that coaches are often counted upon to do the menial jobs. Get the nets set up, reach the ground an hour before the team to check out the conditions, come up with training routines for most part of his cricket career, he never seemed to be someone who would do that. Will he be able to do it now? GangulyÃÔ time with Wright and Chappell would have taught him the rights and wrongs of the job and if he really wants to do it he should give it his best shot. FletcherÃÔ contract runs up to April 2013 so he has some time to prepare if only the BCCI were to drop him a hint. But that aside, with him around Indian cricket would never be boring. Cricket at the highest level is a tactical game and Ganguly would certainly be able to help the Indian team in that department. And the youngsters would listen to him he has been an idol to many and he has a way with words. Training the flaws out of the young cricketers may not be his forte, but he will know when to pat them on their backs and give them the confidence they desperately seek. At the end of the day, all the players who make it to the highest level know how to play cricket, but learning how to compete at the highest level is a different thing. Ganguly taught India how to fight once and he might be just the guy to teach a whole new generation how to do it again. Even if he doesnÃÕ teach the Indian team anything else he just may teach them a new way to celebrate their victories. http://www.firstpost.com/sports/the-pros-and-cons-of-sourav-ganguly-as-coach-446500.html

Might just work out for us...It is strange that so many ICFer's are critical of Dada....his comments or analysis have been more in sync with some of the more popular opinions obn ICF For Ex:In Eng ODI's...he criticized the management for not trying Varun Aaron in the ODI's He wanted to play Ojha over Ashwin in the test series in Aus and did give a very good analysis and made some valid points...now wasn't one of the hot topics here to shuffle some of the combinations in that series He seems to like and back Fast bowlers....Yadav,Aaron and Dinda :giggle: have all been endorsed by him Call him a hypocrite but he was highly critical of India's fielding and did offer valid analysis there as well..... The guy has an awesome cricketing brain and I would take him as the coach over the motu we have right now any day....I bet he will do better than Gary Kirsten as sorry to say this but there was no long-term ground work done in Gary's era and we all know how we are reaping the benefits of Ganguly's leadership era.

No thnks Gangu Teli' date='stick to destroying random IPL sides with your captaincy /mentoring.[/quote'] Atleast mentored IPL team mates will not get a free pass into the national side under Ganguly like some other mentors

IMO strong characters who love the media attention don't make good coaches in cricket. Someone like Dravid wouldl be a better choice than Ganguly. Ganguly may turn out to be another Chappell.

Ganguly needs to develope skill & gain some experience as coach to be considred first. But I dont think even Bangladesh would take him seriously for coaching staff or welcome him to take his assitance.

selector.. you will soon find Ashok dinda captaining India :cantstop:
Stupid :nono::nono: Are you drunk :whack::whack: He will select himself and make a come back. He will lead India to glory like good old times :hatsoff::hatsoff:
IMO strong characters who love the media attention don't make good coaches in cricket. Someone like Dravid wouldl be a better choice than Ganguly. Ganguly may turn out to be another Chappell.
Totally agree with this.

'Indian cricket is in safe hands' - Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly doesn't sit on the fence. He can be a contrarian at times, as when he spoke positively about the present state of Indian spin bowling. He can be extreme yet sound logical, as when he said every Indian fast bowler should have a personal trainer. And yes, he is proud of his legacy - that of changing India's image as poor travellers. He doesn't hold back - and he didn't on Friday while delivering the Dilip Sardesai memorial lecture at the Bombay Gymkhana. Ganguly has seen plenty of young Indian fast bowlers burn out or lose their pace in a matter of a few seasons, and put it down to the lack of a proper fitness and training culture in India. "Since 2000 the main reason for having overseas coaches and trainers in India was to get a proper fitness culture," Ganguly said. "I remember on the 1996 tour of England, I went to the gym only once - that too, to see it and not to use it. It was a three-month tour and I had an outstanding tour. But I could not remember going to the gym and getting onto the treadmill. That culture needed to change. You don't get a Kapil Dev all the time. "There is so much cricket being played in the modern day. Players are on the road all the time. Fast bowling is a difficult art. Every Indian fast bowler of the modern era needs to have a personal trainer. Finances are not a problem. They can afford it. They should have a personal trainer with them right through the year. When you go to a gym alone, at times, you take the easier, safer option. There should be someone with you looking after your strength and monitoring it all the time. When you see Zaheer Khan in 2000 and Munaf Patel in 2004 they clocked almost 150 [kph], but two years down the line, they settled down to line and length bowling, which I think is mainly because of a lack of physical strength." Ganguly was optimistic, though, when asked by presenter Harsha Bhogle about current Indian domestic cricket not producing the high-quality spinners it used to. "When I saw Ashwin and [Pragyan] Ojha bowl in the Test matches against New Zealand, although they will have some distance to go as we have England and Australia coming, I don't feel the cupboard is empty. The problem is we Indians in domestic cricket are such good players of spin that a very good spinner is sometimes made to look average in those conditions and with players who have been brought up on spin bowling. Everytime those players graduate and play Test cricket, they look different bowlers." On the difference between captaining India and an IPL team When I was captaining India, nobody asked me and I didn't have to answer somebody at the end of the day's play. But when I captained an IPL team, I had to answer the owner before and after the game. There is enormous pressure. 'Why didn't Ashok Dinda bowl the slower ball at that particular moment?' I was standing at midwicket, and I could not run up and tell him to bowl the slower ball at that moment. It is much, much easier to captain India. I have captained India for six years. I have never had the board president or chairman of the selection committee telling me you should have done this at this time. On his first tour When I started my Test career, I shared a room with the great Dilip Vengsarkar [who was in the audience today] in Australia in 1991 for a month. It was a terrific experience watching him prepare for a Test in Australia. Dilip was in the last stage of his career. Towards the end of our stint, I still remember getting up in the morning and getting a cup of tea from him. So I thought I must have done something good in the past one month if the great man wakes up and says, do you want to share a cup of tea with me? On waving his shirt from the Lord's balcony in 2002 I didn't enjoy it. It is like you make mistakes in life. I will be honest. I still don't enjoy it when I see it on TV. I have got Test and ODI hundreds, why can't they put that on rather than this one? I don't know why I did it. On former India coach Greg Chappell Plus: His knowledge as a batsman was terrific. Minus: I am a firm believer that a captain [and not the coach] runs the team One thing Indian spinners do need to learn is the art of bowling overseas, Ganguly said. "When you see the team lose eight out of eight [overseas] Tests the time has probably come when a lot of these young spinners need to bowl on flatter and non-responsive wickets in India to learn the art of bowling overseas." "Overseas" brought with it questions on the India side of the early- and mid-2000s that, under Ganguly's leadership, began to win overseas Test matches and Test series, something India had struggled to do, especially in the 1990s. Ganguly said when he started his international career, there was "a certain disrespect" towards touring Indian sides. "When I first played in 1996 on the tour of England, I could see a different attitude towards Indian players. We were not the best travellers abroad. You could see a certain disrespect when you went to England, Australia and South Africa. 'These boys are soft, they will come to this part of the world, you will see a hundred from Sachin, from Dravid, but they'll lose. They might draw a Test, but we will win the series.' "I could make out that when you walked around the dressing room, the confidence was not there, the knowledge was not there of how we could beat England in England, and Australia in Australia." Ganguly said winning the famous Kolkata Test of 2001 against Australia had given the team the belief that they could beat the best in the world. It would not have been possible, Ganguly said, without the kind of quality players he had in his team. "I was also blessed as captain to have an era of terrific Test players - Sachin, Dravid, VVS Laxman, Virender Sehwag, Anil Kumble because I am a firm believer of a captain being only as good as his team. You can take the best captain in the world but if you don't have a good team, then you will go nowhere. A perfect example is Ricky Ponting. You look at his record when Hayden, Gilchrist, McGrath and Warne were playing and once they retired. Like chalk and cheese. "It was a conscious effort to get that culture in the team. 'Listen, we will win in India'. There have been Tests where I have stood at point, given the ball to Anil and Harbhajan, they would set the fields and we would win the match - that would not happen abroad. We didn't have the batting, the knowledge, the batting toughness to put 500 runs on the board, to win a Test when we went abroad." Ganguly said he was confident, despite India's recent struggles overseas, that the current generation of players was capable of taking Indian cricket forward. "When I see players of the ability of Kohli, Pujara and Dhoni and some of the other young names, it makes me believe that Indian cricket is in safe hands."
http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/current/story/581368.html