Cricketics Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Just to keep squad little solid. He has enough experience and does score consistently. Might not be the greatest player to play over seas, but he has scored in south africa before. He can bat anywhere in the top or middle order if required. Just have a feeling, he can be a good asset for the team. Whenever either of our opener or someone in middle order is struggling or not available.
Magneto Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Was thinking of the same. They might not do it, but he might be a handy option given Sehwag and Gambhir's form. Seems in good form and not too old as well, as old as Sehwag only.
G_B_ Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 i would play him in place of Vijay. That fact is on current form he is the best regularly playing opener in India on the Indian domestic scene. He is not a long term solution. But IMO he is enough to do a job in SA England and Aus. After which you can bring in a young opener and mould him. Jaffer is the sort of batsman who may not average highly in these series but has the ability and maturity to see off the new ball and protect our talented middle order.
Laaloo Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 He's certainly better than Vijay; at least in the eyes of those who have cricketing knowledge. Cabby on the other hand
Cricketics Posted November 11, 2013 Author Posted November 11, 2013 I wish he had played more for India. He's still a fine player who would have easily made appearance in most test batting x1 in the world. Good to see people for a change aren't calling him crap which they used to before. This guy is really good. I can still go onto say that he will fit in most of the teams test 11.
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 bhai kaun se saal me ho?its 2013 not 2007 :cantstop:
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Naa Philander will eat him alive day in day out. He is a pokemon. I would rather have Parthiv patel in place of him lol
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 bhai kaun se saal me ho?its 2013 not 2007 :cantstop: Gotta be one of the most ridiculous suggestion when we have array of young dazzling youngsters waiting in the wing. :winky:
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Gotta be one of the most ridiculous suggestion when we have array of young dazzling youngsters waiting in the wing. :winky: yup I'd rather try a youngster than a failed oldie.domestics dont matter.SA conditions are totally different even Sachin scored runs in Ranjis even now:giggle:
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 for the moment,Vijay and Dhawan are doing an okay job,not sure why we need to replace them so early
jusarrived Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Funny you pick Jaffer of all the people , who is very similar to Vijay . Looks good only on flat pitches , similar technical issues like Vijay
Cricketics Posted November 11, 2013 Author Posted November 11, 2013 bhai kaun se saal me ho?its 2013 not 2007 :cantstop: Gotta be one of the most ridiculous suggestion when we have array of young dazzling youngsters waiting in the wing. :winky: Bhaijaan, there are enough spots in batting line up for youngsters to steal. No one has really confirmed there place in our batting line up for the 2nd or 3rd test. I am sure Rohit and Kohli and Shikhar and Murali Vijay are sure starters for now, but none of them are fully confirmed that they would be playing every game frmo here on. Performance should matter. and with so many slots open to youngsters, one slot can be made for a senior player like Jaffer who can get the opportunity. Meanwhile, Rahane can fight with Shikhar, Murali Vijay, Rohit and Kohli for his entry to the team. Jaffer's inclusion is just to benefit the team during overseas tour. He has scored overseas and has more knowledge to bat overseas than most youngsters around. So 1 guy among so many youngsters won't be a bad move really.
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Bhaijaan, there are enough spots in batting line up for youngsters to steal. No one has really confirmed there place in our batting line up for the 2nd or 3rd test. I am sure Rohit and Kohli and Shikhar and Murali Vijay are sure starters for now, but none of them are fully confirmed that they would be playing every game frmo here on. Performance should matter. and with so many slots open to youngsters, one slot can be made for a senior player like Jaffer who can get the opportunity. Meanwhile, Rahane can fight with Shikhar, Murali Vijay, Rohit and Kohli for his entry to the team. Jaffer's inclusion is just to benefit the team during overseas tour. He has scored overseas and has more knowledge to bat overseas than most youngsters around. So 1 guy among so many youngsters won't be a bad move really. Chalo even if you want a senior,why Jaffer?why not proven guy like Gambhir?or even Sehwag in the middle order?
