SLICKR392 Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 LOL at cooked up logic like "first final win under Ganguly". It was against Sri Lanka and England in '02 - get some perspective. It was a mediocre series' date=' which India won.[/quote'] It was an epic match (the finals), but people seem to make the series a big deal.
Yoda-esque Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 First trophy won outside Asia since 1985 First final won at Lord's since 1983 First final win after 9 consecutive lost finals Highest score chased till then, still the highest score chased in a final (BTW we are the only side to have chased 300+ in final - Natwest and Dhaka '98) Two young players taking the team to a win when we were nearly dead We were perhaps ranked number 5 or 6 in the ODI table below both Lanka and England Only final won under Dada's captaincy Wow,didn't know that.
PBN Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 This was a great match. Remember how excited I was watching India chase it down. Chasing 300+ scores weren't that common back in those days so to chase it down in the final and that too by two youngsters, Yuvi and Kaif, was exceptional from a fan's point of view. Good memories on that day Dil Happy Happy go gaya si. Nasser's reaction after after the match was also epic.
jalebi_bhai Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 Remember this game very vividly.....was 9 years old, in Bahrain at my grandparents' place.......India was decimated in the first innings.......my nani checks the score after the first innings and gives her signature dialogue "India gaya"......Dada and Viru get off to a flyer, hope is temporarily restored and............then we collapse.....at that point, my nana tells me to forget about the match and we go out to get kebabs........an hour later when we return home, we see that my mom, sis and nani are glued to the TV watching Yuvi and Kaif's counter-attack.......learnt a very valuable lesson that day.......no one beats Managaloreans when it comes to pessimism......:giggle:.....
nevada Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 I was watching it at a friend's place. He had a dish antenna and we used to buy these tournament packages together. England piled on 325, which was an almost insurmountable score back then. The Indian chase started, and as a few wickets fell, I gave up and went back to my apartment. It looked like totally England's day and India didn't seem to have any luck going their way that day. A couple of hours later I checked the score and lo and behold, India had won! I immediately went back to my friend's place and watched the replay! Even with the result known, it was thrilling to watch the chase.
Cricketics Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 People just remember Kaif and Yuvraj. Always Kaif and Yuvraj are given credit for that win. Till date, I still remember the fiery start which Ganguly and Sehwag game. 103 for in 14 overs. Perfect start if ever needed. I still remember the words how my friend described the way ganguly was bating that day "Ganguly Jangliyo ki tara maar rah hai"