New franchise likely today | Sun TV wins bid

1983-2011

Lalit Modi at it again...

so finally Sun Tv has got an IPL franchise. I had predicted 3 months ago it will be Sun as bcci president wanted it that way. Can't be a bigger Scam than this. A Tweet by @LalitKModi 2012-10-25
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi Someone should see N Srinivasan's relationship and India Cements relationship with Sun Tv. Don't forget Kalaignar Tv and india tv scam
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi Bcci is trying to gift team to Srini's Pals. Whilst sahara pays 370 million dollars for its Team. This one goes for pennies. How and why ?
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi Someone should examine common share holding between SUN TV Network and India Cement?i am sure there will be common share holders?
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi would not be surprised if Sahara now wants to renegotiate there Franchise contract?based upon new tender offer by bcci.
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi Does anyone out there have Sun TV shareholders list and India cements Shareholders List. Please provide. Thx.
Lalit Kumar Modi ‏@LalitKModi Next we will see Watch the 6th Edition of India Cements IPL ☺☺. Which offcourse will be structured to go to india cements for a few pennies

All Deccan Chargers players available to new franchise: Srinivasan http://www.thehindu.com/sport/all-deccan-chargers-players-available-to-new-franchise-srinivasan/article4031242.ece

Deccan Chargers players in IPL 2012, under skipper Kumar Sangakkara, will be available to the new franchise owner Sun TV Networks. BCCI president N Srinivasan revealed that all DC players are now with the Sun Group. “All players of Deccan Chargers are available to the new franchise. They have signed agreements and the new owner will have time till October 31, 2012 to decide whom they want to retain.” He informed that players don’t have to worry about payments. “As far as the player is concerned, their interest is completely protected and have also been paid for the last year.” Srinivasan added: “The original eight franchises had 10-year contracts and five years is left. The revenue sharing formula after 10 years is that you don’t pay a franchise fee but pay 20 per cent of income. This ruling is consistent for all.” Sun TV Networks bought the Hyderabad franchise for Rs 85.05 crores per year and the purchase price over five years will be Rs 425.25 crores. Deccan Chargers had bought the franchise in 2008 for Rs 428 crores. Sahara Group paid Rs 1702 crores in 2010 to own Pune Warriors. Talking about franchise valuation, the BCCI president said: “This (Sun TV Network purchase price of Rs 85.05 crores per year for five years) is twice the value of DC. If you take into account the sharing of central rights compared to earlier expansion of franchise, this bid represents a higher value. It is a very good value.” He added: “Pune Warriors India was different but we tried to become a lot more consistent now. The Pune franchise gets 80 percent of central revenue but from five years onwards, other franchises get 60 percent. There is a difference in the income, you have to factor that in.” IPL’s latest entrant, Sun TV Network, owned by Kalanidhi Maran, has an extensive media business, with interests in newspaper and television across many states.”It (Sun Group) is a very credible franchise owner who is in the media. They will add a lot of value to the league.” Speaking about the thinking behind entering IPL, Sun TV Network CFO S L Narayanan pointed out: “It is a great opportunity. The price that we paid is a very attractive price. The last deal was almost at Rs170 crores per annum, we got it for 50 per cent of that transaction price.” Asked about plans for team formation for IPl 2013, he said: “BCCI has advised us that we could retain the entire team and also have opportunities to get more players. There are outstanding names here like Dale Steyn, Sangakkara, Cameron White, J P Duminy, Shikhar Dhawan and Ishant Sharma. We will decide on team composition and support staff in a few days.” IPL’s latest owners join the list of major Indian business groups associated with T20 teams. Narayanan said: “This whole thing fits with the theme of media and entertainment. IPL is a great franchise. I think for the foreseeable future, cricket would be the sport of choice for so many Indians. So it fits in with the overall theme of media and entertainment.” Asked about revenue model estimates if any, done, he quipped: “We have done our maths. It is a very attractive deal. We will create shareholder value. I have no doubt about that in my mind.” Deccan Chargers is history, the name for the new team is awaited. “The team name is something we will decide over the next few days. We don’t have an idea at the moment.”

Karuna family owned franchise having a Sinhalaese as its IPL team captain? Doesn't quite fit politically. Everyone except Sanga will be retained at DC :P Also will the DC jersey change to red and black, the color of the flag for DMK?

Karunanidhi and the Marans arent that close anymore. sure, they are much cordial now than they were a few years back when Maran had to resign but there are still issues between the two families. I think this is more of a Kalanidhi Maran move than one by Karuna
Sun Pictures ‏@SunPictures_ Here's a chance to name our IPL team and win Rs. 5 Lakh. Type IPL Team name Your name and send it to 58585.
Sun Pictures ‏@SunPictures_ Don't forget the team name should have SUN in it. #SUNIPL
You have time till 28th October midnight. Send your entries soon. The name we select will reward you Rs.5 lakh, visit http://www.sunnetwork.in

BCCI official rubbishes Lalit Modi's claims New Delhi: A senior BCCI official on Saturday rubbished former IPL chairman Lalit Modi's claims that Board president N Srinivasan was trying to gift the Hyderabad franchise to his friends, saying the whole process of Sun TV winning the bid was done in a transparent manner. "The whole process of deciding on the franchise was very clear and transparent. Tender documents were made available and the bidding process was also very proper and there was no scope of any ambiguity," the official told PTI. Sun TV bought the Deccan Chargers team on Thursday for Rs 85.05 crore per year, prompting Modi to write on twitter that he had "predicted" it would happen this way and that BCCI was trying to "gift" the team to Srinivasan's "pals." Asked what would be the fate of the Deccan Chargers players, the official informed that most of them will be retained by the Sun TV franchise, while the rest will go under the hammer in the open bidding next year. Last Thursday, the Guwahati High Court also passed a judgement, restraining BCCI from "taking a final decision" on the tender floated on October 14 for selection of new teams for 2013 IPL tourney. Asked about the decision, the senior official said: "The bidding has been done and the franchise has been decided. This court decision is not going to affect the process. BCCI wants to take IPL across India but we have to understand that unfortunately, there is no proper infrastructure in North Eastern states. May be in the future we will have a north eastern team in IPL," he said. The ongoing Champions League Twenty20 tournament received a lukewarm response with the IPL teams - Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils - failing to perform up to their reputation. Asked about their disappointing show in South Africa, the BCCI official said: "It is disappointing that the IPL teams could not do well in Champions League but then in sport, it happens. We can't expect our teams to do well all the time." http://cricketnext.in.com/live/news/bcci-official-rubbishes-modis-claims/68701-13.html

Karuna family owned franchise having a Sinhalaese as its IPL team captain? Doesn't quite fit politically. Everyone except Sanga will be retained at DC :P
was excited to see this initially, IPL getting rid of sanga is the best thing that can happen to SL test cricket right now. but then saw the 'happy bday sanga' post in the sun twitter feed. not gonna happen :((
was excited to see this initially' date='[b'] IPL getting rid of sanga is the best thing that can happen to SL test cricket right now. but then saw the 'happy bday sanga' post in the sun twitter feed. not gonna happen :((
IPL happens in April-May no? and btw, do you Lankans even play Int'nal cricket then! You're speaking as if Sri Lanka play test matches during IPL :haha: