Lurker Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 :whack: Over the weekend I was craving Masala Dosa so we hopped over to this swanky little Indian place that has just popped up. By the time I parked my car I was literally running asking my significant half to make a dash too. Seriously girls you want to keep pace with us, but you rarely keep pace with us. But I digress. The waiter arrives, I order promptly - Two Masala Dosa please. Maybe he was just being a great host, or trying to show off, he goes - What kind of Masala Dosa Sar? We have many variety? And as every guy does at this occassion the curiousity killed the cat and I asked him to hand over the menu. Sure enough there they were. Like Army of Chengiz Khan having driven through the Dosa station plundering everything in its wake. 45 of those gallant ones stared right back at me. Paav Bhaaji dosa?? How does that work? Is an entire paav inserted in the middle of the dosa?? Hariyali dosa? Dude you are out here to eat dosa or salad? Chole Masala dosa? Now that is just plain wrong! Gobhi Gajar Dosa? That is called kofta and its Northie. Stop pretending! Tawa rawa dosa?? That just made me laugh. Who came up with all these nonsense? And who eats them is what I want to know. I wish they were standing at the door when I was running in, so I could run them over. In my opinion Dosa is one of the greatest invention ever! And we are busy royally screwing it too. IN my opinion, there should be just 4 kind: Masala Dosa Paper Dosa Mysore Masala Dosa Rawa Dosa Anything else is pure sacrilige. Dont even mention Coconut Chettinad dosa, whats that anyway! And while we are at the suject how come we now have 45 variety of dosa, if not more, but the number of side dish - sambhar and chutney - have not increased?? I wish the waiter would ask me - Sir would you like baighan bhurta with it? On second thought, scratch that. Sambhar and coconut chutney works best. And a big shout out to Jains too. Guys, and gals, you know I love you. You are great people. But Jain dosa?? Lets just all work together to banish that from menu completely. You know you deserve much better, like a Mysore Masala... xxx
Desi Cartman Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 masala dosa, plain dosa, uttapam , rava dosa , coffee , idli & Vada. End of Menu
seedhi Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 :whack: Over the weekend I was craving Masala Dosa so we hopped over to this swanky little Indian place that has just popped up. By the time I parked my car I was literally running asking my significant half to make a dash too. Seriously girls you want to keep pace with us, but you rarely keep pace with us. But I digress. The waiter arrives, I order promptly - Two Masala Dosa please. Maybe he was just being a great host, or trying to show off, he goes - What kind of Masala Dosa Sar? We have many variety? And as every guy does at this occassion the curiousity killed the cat and I asked him to hand over the menu. Sure enough there they were. Like Army of Chengiz Khan having driven through the Dosa station plundering everything in its wake. 45 of those gallant ones stared right back at me. Paav Bhaaji dosa?? How does that work? Is an entire paav inserted in the middle of the dosa?? Hariyali dosa? Dude you are out here to eat dosa or salad? Chole Masala dosa? Now that is just plain wrong! Gobhi Gajar Dosa? That is called kofta and its Northie. Stop pretending! Tawa rawa dosa?? That just made me laugh. Who came up with all these nonsense? And who eats them is what I want to know. I wish they were standing at the door when I was running in, so I could run them over. In my opinion Dosa is one of the greatest invention ever! And we are busy royally screwing it too. IN my opinion, there should be just 4 kind: Masala Dosa Paper Dosa Mysore Masala Dosa Rawa Dosa Anything else is pure sacrilige. Dont even mention Coconut Chettinad dosa, whats that anyway! And while we are at the suject how come we now have 45 variety of dosa, if not more, but the number of side dish - sambhar and chutney - have not increased?? I wish the waiter would ask me - Sir would you like baighan bhurta with it? On second thought, scratch that. Sambhar and coconut chutney works best. And a big shout out to Jains too. Guys, and gals, you know I love you. You are great people. But Jain dosa?? Lets just all work together to banish that from menu completely. You know you deserve much better, like a Mysore Masala... xxxAlso Paper Masala Dosa. Most importantly, how was the Dosa? And also, did they charge for EXTRA SAMBHAR ?!
coffee_rules Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 There are variety of cheese dosas available now. two food items that should NOT come anywhere near each other.
Pagalpanti Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Why is it that Bangalore has the best Dosas? Never eaten Dosa like there elsewhere.. even in Chennai you don't get like those.
