Eden curator slams Dhoni

CG

There is a word if.As i said we have had many pitches with tinge of green after that also.Also we played poorly and let it get ot our heads.
lol not sure if you followed the news reports of that time..it was Eden's way of revenge from Indian cricket for dropping Saurav Ganguly by preparing a grassy pitch and to top it all the fans booing our own team and cheering the South Africans. Was sick to watch.
Similar stuff happened in Nagpur in 2004 against the Aussies when the groundsman unveiled a green top so that Pawar could get back at Dalmiya. We ended up losing the match and the series.

"Dhoni is openly asking for a square turner from the very first day. This is immoral. You (organisers) have taken money for a five-day Test match. But Dhoni is asking for square turner where the match will end in three days. You are robbing people of two days play. "It is immoral and illogical to tamper with the pitch as per the liking of the captain. I have not done it in my life. So I want to get rid of it," said Mukherjee, who has been the Eden curator for around 15 years. Lashing out at Dhoni, he said: "You are on contract, you are getting crores from the board to play good cricket. The contract never said they will be allowed this (square turner). "Every state has its own climatic conditions. What you get in Mumbai, you will not get in Kolkata because of the difference in climate." Asked to spell out his idea of a ideal track, Mukherjee said: "I am of the belief that cricket is a batsman oriented game. Cricket should be played on a firm even bounce wicket." -- Prabir Mukherjee This guy got brass balls :hatsoff:

The guy's getting annoying TBH!!! There have been occasions where players/boards have blamed the pitches. The pitch during the 1st Test of Aus tour to SL last year was criticized heavily by everyone. And when the pitch at Eden last year for the 5th ODI against England was blamed then this guy came out of nowhere blabbering some absolute rubbish statements.

You (organisers) have taken money for a five-day Test match. But Dhoni is asking for square turner where the match will end in three days. You are robbing people of two days play.
:facepalm: Build a patta instead and bore us!!! So results in cricket is now stated as robbing people? This guy is getting on my nerves. Pure publicity now!!!
The guy's getting annoying TBH!!! There have been occasions where players/boards have blamed the pitches. The pitch during the 1st Test of Aus tour to SL last year was criticized heavily by everyone. And when the pitch at Eden last year for the 5th ODI against England was blamed then this guy came out of nowhere blabbering some absolute rubbish statements. :facepalm: Build a patta instead and bore us!!! So results in cricket is now stated as robbing people? This guy is getting on my nerves. Pure publicity now!!!
Eden Gardens has produced 2 draws in Last 25 years.There have been classics in last few years like ind vs sa.
Am not blaming the pitch. I was blaming that idiotic statement of that man. Robbing people? `
The guy's getting annoying TBH!!! There have been occasions where players/boards have blamed the pitches. The pitch during the 1st Test of Aus tour to SL last year was criticized heavily by everyone. And when the pitch at Eden last year for the 5th ODI against England was blamed then this guy came out of nowhere blabbering some absolute rubbish statements. :facepalm: Build a patta instead and bore us!!! So results in cricket is now stated as robbing people? This guy is getting on my nerves. Pure publicity now!!!
Okay, I saw the whole interview. This is exactly what is happening at a psychological level. Prabir Mukherjee takes pride in his work and generally decides what kind of strip he thinks would be exciting for the match and he has done so without any interference till now. On this occasion, CAB has asked him to do exactly what they want and toe the BCCI line. This is hurting his ego so he is getting agitated, plus, he has lost his wife and daughter (within a span of seven days) six months back and is extremely vulnerable emotionally right now. Also consider the fact that is 83 years old, and since his pride has been hurt, he just wants to quit all this and go away. His BP and all has also shot up so medically, it has become an issue as well. That is why he is quitting.

^ Also, after his wife's death, he turned up for work the next day and didn't take a single day's leave. That is commitment and he said, he does not deserve such insulting treatment from CAB/BCCI. It's definitely about pride.

"It is immoral and illogical to tamper with the pitch as per the liking of the captain. I have not done it in my life. So I want to get rid of it," said Mukherjee, who has been the Eden curator for around 15 years.
Of course it is immoral to tamper with the pitch. Why is it so hard to understand (aside from pseudo-patriotism of course)? Remember the muhawara - apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai? Never heard a kutta being proud of it. Cricket has traditionally enjoyed home team advantage, more so than any other sports (cant think of the last team Spain played better because of the grass in Barcelona compared to London). However it has only been in last ten years, and definitely in case of Indian players that I have seen a stoic demand. I mean when India lost to West Indies or Pakistan in 80s, Kapil Dev or Sunil Gavaskar were not heard commenting - Dare you to travel to India next time, we will throw up a pitch that will screw you completely. On the other hand this is exactly what the young guns were heard speaking after being handed 0-8 drubbing last few series. There should be zero tolerance, in my opinion, for skippers literally demanding the pitch that suits their interests. These are all crorepati "professionals", they better be worth all that money.

asking for a square turner equates to admitting that the team isn't capable of winning on a normal surface. only the crappiest teams would show such desperation. and i'm afraid, india's test side is now one of those teams. probably on par with bhangladesh, sri lanka and west indies, and worse than NZ.

Of course it is immoral to tamper with the pitch. Why is it so hard to understand (aside from pseudo-patriotism of course)? Remember the muhawara - apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai? Never heard a kutta being proud of it. Cricket has traditionally enjoyed home team advantage, more so than any other sports (cant think of the last team Spain played better because of the grass in Barcelona compared to London). However it has only been in last ten years, and definitely in case of Indian players that I have seen a stoic demand. I mean when India lost to West Indies or Pakistan in 80s, Kapil Dev or Sunil Gavaskar were not heard commenting - Dare you to travel to India next time, we will throw up a pitch that will screw you completely. On the other hand this is exactly what the young guns were heard speaking after being handed 0-8 drubbing last few series. There should be zero tolerance, in my opinion, for skippers literally demanding the pitch that suits their interests. These are all crorepati "professionals", they better be worth all that money.
THats most probably because WI would blow us away even on a turner with their team and we often get spin friendly wickets anyway. And India were renowned for dishing out absolute flat roads once we get a lead in a series during those times.Its much worser than asking for a turner.
Where on did u get that stat from? It shows 4 out of last 12 matches has been drawn since the Epic test vs Australia in 2001.And 4 others were innings wins. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;ground=292;spanmin1=15+Mar+2000;spanval1=span;template=results;type=team;view=results so 66% matches in recent past at EG has been either boring draws or innings wins. And Ind vs SA match wasnt classic because of the pitch.Its more to do with weather.
Where on did u get that stat from? 4 out of last 12 matches has been drawn since the Epic test vs Australia in 2001.And 4 others were innings wins. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/stats/index.html?class=1;ground=292;spanmin1=15+Mar+2000;spanval1=span;template=results;type=team;view=results so 66% matches in recent past at EG has been either boring draws or innings wins. And Ind vs SA match wasnt classic because of the pitch.Its more to do with weather.
Yes, there was one drawn match between India and West India and other between WI and India on 30th October 2002. I guess 4 different teams played on same pitch. :cantstop:
Yes' date=' there was one drawn match between India and West India and other between WI and India on 30th October 2002. I guess 4 different teams played on same pitch. :cantstop:[/quote'] Oops my mistake.I choose innings list rather than match totals :banghead:

In general India have little shown grace during this series. In some ways, it was justice that they lost. It is okay to ask for spinning tracks. But the desperation that Dhoni has shown hammering for it, not playing any spinners in England warm up game, all indicates lack of self confidence and severe lack of quality esp. when you lose even after batting first on turning track.

asking for a square turner equates to admitting that the team isn't capable of winning on a normal surface. only the crappiest teams would show such desperation. and i'm afraid, india's test side is now one of those teams. probably on par with bhangladesh, sri lanka and west indies, and worse than NZ.
Yes
In general India have little shown grace during this series. In some ways' date=' it was justice that they lost. It is okay to ask for spinning tracks. [b']But the desperation that Dhoni has shown hammering for it, not playing any spinners in England warm up game, all indicates lack of self confidence and severe lack of quality esp. when you lose even after batting first on turning track.
All focus has been on either pitches or exploiting weaknesses of the opposition rather than doing something about own team which has going through very rough patch. I won't be surprised if this team loses next test and the series.
I think England have to mess it up from here tbh. I don't think there is an additional gear in this side. England have worked them out.