Muloghonto Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 The biggest motivation which you don't seem to agree on is the standard of living. Its far easier to buy a comfy 4 bedroom temp controlled home with 2 cars in US than it is in India while working as a techie or a small business owner. Depends where in India. In Mumbai,Bangalore, Kolkata, etc. yes you are right. but in Nasik, Bordhoman, Ranchi ? Not so much.
Clarke Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 Depends where in India. In Mumbai,Bangalore, Kolkata, etc. yes you are right. but in Nasik, Bordhoman, Ranchi ? Not so much. So the techies and store owners drive audis in those cities, or is it mercs ?
maniac Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 I disagree on the respect part, that is where the western society is so much more enlightened and ahead of India. We work to earn money. As such, i don't see why a successful trucker should be given 'less respect' than a scientist who makes half as much money. Indians, at heart, are still classist people, who like to make caste-like 'above me,beneath me, respectable, nonrespectable' type of bakwaas. Out here, i am not 'embarassed' about inviting my trucker friend, garbage disposal friend and my Yale educated business partner for my son's birthday. They will sit besides each other, joke around, have fun & go home. If this was India, there would be 'why should i sit besides a jamadar ? its beneath me!' kinda classist BS. As such, in the western world, we don't overglorify the 'tecchies/scholars' and completely ignore the working class in social standing, which makes for a much more balanced society. And lastly, don't begin to compare Indian middle class kids with western middle class kids. The former group are overpampered spoilt brats, who cannot even seperate their whites from their colored clothes. The latter group, when in university, are already way ahead of life skills than most desi kids are. They are much better at managing money (having worked summer jobs and having budgeting skills due to it, unlike desi kids who dont even know the concept of 'work' till 21/22 and graduating from college), they are much more well rounded individuals in their teens than the desis. All the desis kids are, are either bookworms with zero life skills at 19 or shaitaans who have spent their whole life barely passing, farting around and having zero life skills. You missed my point there with the respect part,Classist attitude doesn't seem an evil when you are the benefactor does it...Once again sounds politically incorrect but it's true...the benchmark of what is considered a success in U.S is way different from what it is in India and that's the respect I was talking about....Being treated like a success story and the attention that comes with it-definetely an advantage for living in India but as you and I know our perception after living here changes.
hhunaeh Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 ^^ there will always be people more accomplished and successful than you, it never ends, unless you are mark zuckerberg or bill gates
maniac Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 The biggest motivation which you don't seem to agree on is the standard of living. Its far easier to buy a comfy 4 bedroom temp controlled home with 2 cars in US than it is in India while working as a techie or a small business owner. Agree in a way ..Well if we take into account of those whose Standard of living has improved after moving to U.S then fair enough but I can say for a fact that some middle-class/Upper-middle class people would hang around like they will get prosecuted in their country even if they have a better life waiting for them back home and I have countless examples of such incidents I have personally witnessed. That tells me Standard of living is not the only factor
Lurker Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 Depends where in India. In Mumbai,Bangalore, Kolkata, etc. yes you are right. but in Nasik, Bordhoman, Ranchi ? Not so much. Ranchi is pretty expensive these days, pretty sure Nasik would be too. Not in the same league as Calcutta or Bangalore of course.
gs Posted April 9, 2013 Posted April 9, 2013 After living in the US for 12 years, "home" has been redefined to some extent. Consider both US and India as my home now.
Ultimate_Game Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If you are rich and have money there's no place better than India, else there aren't many places worse than India.
Tiger-Don Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 US is nice and all that but nothing compared to your real homeland. Me and my family sometimes feel like ****ing everything and leaving but we dont cuz we know lifes technically better here... but still love Bangladesh.
EnterTheVoid Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 After living in the US for 12 years' date=' "home" has been redefined to some extent. Consider both US and India as my home now.[/quote'] Absolutely spot on.
ravishingravi Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If you are rich and have money there's no place better than India' date=' else there aren't many places worse than India.[/quote'] This is THE TRUTH
yoda Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If you are rich and have money there's no place better than India' date=' else there aren't many places worse than India.[/quote'] probably true for a lot of 3rd world and developing countries.
IKnowU Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 If you are rich and have money there's no place better than India' date=' else there aren't many places worse than India.[/quote'] I dream of one day having all the money in the world and moving to India. Nice condo, watch cricket or one of many other channels all day, get bored go to one of the many shops around town. Visit family every now and then, travel etc. Have a maid, chef and caretaker. You cannot ask for anything more....the good life.
Desi Cartman Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 In many ways it has ****ed me up, I want best of both worlds. Actually of all 3 worlds in my case ie USA, aus and India.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 NRI's miss the culture and community you get in India but it doesnt seem to override the better quality of life you "can" get, with a cleaner environment, less red tape/corruption and people try to build their own communities in USA/UK to make up for this. The class system is also a good point and still goes on within INdian communities abroad but not as intense as refusing to sit next to a builder. I personally am in UK and things are not great e.g. expensive cost of living, unemployment, BAD WEATHER, poor healthcare etc thinking of moving to the USof A!
Clarke Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 After living in the US for 12 years' date=' "home" has been redefined to some extent. Consider both US and India as my home now.[/quote'] That's where i ended up drawing the line. There was and is just 1 home for me. US stays in the heart forever, and then there's my home :isalute:
Ultimate_Game Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 probably true for a lot of 3rd world and developing countries. Probably true. I dream of one day having all the money in the world and moving to India. Nice condo, watch cricket or one of many other channels all day, get bored go to one of the many shops around town. Visit family every now and then, travel etc. Have a maid, chef and caretaker. You cannot ask for anything more....the good life. Key is to be rich enough so that you don't have to deal with the daily khich khichs "aam aadmi" has to go through.
Old guy Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 most of u nri people are fat..thats a big change :agree:
suraj Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 most of u nri people are fat..thats a big change :agree: Lurker?? Rahulrlezzz?? Ram?? I think what u mean to say is that NRIs have to work at incorporating extra stuff in routine to stay slim (gym, sports etc) because of the comfy luxurious life
Muloghonto Posted April 10, 2013 Posted April 10, 2013 Ranchi is pretty expensive these days' date=' pretty sure Nasik would be too. Not in the same league as Calcutta or Bangalore of course.[/quote'] Do you know Ranchi well ? I remember, back in 1994, my first year back in India after graduating, me and my uncle were looking to buy property. Me being from Kolkata, i found a 2 bedroom apartment in Salt Lake city for 5.5 lakh rupees. My uncle at that time, based in Ranchi, bought a 2 bedroom apartment somewhere near Ranchi lake ( IIRC, its on lake road or nearby) for 2 lakh rupees. I know India has changed a lot in these 19 years but i wonder if these prices would seem laughable for Ranchi today. I know the Salt Lake city prices have already doubled.