diga Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 Dodda Ganesh was one of the most successful medium fast bowlers from Karnataka, who played four Tests and one one-day international for India in the first half of 1997. He has a special rapport with Sachin Tendulkar. Ganesh says Sachin played a major role in his induction into the Team India. Ganesh is from a very humble background and made it big in the domestic Cricket purely on the basis of his strength. Speaking to TV9, a leading Kannada TV news channel, Ganesh said, "I was a good Ranji cricketer. I met Sachin at a net practice. I expressed my desire to bowl. He readily agreed. He was impressed by my bowling. He asked the national selectors to consider my name. Because of him, I got a chance to play for India and tour the world." Ganesh remembers one more incident of Sachin's helpful nature. He said, "When we went to Australia, my luggage was misplaced at the airport. I was tense. I did not know what to do. I was not even fluent in English. Nobody knew me there. Sachin sensed that I had some problem. He came with me to the luggage area and helped me find my luggage. He was so simple. I still remember that incident." Ganesh says Sachin always wants to win. He hates losing a match. Be it an international Cricket match or a team volleyball match, he wants his side to win. He narrates an incident from a tour of West Indies in the 1997. Junior players and senior players were playing a volleyball match just to kill time in Barbados. Sachin's team lost. He was so upset over the defeat. Finally all team members had to console him during dinner. He fondly remembers that Sachin even gifted him a watch during their South Africa tour. He said, "I still have that precious gift with me. I will keep that with me forever." The day Sachin came to his modest house for a simple dinner during his visit to Bangalore is the most memorable event of his life. Ganesh said, "I was not sure. I hesitantly invited Sachin to my house for a Kannadiga dinner. He readily agreed. He came to my modest house in a lower middle class area of Bangalore. He touched my mother's feet seeking her blessings. He interacted with my wife and sister. He liked Ragi balls, rice, sambar and a home-cooked chicken. He ate heartily. He had no airs. He was so simple. My family members were really surprised to see such a warm, humble Sachin. I can never forget that night." Src:IBNlive
DomainK Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 I think Dodda Ganesh and David Johnson bowled in tandem for India for a couple of matches. Unfortunately, I have to say, some of the worst days of Indian bowling. But Sachin was always like that. He always supported the underdogs.
velu Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 damn.. i thought sachin visited our mod gannus home :finger:
SLICKR392 Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 ^ :agree: Though he paid Gannu a visit. :--D
GoldenSun Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 why do they need to give someone like Dodda Ganesh some coverage? It doesn't seem worth it, even if it is to share another story about Sachin.
Brainfade Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 why do they need to give someone like Dodda Ganesh some coverage? It doesn't seem worth it' date=' even if it is to share another story about Sachin.[/quote'] Just to reinforce the fact that SRT's personality is an excellent blend of fierce competitiveness and down-to-earth humility and kind heart. Regardless of the "worthiness" of Ganesh, the anecdote adds credence to the hypothesis that SRT was not cut out to be a good captain. IMO, he had the tactical and strategic acumen and the cricketing knowledge to be captain, but could not handle making tough personnel decisions. He would not be able to drop people, he felt too much sympathy for everyone, and allowed his emotional preference for underdogs to get in the way of rational decisions. Which made him a great team-mate and mentor, but not a tough captain. IMO.
Brainfade Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 i havent eaten ragi mudde in 2 years:(( It's been > 3 for me :(.
NameGoesHere Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 Sachin has a lot to be be blamed for, apparently.
North Sea Tiger Posted November 12, 2013 Posted November 12, 2013 i havent eaten ragi mudde in 2 years:(( It's been > 3 for me :(. No ragi mudde in the North Sea, bhoys! Over 6 years since large ladle of sopp saaru over mudde. Wishful thinking.
TheWall Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 No ragi mudde in the North Sea' date=' bhoys! Over 6 years since large ladle of sopp saaru over mudde. Wishful thinking.[/quote'] you ppl are really something in ur life...:((
saneindian Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 So Ddda Ganesh owes his selection in Team India to Sachin. And we thought the Karnataka Lobby, under the able and honest leadership of our then PM Shri Devegowdaji , got all those Karnataka players in the team in the late 90s! Khamakha bechare Devegowda ko badnaam kar diya tha
jalebi_bhai Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 So Ddda Ganesh owes his selection in Team India to Sachin. And we thought the Karnataka Lobby, under the able and honest leadership of our then PM Shri Devegowdaji , got all those Karnataka players in the team in the late 90s! Khamakha bechare Devegowda ko badnaam kar diya tha Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy a couple of times in the 90s.......that resulted in the influx of a lot of K'taka cricketers in the national team.......
saneindian Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy a couple of times in the 90s.......that resulted in the influx of a lot of K'taka cricketers in the national team....... Are yaar winning the Ranji Trophy doesn't mean the entire squad gets a spot in National team. Kumble, Srinath, Prasad, Dravid, Joshi, Ganesh, Johnson, Sjith Somasunder, Vijay Bharadwaj . thats 9 players from one Ranji side who played at some point for India in 90s. First 5 totally on merit and performances. to an extent Bhardwaj as well deserved the spot as he was a beast in domestic cricket in late 90s but was found out against pace bowling. The other 3 not sure I am sure we played a match or two with an all Karnataka bowling attack of Kumble, Srinath, Prasad and Joshi.
littlemaster1982 Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Wasn't GR Vishwanath (then head of selectors) said to be behind those selection of Karnataka players? I remember reading so back then.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 :hysterical: @ the MODS changing the name of the thread after being trolled by a couple of posters.