koksmayu Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Forced Sachin to quit ODIs, jokes Ajmal Lahore, Fri Aug 23 Among his other achievements, Pakistan off-spinner Saeed Ajmal will be remembered for being the last bowler to have dismissed Sachin Tendulkar in ODIs and it is a feat the offie seems to be cherishing. It was not the first time that the 35-year-old Ajmal, who has taken 140 wickets from 89 ODIs, was taking a dig at Tendulkar, who is widely regarded as the best batsman to have played the game since Donald Bradman. Ajmal had the distinction of dismissing the Little Master at the World Cup semi-final in Mohali and then in what turned out to be his last ODI in an Asia Cup game in Dhaka last year. While Tendulkar scored half-centuries in both games (85 in Mohali and 52 in Dhaka), Pakistan were on the losing on each occasion. However, that did not stop Ajmal from cracking another joke at Tendulkar expense, when he told Wisden India that he had "compelled" Tendulkar to quit ODIs: He is a super superstar, that's what the world calls him. He has nearly 50,000 runs in professional cricket. So obviously it was great moment for me when I took his wicket. He was having trouble in picking the doosra in his last ODI in the Asia Cup. "Misbah said to me we could get him out caught at slip. Younis Khan moved to slip and it worked out exactly as planned. I got the wicket of the world-class batsman and it came off such a great delivery that he was compelled to quit ODI cricket after it!," Ajmal said tongue-in-cheek. Like every Pakistani cricketer, Ajmal wants to play Test matches in India but after 26 Tests, he is yet to play one in his own country and Ajmal hopes both he can fulfill both his wishes in the near future. "I want to play Test cricket against every team. There is nothing better than performing at the home of the opposition. I haven't played Test cricket in Pakistan either. I want to play in every country. We have a great rivalry with India. It benefits both the countries. But I don't know why the political tensions are not letting us play. I regret that Pakistan and India are not playing cricket against each other."
Sajid_Rana Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Sachin can reply. I forced Wasim & Waqar to quit cricket altogether and I'm not even joking.
Crookbond Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 I made Sachin quit ODIs, jokes Ajmal http://www.wisdenindia.com/interview/sachin-quit-odis-jokes-ajmal/72974 You talked about unleashing a teesra in the England series in 2012 but we never saw it. Did you really develop the mystery delivery or were you just trying to play psychological games with the England players? It is totally wrong to say it was a psychological trap. I had indeed invented that delivery. I used to bowl it during practise and made its video too. I tried it in a few matches as well. But there were some doubtful elements, due to which the coaches asked me to do away with it. I still bowl it sometimes in the nets and it really troubles batsmen. Batsmen don’t have a clue what is happening. Sometimes it is slow, other times it is quick. There’s no flight; it keeps flat and low. Now, I have invented one more variety. It is the seedha [straight]. It is better than the teesra. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: Tell us more about the seedha? Yeah, it is seedha, like Shane Warne’s flipper. With my action, it goes straight, so it appears as a variation to me. The conventional delivery is offbreak; the other one is the doosra. So the one that goes seedha is also a variety, isn’t it? You have a cricket academy coming up in Faisalabad. Usually players plan such things after retirement. What got you started on it while playing and what are your plans with it? First of all, I am grateful to Allah, who gave me courage for this initiative. The major factor behind this move was that Faisalabad, which is my home and the third largest city of Pakistan, got the wooden spoon in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. There are only two major grounds in Faisalabad. One is the Iqbal Stadium, where budding cricketers are not allowed. The other is the Boranwali ground, where they also stage different functions. There are not enough facilities for emerging cricketers and that prompted me to set up the academy. I contacted the government and initially they cold-shouldered my proposal as there wasn’t any space available. :facepalm: In 2012, I met the vice-chancellor of the University of Agriculture in Faisalabad. He offered me a piece of land to fulfill my dreams. The son of the chief minister also visited the university and announced that there was a piece of land available. I am thankful to him for giving me the space. After that it was estimated that the academy would cost 80 million rupees (approximately 800,000). I was reluctant to go ahead but eventually found the courage. I decided to go door to door to raise funds. The academy is my dream and I won’t be charging any money from the players who use the facilities. It will be free of cost. I took this initiative to improve my country and city’s cricket. :hatsoff:
wanted_desi Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 There is nothing like joking, deep down he thinks he made Tendulkar Quit just like other Pakis says.
munafbhai Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 There is nothing like joking' date=' deep down he thinks he made Tendulkar Quit just like other Pakis says.[/quote'] As per Ajmals logic ,he forced Sachin to quit.......(jokingly my foot)...Anyway by same logic made Sqalain forget cricket and become a tabelgahi in Multan and Sachin forced Wasim,Waqar to retire in Wc2003 Centurion. Oh yes Did Taylor make shoaib Actor retire due to bashing in Wc2011....I guess so yes........jokingly of course
vvvslaxman Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Ajmal should have retired after the phainty he gets from Kohli
Malcolm Merlyn Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 He is bragging.He is not even fit to tie SRT's shoelaces.He thinks too highly of himself.Typical ego maniac.
FischerTal Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 i think it was more likely khatmal who forced sachin to retire from ODIs... with all that shabash ajju bhai ye wala theek hain iss ko dalo iss ko dalo 2 tikke ki kasam nonsense behind the stumps. anyone will quit from ODIs to be spared from that torture
tendulkar Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Why is this even news?? Because there should be no peace.
mastana Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 i think it was more likely khatmal who forced sachin to retire from ODIs... with all that shabash ajju bhai ye wala theek hain iss ko dalo iss ko dalo nonsense behind the stumps. anyone will quit from ODIs to be spared from that torture :hysterical::hysterical:
mastana Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Saqlain Moochtaq retired after getting that phaintaaa from Viru in Multan test. This is what called as forcing someone to retire.
Crookbond Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 i think it was more likely khatmal who forced sachin to retire from ODIs... with all that shabash ajju bhai ye wala theek hain iss ko dalo iss ko dalo 2 tikke ki kasam nonsense behind the stumps. anyone will quit from ODIs to be spared from that torture I swear ... even during his Suhaag Raat Khatmal will say Shahid Bhai bhaut acche, thoda uar aage daalon. :giggle:
FischerTal Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 I swear ... even during his Suhaag Raat Khatmal will say Shahid Bhai bhaut acche, thoda uar aage daalon. :giggle: Lala jaan will always rise to the occasion and hit a sixer for the first second and then get out :cantstop:
Old guy Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 merge the thread of kenley with this mods http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=302872
Old guy Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 another soon to be merged thread :phehehe: :haha: