akshayxyz Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 Tendulkar at his prime averaged 63 with the bat. He is now 54. If he continues batting like this then he will go below 50. So, in a way it proves that contrary to the allegations of his obsession for stats - he seems to be least bothered about these numbers. Definitely not as much obsessed as the Bharat-ko-SRT-se-bachao-parishad turns out to be, time and again.
Subeshkumar Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 u r right dhoni will not have any excuses left to blame others
Crookbond Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 The Aussie team of the early 80s won jack diddly squat. the Chappels, Lillee, Thommo etc. were all gone by 1983. Australia won nothign significicant till 1989. That is the 'new new' generation, the generation that replaced the new generation which replaced the old team. Ie, the massive and sudden changes the Aussies went through rendered them critically short on experience and proven ability and the generation forced to make wholesale changes in the team never quite adapted and did nothing. You must be kidding me! They won the WC in 1987 and won their first Test series victory since 4 years and had a pretty good 1987 summer. Changes are always gradual, spikes are only anomalies. I am asking for the Aussie model from 1986 when Bob Simpson took over as a coach (I'm sure you're old enough to remember it) - they spend 3 years in oblivion but that doesn't mean we need to slip in the same banana skins as they did. Ergo, if you are using the Aussies for a model, then what you are basically gonna have is India struggling to beat anyone but Bangladesh and Zimbabwe till 2017 and then graduating to defeating Sri Lanka after that. This supports my point that there hasn't been a single team thats switched its entire top six in less than a year and not regretted it. Sorry? This an uncouth statement. You can't draw prophetic conclusions from data of a different team and extrapolate to a different team. You need to decide what is BEST for you. However, even considering your argument I would rather prefer a 3 year stretch of nothing and a 20-year excellent period rather than going back to the same transition group once every 4 years.
Crookbond Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 Tendulkar at his prime averaged 63 with the bat. He is now 54. If he continues batting like this then he will go below 50. IIRC' date=' at no point in Tendulkar's career did he average over 60 in test cricket. His highest career average was 58.5 IIRC.[/quote'] I think that assertion can't be made as yet. First, the most Tendulkar has averaged is 58.87 in his 90th Test match against Zimbabwe 2002. Second, You wouldn't absolutely call 2002 as Tendulkar's peak in Test matches. Lastly, in this last 50 Test matches his average has never gone above 56.96 vs Australia 2010 (this was after he scored the double century at Bangalore). This is hardly a difference of 2 points over this time which is not quite enough to validate your assessment. Much as I disagree on Tendulkar plays for records ONLY conspiracy theory, I think from time to time he does like to see the stat on the scoreboard like the 100x100 OR reaching a personal 100 milestone by slowing down once he gets there.
koolkarts Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 We have already missed the boat with Tendulkar. If Tendulkar had to be dropped and a new guy blooded in the team' date=' it had to happen now or earlier. After Aus series, if Tendulkar retires or is dropped, a newbie will have to debut in SA instead of being eased into the setup at home before the tough SA tour.[/quote'] Hey Sachin hater, it's been some time. What's the issue with letting a youngster debut in South Africa? Where did Ganguly and Dravid debut ? (England) Where did SRT debut? (Pakistan against Waqar and Wasim) Where did Sehwag debut? (South Africa) If you have so much faith in all the youngsters, throw them in the deep end and see if they swim. Stop complaining that "they didn't get a chance to settle in" It's Test cricket. India A now have far more exposure abroad then they used to. If they still need a series or two to warm up, then they shouldn't be in the squad. Let an experienced pro be there as a mentor figure.
mhr123 Posted March 9, 2013 Posted March 9, 2013 saala .. sabar nahi hai .. jeeto tho bhi prpblem .. haare tho bhi problem..
putrevus Posted March 17, 2013 Author Posted March 17, 2013 Great innings under pressure when India were reeling at 292/2 from little master again on a juicy pitch facing all time great Aussie bowling attack.:hatsoff: His 30 odd runs have been absolute master piece and he gave the future Shane Warne his wicket.
asterix Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Great innings under pressure when India were reeling at 292/2 from little master again on a juicy pitch facing all time great Aussie bowling attack.:hatsoff: His 30 odd runs have been absolute master piece and he gave the future Shane Warne his wicket. :cantstop:
Ultimate_Game Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Great innings under pressure when India were reeling at 292/2 from little master again on a juicy pitch facing all time great Aussie bowling attack.:hatsoff: His 30 odd runs have been absolute master piece and he gave the future Shane Warne his wicket. :giggle: And true to form got out just before lunch :winky:
The Realist Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 A pure passenger these days. Just retire ffs.
nitinbwj Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 a defensive tendulkar looks ugly and gets out to non bowlers regularly
saneindian Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Another start gone waste, heading for another poor series..81, 13*, 7, 37
Laaloo Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 another innings and he's not getting enough flak for it let's BUMP it up further
King Tendulkar Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Maybe will announsce retirement before next game
Laaloo Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 Maybe will announsce retirement before next game but then who will mentor the yengsters? :((
Crookbond Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 but then who will mentor the yengsters? :(( It's almost like VVS Laxman posted that on ICF :giggle:
adi B Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 but but but he looked like the old tendulkar today and scored 5 ,yes FIVE boundaries :idunno:
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted March 17, 2013 Posted March 17, 2013 No way he is still on form just got out on a weird delivery, everyone is scoring on this pitch but 1/2 batsmen will always fail. Jadega should be the first to go.