Yoda-esque Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 ^ Konkani has devanagari script. Dexter is alien. Is also written in Kannada script
ganeshran Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 ^ Konkani has devanagari script. Dexter is alien. That explains a lot :--D
DomainK Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 ^ Konkani has devanagari script. Dexter is alien. A poorly disguised one. MIB personnel on their way to detain and torture.
Clarke Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Its not easy when the so called native place is across the border & the script goes from right to left :mad:
maniac Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 I can read and write Telugu despite never having studied the language in school or growing up in the state. My parents made sure to teach me enough to read movie posters,Bus signs,billboards etc or sign my name in my native tounge.
Crookbond Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 :hmmmm: what is it? Konkani? :dontknow: ^ Konkani has devanagari script. Dexter is alien. Is also written in Kannada script That explains a lot :--D Aam saheb, there is no script for Konkani in modern times. People in Goa write in English, people in Karnataka use Kannada and people in Maharasthra use Marathi. I must add that all three states speak a different brand of Konkani as well - I find it difficult to speak in the "dialect" (brand) I am not born & brought up in.
SLICKR392 Posted January 9, 2013 Author Posted January 9, 2013 can you speak malayalam Fluently ! :agree:
JaFanatic Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Fluently ! :agree: not bad some ppl cant even speak their mother tongue(one of my cousin too)
Crookbond Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Fluently ! :agree: not bad some ppl cant even speak their mother tongue(one of my cousin too) One of the most difficult languages to master in my books - Malayalam is the French of India OR French is the Malayalam of Europe!
maniac Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Question for Slickr and other Mallus-Malayalam is similar to Tamil isn't it?Not just the script but even some words? Because Telugu and Kannada have the same script but the languages are not at all similar from what I've heard
SLICKR392 Posted January 9, 2013 Author Posted January 9, 2013 One of the most difficult languages to master in my books - Malayalam is the French of India OR French is the Malayalam of Europe! It's really hard to speak TBH. People nowadays rarely speak the proper Malayalam. When I say fluently, it means my parents can understand me "fluently".
JaFanatic Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 One of the most difficult languages to master in my books - Malayalam is the French of India OR French is the Malayalam of Europe! m tamil i can understand and talk a bit in malayalam its too easy to learn malayalam if you know tamil. there are much similarities with these two like french and italian
SLICKR392 Posted January 9, 2013 Author Posted January 9, 2013 m tamil i can understand and talk a bit in malayalam its too easy to learn malayalam if you know tamil. there are much similarities with these two like french and italian Very few actually. Infact its the other way around, if you know Malayalam, its easy to speak Tamil. Almost 40% of Mallus can speak Tamil. I love listening to Tamil but can't really understand most of it.
JaFanatic Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Very few actually. Infact its the other way around, if you know Malayalam, its easy to speak Tamil. Almost 40% of Mallus can speak Tamil. I love listening to Tamil but can't really understand most of it. yea almost all the all the mallus i've met can speak or listen to tamil comfortably:agree:
Sarkar Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 Thank you mum and dad for letting me learn not one two Indian languages naku telugu chadhavadam thelusu rayadam thelusu mujhe hindi samjh aati hai aur hindi likhana bhi janta hoon
akshayxyz Posted January 9, 2013 Posted January 9, 2013 If I can't read & write it' date=' is it my language?[/quote'] you can be illiterate about your own language (mother tongue is what OP meant?)
Ram Posted January 10, 2013 Posted January 10, 2013 Leave aside Tamizh for a moment, I still cannot believe I can read/write Hindi. :dontknow: