Malcolm Merlyn Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Two things here:- 1.I am not buying this Trott illness.These things dont happen overnight and not just after one match,in which you performed poorly,your weakness was exposed and your team lost and media crucified you. 2.If its true then England need to re asses their principles/guidelines etc etc as England players are increasingly falling to this.
rkt.india Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Most companies have stress management counselling. Even a software guy can be overloaded and he can be stressed out when there is a struggle to maintain work life balance. It is stress related illness. Work related stress pretty much all walks life would have had it at some point. Reading most of the articles' date=' his case is more related to work than personal life. I think he will come back after a break unlike Trescothik who had different issue of home sickness. Probably workload got to him.[/quote'] Spot on.
GoldenSun Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Idiots who are making fun of this obviously know nothing about stress related illnesses, anxiety and depression. I hope you guys suffer from it acutely, go on the verge of suicide and then come tell us on this forum how it feels. Typical desi ignorance. Keep it up!!! No wonder mental illness is still such a taboo in India in the 21st century. UNFECKINGBELIEVABLE!!! Brutal, but the truth hurts. I remember when i was suffering last year from mental strain, my mom(who was indian born) made fun and derided me for it. If it wasn't for my dad, I would have never been normal again.
tothepoint Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 I hope all these morons who are making fun of Trott's illness gets it someday. But they are most certainly not going to get it with their single digit IQs coupled with their lack of thinking skills. Some of these idiots might be thinking whether Sachin "chickened out" as well :giggle:
ganeshran Posted November 26, 2013 Author Posted November 26, 2013 Brutal' date=' but the truth hurts. I remember when i was suffering last year from mental strain, my mom(who was indian born) made fun and derided me for it. If it wasn't for my dad, I would have never been normal again.[/quote'] My cousin suffers from depression. He was managing with the medicines but there was a point beyond it was just not possible to carry on. He quit his job, came back to India and started a fresh bout of therapy + a changed course of medication in order to get his life back on track for the last 1 year. It is not easy but there is definite progress and he seems more upbeat when I talk to him now than he was an year back. From what I have seen of reactions to mental illnesses, people can be A-grade ignorant a55holes about it. Like Danda said, the only way some people learn is from personal experience of loved ones dealing with it. We all don't know what Trott's detailed medical case is, but there is simply no reason to not trust him when he says he suffered from a long standing medical condition. There are some things that are bigger than performances on the cricketing field.
Detonator Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 I think they are certainly related. Mental illness is always a consequence of not handling pressure and stresses at any aspect in life. Such circumstances lead to mental illness when your mental fortitude weakens. Everyone goes through such phases in life. Some go through it and come out winners' date=' some do not and commit things like suicide.[/quote'] Mental illness is not always caused by stress. It could be a genetical disorder or substance abuse. Even if a person's parent is a drug addict, the child can get metal illness For frequent travellers, lack of proper sleep can be cause as the different sleep timinings. England players are literally starting the match on time they go to bed and stumps come on the time they wake up. Not everyone can handle this. For Indians working abroad, most of them get these kind of problems due the nutrition which they are not getting used to. The most common case is the trauma when they suffered during childhood, like sexual abuse or loss of someone important or some head injuries. Personally, I suffered a head injury when I was 4, coupled with a brutal treatment in a school. They made me kneel in the sunlight for the whole day for trying to escape and using bad words against my treacher who beat me behind the head many times. I literally gone mad for a week or so. Doctor said the reason is the sunlight exposure. Handling pressure/stress or anxiety are just one of many reasons. Stating these causes is the most common denominator for media and people. Unless if Trott's doctor says the cause in public, no one will know the real reason.
Sean Bradley Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 This is getting funnier by the day, cant wait to see Mitch bowling thunderbolts in perth :nervous: :two_thumbs_up:
vvvslaxman Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 This is getting funnier by the day' date=' cant wait to see Mitch bowling thunderbolts in perth :nervous: :two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] Andy flower has called for sledging ceasefire. Pommies were all over Aussies on twitter , in press what not.. Now suddenly after one loss they play victim card as if they didn't do anything. Didn't Anderson say "I cant stop sledging aussies".
CG Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 man i did not know we have so many guys on icf suffering from serious depression.
