Cevno Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Chennai: His confidence boosted by the impressive bowling show against Australia in the first warm-up game here Tuesday, young Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Parveez Rasool believes that he can do well at the big stage, including at the IPL, and eventually play for the country. "Firstly thanks to Allah and the the selectors who have given me this opportunity. It's a great achievement for me to do so well against a team like Australia so by Gods grace if I get more chances, I'll look to do my best," he said after his effort of seven for 45 which led to Australia being bowled out for just 241. "I haven't signed for an IPL team yet but hopefully if that happens I can do well and maybe play for India too," said 23-year-old Rasool, who recently became first cricketer from the Kashmir Valley to be picked for India 'A' team for a warm-up game against England. He expressed satisfaction at being able to deceive Australian Test players Matthew Wade and Steven Smith leading to their dismissal today. "Flight is my strength. The dismissals of Smith and Wade brought me a lot of happiness as I was able to deceive them in the flight," he said. He did not forget to praise his coach of his formative years and said, "I'm from Brijbehara in the Anantnag district of Kashmir and my coach there was Abdul Qayyum who has played a good level of cricket and I learnt the game from him before I played junior cricket or my state." "I played junior cricket at all levels. My father and brother have played cricket. My brother Asif has played Ranji trophy too," he said when asked about his background. Asked if he has become a role model for youngsters in Anantnag, he said, "Definitely, I'll work hard and do my best." Rasool also gave credit to former India captain and left-arm spinner Bishen Singh Bedi for the success so far in his fledging career. "I have to credit him for all the success I have achieved as a bowler. He always advised me to not be afraid of tossing the ball up to look for wickets. He has helped me a lot in using the flight of the ball as my weapon," he said. "He told me not to worry about experimenting with a doosra. Jab pehla accha daalte ho to doosre ki zaroorat kyon." Last month, Rasool appeared for India A in a practice match against visiting England XI, completing a full circle for the youngster who was detained by Bangalore police for questioning in 2009 in connection with suspected presence of explosives at the Chinnaswamy Stadium. He was given a clean chit a few days later. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/rasool-says-he-can-do-well-in-ipl-hopes-to-play-for-india/372448-78.html A spinner who relies on flight and wants to play IPL could be a problem combination. Hopefully, doesn't get ruined. But can't blame him really - Aakash Chopra @cricketaakash Thanks to the corrupt officials in J&K Cricket Association, the association's account has been sealed...discrepancies in excess of 25 Crore! 3h Aakash Chopra Aakash Chopra @cricketaakash Okay...since Parvez Rassol has made J&K cricket a talking point--do you know that J&K players haven't been paid for the last two seasons?
Lord Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 wow,thats pathetic if they arent paid hopefully Rassol will be picked for big money
kruiser Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Irony is that the players think IPL is the only route to get into Indian team! Sad state of affairs. ... hope he gets into india a tours.
kubrickian Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 ^^He never said IPL is the way to get into the national team, maybe T20 team but not test side. IPL is a good way to get exposure to the big stage, playing alongside seniors and also earn money. If he has to get into test side, he has to do well in FC.
moniker Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 ^^He never said IPL is the way to get into the national team' date=' maybe T20 team but not test side. IPL is a good way to get exposure to the big stage, playing alongside seniors and also earn money. If he has to get into test side, he has to do well in FC.[/quote'] But sadly, such are the strange ways of our selectors that players first have to do well in IPL, then get selected for LOIs, do well in LOIs, then get selected for tests. Pujara seems to be the only one who has bucked the trend in recent times, that too because the likes of Yuvraj and Raina failed to make the cut.
jf1gp_1 Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Irony is that the players think IPL is the only route to get into Indian team! Sad state of affairs. ... hope he gets into india a tours. yes its a very short format but you get to bowl against the best batsman in world cricket right now so its not all bad.
cowboysfan Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 you cannot judge an off spinner by their T20 performances,their bowling is drastically different from what we see in the longer format.
Cevno Posted February 12, 2013 Author Posted February 12, 2013 Just saw some dodgy highlights of today's game on sportscenter. He looks a good bowler and Lalchand Rajput spoke very highly of him. Ed Cowan was impressed too.
Cevno Posted February 12, 2013 Author Posted February 12, 2013 The pitch is a turner though, so let's see.
Vilander Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 IPL is the best :isalute: dude can you tell me what is in your profile pic very distracting need to get it out of my system...:--D
kubrickian Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 dude can you tell me what is in your profile pic very distracting need to get it out of my system...:--D Google created Image Search function only for pervs around the world. Use it :winky:
PBN Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Parvez Rassol has played in the Plate Ranji League, however, he's made a great impression with this tour game against the Aussies. Kudos to him and good work by Bishen Singh Bedi as well.
Crookbond Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Quite some performance by someone who was arrested as a terrorist 2-3 years back.
The Outsider Posted February 12, 2013 Posted February 12, 2013 Quite some performance by someone who was arrested as a terrorist 2-3 years back. He was not arrested. He was questioned by the police because of suspected traces of explosives on his bag.
Lord Posted February 13, 2013 Posted February 13, 2013 Quite some performance by someone who was arrested as a terrorist 2-3 years back. He was not arrested. He was questioned by the police because of suspected traces of explosives on his bag. :omg:
Cevno Posted February 13, 2013 Author Posted February 13, 2013 Meh, he was questioned because of stereotype probably.
Needforspeed Posted February 13, 2013 Posted February 13, 2013 Story on the Bomb scare ...October 17, 2009 http://www.telegraphindia.com/1091018/jsp/frontpage/story_11628392.jsp Seems to have been a false alarm.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted February 13, 2013 Posted February 13, 2013 In whose catchment area does J and K fall? DD or KXIP? Both will do well to sign him up.