asterix Posted December 10, 2013 Posted December 10, 2013 What happened in mumbai Remember Anna Hazare's Anshan in Mumbai along with Kejriwal which turned into a flopshow...only few thousand people turned up in Shivaji park... Mumbai is notorious in this regards.... They should go to Kolkata instead of Mumbai but it seems they don't have proper leaders there as compared to couple in Mumbai....
cowboysfan Posted December 10, 2013 Posted December 10, 2013 thats my only tiff with them. no evidence exists that kejriwal would be a better/worse CM than others. That can be only said after he takes up the job' date=' but these orgasmic reactions by AAP supporters that Kejriwal is this great anti-corruption saint that has a magic wand to eradicate most if not all of India's problems is school-boy thinking[/quote'] so you write them off before giving them a chance? lets see how they do in opposition first.
seedhi Posted December 10, 2013 Posted December 10, 2013 There is a qualitative difference between the stance of BJP and AAP on govt formation. The BJP says that it clearly does not have the numbers apart from 32+1 MLAs. Since the Congress and AAP both have clearly said they will never support BJP, thus it cannot form the government. The BJP simply does not have any chance of getting the numbers. The AAP, on the other hand, refuses to form the government even with outside support from the Congress -- which it will most probably get -- or the BJP. The AAP refuses to support anyone or accept support from anyone. No conversation or compromise. My way or the highway. Imagine if every party in Parliament adopts this posture. We would never have a government or get any bills passed.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 11, 2013 Posted December 11, 2013 Here's the current situation: AAP - right now they only know how to criticize and shout and probably didn't expect to perform so well so now they are getting cold feet at the prospect of actually governing and facing the extremely high expectations of the people (because of the naive promises they made in the manifesto). BJP - IMO they won't beg anyone for support because they know that if there's a re-election then they would most certainly get a clear majority on their own. But still I expect them to form the Govt. in a few days with the help of some defections. Cong - desperate to support AAP.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 11, 2013 Posted December 11, 2013 TRANSCRIPT: Congress spokespersons meet to discuss how to face media post poll results Tension was in the air. They knew they had a daunting task ahead of them. Some things were certain and it was evident that everyone present had realized it. Which was why the urgent meeting was called for. There were straight, stoic faces all around, except one radiant, smiling, bearded face. “Good evening, ladies and gentlemen! Let’s get cracking! Boy, I just can’t wait to kick some ass tomorrow,” said an exuberant Sanjay Jha, rubbing his hands in excitement. The expressions on the heads that slowly turned towards him, changed from stoic to shock, to surprise, to sighs, before Ajay Maken put his spectacles on, looked sideways, looked all around. Suddenly, he ran towards one corner of the hall, leaving everyone bewildered. He rushed to close the lone open door and latched it. As he leaned with his back on the door, he picked up his handkerchief, wiped the sweat off his forehead and let out a huge sigh of relief. Maken: Let us begin, ladies and gentlemen. I’m sure all of you have looked at the exit polls. Things aren’t looking very good for us. Mani Shankar Aiyar: SO WHAT?! SO BLOODY WHAT? (drinks another round of Jack Daniels) Maken (gives Mani a strong glare and continues): We’ll have to be as confident as we can when we face the media. We should try as much as possible to look calm. Smiling throughout helps. Renuka Chowdary: AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I can’t do that, yaa! No problem at all! AHAHAHAHA! Maken: I said “smile,” not “impersonate a hyena.” Never mind, so here’s how it works. When the results are announced in Mizoram, the cameras don’t come towards you, you guys run to the cameras. Grab every cameraman by the neck and make him record your words. Now, why did we win in Mizoram? Digvijaya Singh: Because Mizoram is free from communal forces and is a centre of pervasive secularism! Maken: BULLSHIT. Anyone else? Manish Tewari: The Congress party has always taken a holistic view towards the underdogs and has always favoured them Maken: RUBBISH! Mani is drunk, but I’m sure even he can do better than you guys. Hear him now! Mani, why did we win in Mizoram? Mani: Only because of the sheer grace and blessings of her excellency, Congress president Shrimati Sonia Gandhiji and Shri Rahul Gandhiji. Maken: BINGO! Get that, guys?! (Everyone nods in agreement) Maken: Next, MP. We’re likely to be routed here. So how do we defend ourselves? Why did this happen? Sanjay Jha: Only because of the blessings of Shrimati Sonia Gandhiji and Shri Rahul Gandhiji Maken: Did you even hear me? We are gonna get routed in MP! Sanjay Jha: Well, let me tell you, Ajay, the Congress party’s campaigns in MP have evoked a phenomenal response, especially when Rahul Gandhi addressed rallies. Maken (slaps his forehead): STOP! I now understand how Arnab feels every night on The Newshour. Anyway, why did we lose in MP? Digvijaya Singh: Bad local leaders! Maken: Hmmm…Not bad! Manish Tewari: Insofar as Modi is concerned Maken: STOP! I will say this once and only once – anyone who even mentions the word Modi is fired! Got it?! Sanjay Jha: Ajay, let me tell you, it is actually a victory for the Congress in many ways. We have won in seats where we haven’t won before. Number two – slowly but surely, the people of MP are beginning to inch towards secularism and free themselves from communal forces! Maken (stands up and applauds): EXCELLENT! HATS OFF! RIGHT! Okay next …Rajasthan! We’re likely to get routed here too and this is tricky – in MP, it was BJP continuing its run. Over here, we screwed up! So why did we screw up? Mani: Ashok Gehlot’s governance has always been tangential to the core ideals and values put forth to us by Soniaji and Rahulji. People who do not adhere to these values, unfortunately have to bear the brunt of their actions. Maken: Hmmm, not bad, let’s keep it as a backup. Anyone else? Digvijaya Singh: It was the misfortune of Rajasthan Congress that they didn’t get to hear much of Soniaji and Rahulji’s futuristic vision for our country. Big deal, one state doesn’t have any impact on the national scene! 