Prakat Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 India are favourites to win any ODI nowadays. Pakis may disagree but forget words the truth is in the numbers. India is a safe bet for punters big and small and attracts a lot of deposits all of which represent a hit for the bookie. So if they want to fix they'll fix for India to lose not the other way round! Where's my doctorate?
deathmonger Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 Dil pe kyu leta hai yaar. Even they know it's not fixed and use it as a coping mechanism. Agar hum bhi unke jagah pe hote to yeh karte. By unke jagah I don't mean if Indian team loses badly like Pakistan and Pakistan team wins, I mean if we were born Pakistanis.
Sean Bradley Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 Dil pe kyu leta hai yaar. Even they know it's not fixed and use it as a coping mechanism. Agar hum bhi unke jagah pe hote to yeh karte. By unke jagah I don't mean if Indian team loses badly like Pakistan and Pakistan team wins, I mean if we were born Pakistanis. :cantstop:
veer Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 India are favourites to win any ODI nowadays. Pakis may disagree but forget words the truth is in the numbers. India is a safe bet for punters big and small and attracts a lot of deposits all of which represent a hit for the bookie. So if they want to fix they'll fix for India to lose not the other way round! Where's my doctorate? Arre boss... the way it works is that Indian bookies tend to put money on India... and if other parties (like pak team, umpires) are bought out then its easy to make money out of it.. even if odds are 2/3.. its still good money and plus you keep those bookies around..
hassan_113 Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 Some of you guys seem to like the dark side of the game. Lets stick to the bright side!
Ultimate_Game Posted June 25, 2013 Posted June 25, 2013 @OP, you are taking it too seriously. Have a laugh at the trolls (panther, Siri, special K etc.) and move on. Anyone taking shots at our achievements won't change the fact that we are World Champs along with Champions of Champions :two_thumbs_up: In fact you should be enjoying the fact that trolls are so butt hurt that they are coming up with conspiracy theories, fixing claims etc. just coz India triumphed. It makes my day when I see such posts as the afterglow of the win lasts for a day or two but seeing the trolls bi@tch & moan makes the win sweeter for a lot longer
Prakat Posted June 26, 2013 Author Posted June 26, 2013 Arre boss... the way it works is that Indian bookies tend to put money on India... and if other parties (like pak team' date=' umpires) are bought out then its easy to make money out of it.. even if odds are 2/3.. its still good money and plus you keep those bookies around..[/quote'] Baba, if they are betting then in the analysis they are bettors not bookies. Bookies make money when bettors lose money en masse - which means something other than the expected result turns up. As long as India plays well it will always have millions being placed on it. If your hypothetical bookie makes money by winning his bet on India he also has to pay out to hundreds/thousands of people who put money on the same result. So he's losing money by fixing it in his favour. The only way this would work if he bets in the 100 crores with another bookie and loses in the tens of crores to people who placed their bets with him. In that case, why is he taking bets in the first place? Just bet and fix for pure profits, why run a loss making enterprise also???
rkt.india Posted June 26, 2013 Posted June 26, 2013 Agree. India win does not benefit bookies much, but India loss will.
The Outsider Posted June 26, 2013 Posted June 26, 2013 Baba, if they are betting then in the analysis they are bettors not bookies. Bookies make money when bettors lose money en masse - which means something other than the expected result turns up. As long as India plays well it will always have millions being placed on it. If your hypothetical bookie makes money by winning his bet on India he also has to pay out to hundreds/thousands of people who put money on the same result. So he's losing money by fixing it in his favour. The only way this would work if he bets in the 100 crores with another bookie and loses in the tens of crores to people who placed their bets with him. In that case, why is he taking bets in the first place? Just bet and fix for pure profits, why run a loss making enterprise also??? I am not sure if this is a serious thread or post, but assuming it is and in the assumption of no fixing bookies will always make money because of the manner in which the odds are made. If you have ever placed bets on a betting site, you would know that the odds you get today are not static. If people find particular odds on a team lucrative and start making huge bets on it, the odds are adjusted dynamically to make them less lucrative. It's like going to a casino - in the end the house will always win because that's how the odds are constructed. Sure, they might lose big on some bets here and there, but long term odds are always in the favor of bookies.