Magneto Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 yup I'd rather try a youngster than a failed oldie.domestics dont matter.SA conditions are totally different even Sachin scored runs in Ranjis even now:giggle: No youngsters left who has been consistent or have shown some form. The cupboard is bare regarding openers currently. Jaffer's overseas performances are not so bad, considering Dhoni is our most experienced overseas player and the rest are noobs.
Cricketics Posted November 11, 2013 Author Posted November 11, 2013 Chalo even if you want a senior' date='why Jaffer?why not proven guy like Gambhir?or even Sehwag in the middle order?[/quote'] You know, it's funny but Gambhir is my first choice. and Sehwag the 2nd, but if they don't get picked, I would opt for Jaffer. Actually my choice is - Gambhir, Jaffer and then probably Sehwag.
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 No youngsters left who has been consistent or have shown some form. The cupboard is bare regarding openers currently. Jaffer's overseas performances are not so bad, considering Dhoni is our most experienced overseas player and the rest are noobs. he has only one good innings in SA.mainly scored in WI. I'd rather back youngsters for a while before thinking of these things.I'm sure most of them can come good.
Lord Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 You know, it's funny but Gambhir is my first choice. and Sehwag the 2nd, but if they don't get picked, I would opt for Jaffer. Actually my choice is - Gambhir, Jaffer and then probably Sehwag. okay fair enough.
vvvslaxman Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 Bhaijaan, there are enough spots in batting line up for youngsters to steal. No one has really confirmed there place in our batting line up for the 2nd or 3rd test. I am sure Rohit and Kohli and Shikhar and Murali Vijay are sure starters for now, but none of them are fully confirmed that they would be playing every game frmo here on. Performance should matter. and with so many slots open to youngsters, one slot can be made for a senior player like Jaffer who can get the opportunity. Meanwhile, Rahane can fight with Shikhar, Murali Vijay, Rohit and Kohli for his entry to the team. Jaffer's inclusion is just to benefit the team during overseas tour. He has scored overseas and has more knowledge to bat overseas than most youngsters around. So 1 guy among so many youngsters won't be a bad move really. Dinesh Karthik has better credentials as an opener than Jaffer in England and SA. We cannot go back to him. After watching Jaffer brutally exposed by BRett Lee outside the off stump, what are the odds of him surviving against the likes of Steyn, Philander. He is an FTB.. that too not a consistent one. If they need a backup i would rather carry Gambhir.
Magneto Posted November 11, 2013 Posted November 11, 2013 he has only one good innings in SA.mainly scored in WI. I'd rather back youngsters for a while before thinking of these things.I'm sure most of them can come good. Not saying he has been phenomenal overseas, but he has been decent. Not many can claim that. Which youngster opener has done anything of note recently? They can't score in Ranji, fail in A games, and you think they'll come good in S Africa? The argument again is to get a bit of experience in the team. Gauti and Sehwag are walking wickets presently.
Cricketics Posted November 11, 2013 Author Posted November 11, 2013 Dinesh Karthik has better credentials as an opener than Jaffer in England and SA. We cannot go back to him. After watching Jaffer brutally exposed by BRett Lee outside the off stump' date=' what are the odds of him surviving against the likes of Steyn, Philander. He is an FTB.. that too not a consistent one. If they need a backup i would rather carry Gambhir.[/quote'] Gambhir is first preference of every person who wants one senior in the team. He has been our best bat and saved and won us games and done better when most of the big 3 - Tendulkar, Dravid, Laxman failed. This is only if Gambhir isn't picked if he fails to score something big in coming Ranji games. Still will echo the same thing. Jaffer is better bat than most Ranji players today. He is definitely better than Dinesh Karthik who might have outscored him back in England 6 years ago. Playing big knocks and staying on the wicket for long time is what is required and I believe him and Pujara are probably the best in India right now in that department along with Gambhir.