Laaloo Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 For residents in NJ/PA You cannot miss dosas from Sankalp. Each one them tastes very good.
SLICKR392 Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Why is it that Bangalore has the best Dosas? Never eaten Dosa like there elsewhere.. even in Chennai you don't get like those. I like the Masala Dosas here, not really a fan of other dosas here though these guys serve horrible "sweet" sambar along with it.
coffee_rules Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 I like the Masala Dosas here' date=' not really a fan of other dosas here though these guys serve horrible "sweet" sambar along with it.[/quote'] That's how Sambar is made in these areas. It's a speciality. Madras/Hyd sambars are tart sauces.
Nova Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Lurker, this is now the trend in India. Restaurants have many types of dosas. I even saw a menu boasting 100 varieties. Paanwallas selling 20 types of paan, etc. The list goes on.
veer Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 For residents in NJ/PA You cannot miss dosas from Sankalp. Each one them tastes very good. We got Sankalp in Houston as well.. They have a pretty good variety as well.. I was surprised to see some of the names as well.. but I would say I dont mind... One another South Indian joint run by west Indians have Pav Bhajji Dhosa.. and that's one of the dosa I usually order.. Btw.. Lurker Saab there is a joint called 'Only Paratha' in Mumbai and they offer over 80 varieties of parathas.. Just enjoy different combo paa ji... :--D
punjabi_khota Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Dude, I have seen chicken dosa in various menus in Boston area :WTF:
Lurker Posted February 4, 2013 Author Posted February 4, 2013 masala dosa' date=' plain dosa, uttapam , rava dosa , coffee , idli & [b']Vada. End of Menu Kaun sa vada? Medhu vada ya sabudaana vada? Dont say dahi vada :blink: Also Paper Masala Dosa. Most importantly, how was the Dosa? And also, did they charge for EXTRA SAMBHAR ?! I went with Mysore Masala, thats probably my favorite. Dosa was good, no extra sambhar. :(( Lurker' date=' this is now the trend in India. Restaurants have many types of dosas. I even saw a menu boasting 100 varieties. Paanwallas selling 20 types of paan, etc. The list goes on.[/quote'] 100 variety? Dude you are lot more patient than I am. And paan should only be 3 kind - Bengali, Benarasi and Magahi. Baaki sab chhal-kapat hai...
Lurker Posted February 4, 2013 Author Posted February 4, 2013 We got Sankalp in Houston as well.. They have a pretty good variety as well.. I was surprised to see some of the names as well.. but I would say I dont mind... One another South Indian joint run by west Indians have Pav Bhajji Dhosa.. and that's one of the dosa I usually order.. Btw.. Lurker Saab there is a joint called 'Only Paratha' in Mumbai and they offer over 80 varieties of parathas.. Just enjoy different combo paa ji... :--D Veer when did you land in Houston? There is a parathe waali gali in Delhi which has all kind of parathas. I tried a few and they were quite good too, not sure if they had 80 variety or more.
veer Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Veer when did you land in Houston? It's been more than 12 years. Btw.. Dosa and rasam you get down in south India is not same as Mumbai.. and I would prefer Mumbai type dosa more.
cowboysfan Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 I agree with the OP about his Dosa rant but he needs to include pesarattu in the list, that's a distinctive dosa and i have yet to taste a good one in america.
Nova Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 Chicken dosa? What kind was it? Tandoori chicken dosa :hysterical: Dosa with Tandoori chicken is delicious. One can eat it as a wrap. Khaane ke maamle mein thoda experiment karo...aur maza lo. :good:
SLICKR392 Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 One more reason to stay away from East coast then :cheer::cheer: Chicken dosa? What kind was it? Tandoori chicken dosa :hysterical: The ones I've had are stuffed keemas in dosas. :nice:
Desi Cartman Posted February 4, 2013 Posted February 4, 2013 As for "raping" the menu, it must have been Flamy
Precambrian Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 vengaya dosa (onion dosa) deserves a mention here. Talking about dosa varieties, Pai Dosa shop in Kochi offers 57 (and counting) varieities http://www.kochivibe.com/scrumptious-dosas/
Cricketics Posted February 5, 2013 Posted February 5, 2013 Man in my Local Madras Palace, we have this Special Rava Masala Dosa. Yes, the word "Special" a must, otherwise they will bring something else. But it's great.