G_B_ Posted June 26, 2013 Posted June 26, 2013 I am not sure if this is a serious thread or post' date=' but assuming it is and in the assumption of no fixing bookies will always make money because of the manner in which the odds are made. If you have ever placed bets on a betting site, you would know that the odds you get today are not static. If people find particular odds on a team lucrative and start making huge bets on it, the odds are adjusted dynamically to make them less lucrative. It's like going to a casino - in the end the house will always win because that's how the odds are constructed. Sure, they might lose big on some bets here and there, but long term odds are always in the favor of bookies.[/quote'] bingo...... more money piled in on an event shorter the odds get to a point where bookies stop accepting bets. However thats not to say Indian bookies dont make a loss. The Casinos for eg have many money making outlets from hotel rooms to others. Then you have slot machines which have fixed odds. Take the 2011 world cup. India were favs from the very beginning some 5-6 months before the event began. Huge money on india was bet before the tournament began and they kept getting shorter and shorter. However the bookies still have to pay back people on 2/3 odds (for eg). It all depends when a bookie stops taking bets. Most bookies probably made a profit on brackets etc and made a loss on overall outcome.
Prakat Posted June 26, 2013 Author Posted June 26, 2013 @outy There are two kinds of systems. One is the dynamic system seen on online bookie sites 365, ladbrokes etc. This system has limits to cover house losses. The other is the way it is practiced in offline circles. Where the top four or five bookies in the country set the book and the market follows those odds (everybody offers the identical odds). These guys manage by watching their exposure. They will stop taking bets on favourites but still be happy to take your bet if you are going for the long odds. In the end both systems keep the bookie in the black. The question is what would motivate a bookie to fix? It is the appeal of pocketing the huge volumes of money that are coming in for the favourites. Once, I fix an India match, I will keep taking all bets on India without worrying about my exposure because I've fixed for India to lose and all these bets are going to the bank.
munafbhai Posted June 26, 2013 Posted June 26, 2013 They say " Haters always shout aloud your failures and silently whisper your successes". Indian cricket has had its share of failures in tests but is quite succesful when it comes ODI's. Starting from 1983 Worldcup to CT2013 , India has won every possible ICC global tournament atleast once in all corners of the world including WC2011 as hosts. Except Aus , no other team has this glorious achievement. But whenever Indian batters fail on overseas tours they are called FTB's conveniently forgetting that they have previously scored big in same places and failed only couple of times. Indian bowlers are called trundler's but the stats show they have delivered in all parts of cricketing globe. Like they say haters will always come up with excuses like BCCI fixed it or rub of green went India's way. Even if and if repeat IF India scored heavy all over world and had Mcgraths and Holdings or Warnes and won every test and ODI series for next complete decade haters will probably come up with excuse that they still have not won a series on Mars or Jupiter to keep themselves happy and live in state of denial.So best id ignore them and enjoy our success because more the haters it means more you are doing good.They use it as a coping mechanism
The Outsider Posted June 27, 2013 Posted June 27, 2013 @outy There are two kinds of systems. One is the dynamic system seen on online bookie sites 365, ladbrokes etc. This system has limits to cover house losses. The other is the way it is practiced in offline circles. Where the top four or five bookies in the country set the book and the market follows those odds (everybody offers the identical odds). These guys manage by watching their exposure. They will stop taking bets on favourites but still be happy to take your bet if you are going for the long odds. In the end both systems keep the bookie in the black. The question is what would motivate a bookie to fix? It is the appeal of pocketing the huge volumes of money that are coming in for the favourites. Once, I fix an India match, I will keep taking all bets on India without worrying about my exposure because I've fixed for India to lose and all these bets are going to the bank. You are right about it from the context of the result of the match, but typically bookies will offer all kinds of bets in which there won't really be any lopsided favorite as such. Moreover a lot of these bets will have a very small window of betting like the runs scored in the PP etc. Fixing these is much easier than fixing the match result and guarantees a profit.
Prakat Posted June 27, 2013 Author Posted June 27, 2013 ^ agree, most fixes are for novelty bets that may not have a significant effect on the result. When say a random opposition fan alleges a match was fixed they are talking about the result being fixed so that India wins. The plausibility of that happening when we are favourites is zero.