That doesn't make it right. Even murders and rape happen in Norway' date=' so do they say let all the child abusers go free till we can make sure there are no more murders and rapes in Norway?[/quote'] Just talking about child related laws. It's not right but people do get away by abusing child in India. Hence employees should be counselled before deputation. That's the least Companies could do.
Just talking about child related laws. It's not right but people do get away by abusing child in India. Hence employees should be counselled before deputation. That's the least Companies could do.
Yeah, nothing wrong with that and it will help the situation. I was just taken aback by your comment about their "stupidity" as if you were willing for them to escape just punishment.
Yeah' date=' nothing wrong with that and it will help the situation. I was just taken aback by your comment about their "stupidity" as if you were willing for them to escape just punishment.[/quote'] Stupid in the sense of being educated and not being aware of Norways history and recent cases...
This couple was stupid enough to be not aware of Norway's child protection laws. I think Indian companies should advice their employees about local laws before sending them on deputation to other countries and especially countries like Norway...
Stupid in the sense of being educated and not being aware of Norways history and recent cases...
Actually, they are advised before they are sent on duty. I think to a large extent one should apply their common sense - you will be just fine.

A lot of abuse cases are misrepresented. From what I have read so far, the child asked the school authorities not to inform his parents of his pant-wetting incident as he had been threatened by his dad that he will be sent back to India if he does it again. The school authorities might have checked the kid for other abuse and have seen the burnt marks and other injuries. If you have a kid you know that those injuries can happen even without any kind of abuse. Checking the kid is pretty much a norm in any kind of odd behavior of the kid. If they see such things and the kid's complaint of dad's attitude towards him, has caused the authorities to report it to child services. There is no other way the prosecution in this case has come to know of the child abuse. Without the kid around, the court case will assume that the parents are hiding something, hence the verdict. Of course, the complaints might be true as well and in that case the parents deserve all the punishment. I just hope that the prosecution has done a thorough investigation of the abuse and not based on circumstantial evidence of the school nurse of child abuse. Norway and a lot of European countries are being branded as Nanny states for getting too much involved in families and child development. Government can't take away every child who is hit by their parents for disciplining purposes.

Two issues here - [1] Norway government's child welfare policies [2] Following the law of the land The parents in this case chose to move to Norway and therefore have to follow the law of the land. Simple as that - if they do not, it is their fault. One can always argue on any law in any country f or that matter of fact.

Burn marks and bruises clearly make a very good case against the parents. And no' date=' such beating is not acceptable, not even in India.[/quote'] I agree with you in principle. Beating is not acceptable anywhere. But Norway is over doing this. The burn marks and bruises are not necessarily a result of punishment. I have a small burn mark on my left hand which was a result of my sole attempted to cook till date. That incident convinced me, and all around me that it was an exercise in futility and they never have expected me to do so ever since. And I've the kindest parents possible. Gave in to all my demands and never raised their hands on me ( leaving aside the few times my mother tried to hurl her chappal at me in a fit of rage). Hypothetically, even if the kid was beaten an burned by his parents for bed wetting, it hasn't been corroborated by the Norwegian authorities. What if they had punished the child while in India? Why should his parents face the music in Norway? How could the authorities come to any conclusion when the parents sent the child back to India, which the father said he would do. Note: I'm not sympathizing with the parents here. Its just that this judgement is very harsh and doesn't seem to be based on much. Or at least they haven't cleared that yet.
A lot of abuse cases are misrepresented. From what I have read so far' date=' the child asked the school authorities not to inform his parents of his [b']pant-wetting incident as he had been threatened by his dad that he will be sent back to India if he does it again. The school authorities might have checked the kid for other abuse and have seen the burnt marks and other injuries. If you have a kid you know that those injuries can happen even without any kind of abuse. Checking the kid is pretty much a norm in any kind of odd behavior of the kid. If they see such things and the kid's complaint of dad's attitude towards him, has caused the authorities to report it to child services. There is no other way the prosecution in this case has come to know of the child abuse. Without the kid around, the court case will assume that the parents are hiding something, hence the verdict. Of course, the complaints might be true as well and in that case the parents deserve all the punishment. I just hope that the prosecution has done a thorough investigation of the abuse and not based on circumstantial evidence of the school nurse of child abuse. Norway and a lot of European countries are being branded as Nanny states for getting too much involved in families and child development. Government can't take away every child who is hit by their parents for disciplining purposes.
Isnt that the shizzlee!! Sending back to India is deemed punishment by the Dad? I am inclined to say it served him right then :hmmm:

Government over-reach. Laws designed to protect people are a good thing. The problem is that their interpretation is left to govt bureaucrats with inflated views of their own importance. That said, am not too sure the parents in this case are saints.

This is the same country that gives its most hardened criminals and rapists some of the best treatment in prison in the hope of "rehabilitating" them.
Ironically, if these parents are thrown in jail, they will have a good life at gov't expense. That's just precious!!
Isnt that the shizzlee!! Sending back to India is deemed punishment by the Dad? I am inclined to say it served him right then :hmmm:
Sending kids away from home is a very well known scaring tactic employed by most parents (atleast from India) to discipline a kid. Not so in case of pant-wetting, but for general mischief. Didn't yours ever scare you to pack you off to a boarding school? Mine did. And it was a scary thought to be away from mom.
I agree with you in principle. Beating is not acceptable anywhere. But Norway is over doing this. The burn marks and bruises are not necessarily a result of punishment. I have a small burn mark on my left hand which was a result of my sole attempted to cook till date. That incident convinced me, and all around me that it was an exercise in futility and they never have expected me to do so ever since. And I've the kindest parents possible. Gave in to all my demands and never raised their hands on me ( leaving aside the few times my mother tried to hurl her chappal at me in a fit of rage). Hypothetically, even if the kid was beaten an burned by his parents for bed wetting, it hasn't been corroborated by the Norwegian authorities. What if they had punished the child while in India? Why should his parents face the music in Norway? How could the authorities come to any conclusion when the parents sent the child back to India, which the father said he would do. Note: I'm not sympathizing with the parents here. Its just that this judgement is very harsh and doesn't seem to be based on much. Or at least they haven't cleared that yet.
What were you cooking?
Sending kids away from home is a very well known scaring tactic employed by most parents (atleast from India) to discipline a kid. Not so in case of pant-wetting' date=' but for general mischief. [b']Didn't yours ever scare you to pack you off to a boarding school? Mine did. And it was a scary thought to be away from mom.
Yaar hamare yehan to ulta tha. If we kids did something wrong, parents/elders would tell us that they would go back to their ancestoral home and we kids are free to do what we like. Ek second mein every kid would be on line, pair pakad ke..nahin jaana hai...:hysterical: Bahut chewtiya banaya parents ne....:hitler: Aur hum to bahut joota bhi khaaye hain, good memories of a non-PC world...:yay::yay:
I condone disciplining kids. Teach them some good manners' date=' else they become *****s or druggies or low lifes. Of course, there are limits; burning is a no no. Or anything that leaves permanent mark.[/quote'] slapping kids and beating them up is ok ?