2014 is ours and I have no doubts about it! Maken: BRILLIANT! Okay, Delhi and Chattisgarh – now, we’re better off here. Even though we’ll lose, the margin won’t be so bad. Rashid Alvi: The Aam Aadmi party has misguided voters by falsely trying to be another Congress party and has eaten our vote share. Congress is and will always be the true party of the aam aadmi. Having said that, I congratulate the Aam Aadmi Party on a fantastic emergence and urge them to ally with us, since we believe in many common secular ideals and most importantly to keep communal forces at bay. Maken(claps, goes to Alvi and hugs him): Wow! Kya entry hai, Rashidji! Ekdum jhakaas! Chattisgarh? Digvijaya Singh: The Raman Singh govt has done nothing to protect voters from Naxalites and Maoists! Such being the case, how will those who want to vote for us, come out fearlessly for change? If security was ensured, I am 200% sure the Congress would have won! Maken (smiles wide, wipes tears from his eyes): WAH WAH! GO ON, COMRADES! MARCH ON AND KICK SOME MEDIA ASS! BOLO SHRIMATI SONIA GANDHI KI … Everyone: JAI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Maken: BOLO SHRI RAHUL GANDHI KI …. Everyone: JAI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The spokespersons hug each other in joy, high-fives fly around, even as a massive rout is just a landfall away. http://www.theunrealtimes.com/2013/12/08/transcript-congress-spokespersons-meet-to-discuss-how-to-face-media-post-poll-results/ :hysterical::hysterical:
diga Posted December 12, 2013 Posted December 12, 2013 Lt.Gov invites BJP to form govt We can't prove majority: Harsh Vardhan Have no problem to sit in Opposition: BJP President's Rule likely in Delhi
diga Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 Following the refusal by the BJP, Delhi Lt Governor Najeeb Jung has invited Aam Admi Party leader Arvind Kejriwal for discussion on government formation.
diga Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 Gehlot credits Modi for election debacle : :hysterical: Former Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has blamed Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi for Congress's poll debacle in Rajasthan. Gehlot has alleged that the EVMs used in the state polls, which were programmed in Ahmedabad, were tampered with at the behest of Modi.
bulbul Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 Will Governor call Con party to form govt if AAP refuses , that will be greatest moment in history of Indian politics
Sachin=GOD Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 The Delhi Lt. Govt. called BJP as well as AAP but both said that they don't have the numbers to form a Govt. Apparently now the Congress has written to the Lt. Gov offering support to AAP to form the Govt. If this is true then I don't see how AAP can refuse. This is going to be interesting
Yoda-esque Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 The Delhi Lt. Govt. called BJP as well as AAP but both said that they don't have the numbers to form a Govt. Apparently now the Congress has written to the Lt. Gov offering support to AAP to form the Govt. If this is true then I don't see how AAP can refuse. This is going to be interesting So if there is a way to form the govt by numbers, the Gov. Has to accept it?
Sachin=GOD Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 So if there is a way to form the govt by numbers' date=' the Gov. Has to accept it?[/quote'] I'm not sure. BUT there certainly will be pressure on AAP to form the Govt. if Cong officially offers support to it.
Trichromatic Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 Sure AAP doesn't want support from any party. But even if they had majority they couldn't have stopped anyone from supporting them in the Assembly. AAP has openly rejected Congress, but they can always form a minority Govt.
randomGuy Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 Sure AAP doesn't want support from any party. But even if they had majority they couldn't have stopped anyone from supporting them in the Assembly. AAP has openly rejected Congress, but they can always form a minority Govt. no. either they take cong. support or there is pres. rule. They cant form minority Govt.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 no. either they take cong. support or there is pres. rule. They cant form minority Govt. AFAIK a minority Govt. can be formed and it will last as long as there is no no-confidence motion against it.
randomGuy Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 AFAIK a minority Govt. can be formed and it will last as long as there is no no-confidence motion against it. 1. Bjp has 32. They will vote against. They aren't abstaining from vote. 2. Cong is supporting not abstaining. No chance of minority govt.
Yoda-esque Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 1. Bjp has 32. They will vote against. They aren't abstaining from vote. 2. Cong is supporting not abstaining. No chance of minority govt. BJP will not oppose
randomGuy Posted December 13, 2013 Posted December 13, 2013 BJP will not oppose tht will be illogical since bjp has more numbers. It will be unethical on part of aap.