Sean Bradley Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Andy flower has called for sledging ceasefire. Pommies were all over Aussies on twitter ' date=' in press what not.. Now suddenly after one loss they play victim card as if they didn't do anything. Didn't Anderson say "I cant stop sledging aussies".[/quote'] What a blessing in disguise has the 7 match odi series with the world champs been for the Aussies? We helped them rediscover Mitchell Johnson along wit 2 potential great batting finds for the future, Bailey and Maxwell, i really want to see Maxy in this test team, he has serious batting potential and one for aussies to nurture and nourish like we nurtured Nohit to the hitman.:two_thumbs_up:
asterix Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 What a blessing in disguise has the 7 match odi series with the world champs been for the Aussies? We helped them rediscover Mitchell Johnson along wit 2 potential great batting finds for the future' date=' Bailey and Maxwell, i really want to see Maxy in this test team, he has serious batting potential and one for aussies to nurture and nourish like we nurtured Nohit to the hitman.:two_thumbs_up:[/quote'] Credit goes to :mi: :hatsoff:
rkt.india Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Mental illness is not always caused by stress. It could be a genetical disorder or substance abuse. Even if a person's parent is a drug addict, the child can get metal illness For frequent travellers, lack of proper sleep can be cause as the different sleep timinings. England players are literally starting the match on time they go to bed and stumps come on the time they wake up. Not everyone can handle this. For Indians working abroad, most of them get these kind of problems due the nutrition which they are not getting used to. The most common case is the trauma when they suffered during childhood, like sexual abuse or loss of someone important or some head injuries. Personally, I suffered a head injury when I was 4, coupled with a brutal treatment in a school. They made me kneel in the sunlight for the whole day for trying to escape and using bad words against my treacher who beat me behind the head many times. I literally gone mad for a week or so. Doctor said the reason is the sunlight exposure. Handling pressure/stress or anxiety are just one of many reasons. Stating these causes is the most common denominator for media and people. Unless if Trott's doctor says the cause in public, no one will know the real reason. Aren't most of what you mentioned are type of stresses one can face in life?
Debutant Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 The English players are running for cover Down Under. They engaged Australia in a verbal battle before and during the first test match, and this strategy well and truly rebounded on them. Last summer they dished it out in England against the hapless Aussies but this time they buckled under the pressure completely when the shoe was on the other foot. They were weak in the face of adversity and paid the price. Leading English batsman Jonathan Trott was so mentally battered that he packed his bags and went home. Much is made of stress and depression in sport these days. In cricketing terms I can simplify the problem. Fear of failure is the issue. In the case of Trott, Australia found a weakness in his batting technique against the short ball. They exposed this in ruthless fashion and let him know about the problem verbally as well. Trott had a mental breakdown. In his own mind he couldn't work out how to overcome the problem and decided a better course of action would be to remove himself from the situation. Stress-related issues go hand in hand with failure. I am yet to see a situation where a player goes home from a stress-related situation when he is doing well. These problems occur when things aren't working out. http://www.supersport.com/cricket/blogs/kepler-wessels/Trotts_problem_fear_of_failure
Scarves Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 ICC have to do more work and put less cricket. There are so many useless events such as 7 ODIs and such. 5 is fine and 1 T20 but all these T20 events don't help either.
Debutant Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 ICC have to do more work and put less cricket. There are so many useless events such as 7 ODIs and such. 5 is fine and 1 T20 but all these T20 events don't help either. ODIs and T20s are fun. They should scrap the meaningless Tests where you play 5 long days and most of the times without any result. Just boring. If at all they play test then should have Test series of maximum 1 test. 5 test is absolute waste of time.
CG Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 ODIs and T20s are fun. They should scrap the meaningless Tests where you play 5 long days and most of the times without any result. Just boring. If at all they play test then should have Test series of maximum 1 test. 5 test is absolute waste of time. :hysterical:
Debutant Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 :hysterical: Tamaku ete hasa kana pain laguchi ?? :--D
CG Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 Tamaku ete hasa kana pain laguchi ?? :--D arrey bhai, test cricket sabu cricketer khele baku pasand karanti except Dhoni.Test cricket and meaningless do not go together.Its the 7 match odi series which are meaningless.Tests now is even more intresting with test championship.
Debutant Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 arrey bhai, test cricket sabu cricketer khele baku pasand karanti except Dhoni.Test cricket and meaningless do not go together.Its the 7 match odi series which are meaningless.Tests now is even more intresting with test championship. I know that very well. Test cricket is fun to watch. I have watched the first test of the current Ashes myself. What I don't like is some nobody comes and tells that ODIs and T20s are meaningless. These people just don't understand that there are people who enjoy watching ODIs, T20s and IPL too. Just because these oldies were born when nobody knew how to hit a 6 does not mean everybody has to watch that same thing.
adi B Posted November 26, 2013 Posted November 26, 2013 There is a repalacement ready :hysterical::hysterical: