Cricketics Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 chup chepu saala runs to bana nahi pata press mein apna mooh chala raha hai You can't say that crap for Pujara. He's a consistent scorer. He probably had few bad innings, and thats about it. Check other players before commenting on our player. He has the best batting average.
Lord Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 ^ They might draw lots but names of Dhoni and coaches will be missing.they always send random dude to face the heat.maybe Rahane
brendan07 Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 If NZ bat for another 10 odd overs and 2 overs are lost for change in innings it leaves barely 75 overs to bat through. The pitch hasn't deteriorated to such an extent for us to be bowled out but yeah it can always happen. If NZ had put us in to bat tomight for a few overs with around 300 odd to get, I'm certain we would have lost a couple of wkts as we were on the field for more than 2 days. Now it's less than a day to negotiate but it doesn't really matter coz we are losing the series anyway. Whether we lose it 0-1 or 0-2 is immaterial. If you are 1-0 up you don't take that chance. The pitch is fairly flat. You need to bat until you are in a position where you can't lose- so lets say 400 ahead is a good figure. That will be the mark McCullum would want, maybe 375 but it will be close to 400.
Cricketics Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 We are running out of time. Lead already cross 300. And McCullum will take his time to make sure he gets the milestone. They might want to win, but they will make sure they don't give us anything less that 420, because we he knows the pitch is flat and we can chase 400 in 2 sessions. We need early wickets in first 15 overs and then we should chase this thing.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 I hope we don't. A whitewash at the hands of NZ may create some pressure on M$D
Vijy Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Harris gets it up to 145-147kmph' date=' that is pretty quick, that is 90mph. Siddle is much slower, 136-138kmph. Has changed his bowling to be a lot more accurate. You need an outright quick OR a Trent Boult type a genuine swing bowler. At the moment you have 3 meduim fast seam bowlers, there is no variety, and then you make it worse when your spinner is ordinary too. Makes it hard.[/quote'] I don't think Harris' avg speed is that high. I'd still say that his avg speed is about 5 kpmh faster than Siddle. But, the points you make are all valid. We need variety, and we need spinners who can take wickets as opposed to just tying batsmen up (Jaddu, P.Ojha) or rely on pitches for assistance (Ashwin). Although these are early days, Gopal's SR looks very promising.
The Outsider Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Exactly... If we even come close to the winning it... it will do a great deal of good to our morale... Morale hi good ho raha hai for the last two months. When will a win come?
Vijy Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 We are running out of time. Lead already cross 300. And McCullum will take his time to make sure he gets the milestone. They might want to win, but they will make sure they don't give us anything less that 420, because we he knows the pitch is flat and we can chase 400 in 2 sessions. We need early wickets in first 15 overs and then we should chase this thing. Are we watching the same match? Watch Boult and Southee run amok tomorrow.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 We are running out of time. Lead already cross 300. And McCullum will take his time to make sure he gets the milestone. They might want to win' date=' but they will make sure they don't give us anything less that 420, [b']because we he knows the pitch is flat and we can chase 400 in 2 sessions. We need early wickets in first 15 overs and then we should chase this thing. joke of the year so far :nice:
Ultimate_Game Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 If you are 1-0 up you don't take that chance. The pitch is fairly flat. You need to bat until you are in a position where you can't lose- so lets say 400 ahead is a good figure. That will be the mark McCullum would want' date=' maybe 375 but it will be close to 400.[/quote'] Yup can't blame NZ for not declaring. They have nothing to gain and everything to lose. The pitch is flat but not that flat. It's just that our bowlers are so knackered they can't do anything. We did see a few balls take off when we took our 3rd new ball and there was turn for the spinners.
brendan07 Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 I don't think Harris' avg speed is that high. I'd still say that his avg speed is about 5 kpmh faster than Siddle. But' date=' the points you make are all valid. We need variety, and we need spinners who can take wickets as opposed to just tying batsmen up (Jaddu, P.Ojha) or rely on pitches for assistance (Ashwin). Although these are early days, Gopal's SR looks very promising.[/quote'] Harris would average 142-143, that is fast medium. Bowls the odd spell at 145+ though. That is sort of what you need. That is the type Yadav can be, even a bit quicker than Harris. Ideally you need: Left Arm quick Right arm fast med Right/left arm swing Wicketaking spinner That is the ideal attack. Now you won't get all 4, well you rarely do, but you need to try and get 2 or 3 of the 4. I haven't seen Gopal so I'll take your word, have seen the stats though!
Ultimate_Game Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 I hope we don't. A whitewash at the hands of NZ may create some pressure on M Don't be so naive. You are forgetting that Asia Cup, World T20 and the baap of all tamashas (IPL) is round the corner. By the time next Test match rolls around most folks won't even remember whom we played last, forget the series score.
Sachin=GOD Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Don't be so naive. You are forgetting that Asia Cup' date=' World T20 and the baap of all tamashas (IPL) is round the corner. By the time next Test match rolls around most folks won't even remember whom we played last, forget the series score.[/quote'] yeah...I guess you're right. But still I hope we don't win this one - otherwise this one win will be enough to keep M$D in the team for another year at least.
Ultimate_Game Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 yeah...I guess you're right. But still I hope we don't win this one - otherwise this one win will be enough to keep M in the team for another year at least. We won't win this one. Period. Even if NZ declares overnight we are still not getting 325 in a day. The last new ball showed it's not as easy to bat as it looks.
Vijy Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Harris would average 142-143, that is fast medium. Bowls the odd spell at 145+ though. That is sort of what you need. That is the type Yadav can be, even a bit quicker than Harris. Ideally you need: Left Arm quick Right arm fast med Right/left arm swing Wicketaking spinner That is the ideal attack. Now you won't get all 4, well you rarely do, but you need to try and get 2 or 3 of the 4. I haven't seen Gopal so I'll take your word, have seen the stats though! I haven't seen him either. Just speculating based on his SR. He does seem to bowl plenty of s**t though because he's young and learning. If we assume Yadav and Shami fill two, I'd like to see either Pandey or Pankaj get a go for the third post. There aren't any capable lefties around right now. RP Singh may rediscover his mojo in the future, but not now. We need a 5th bowler - an allrounder. Must see if Rishi D can improve his batting. If not, Rassool would be an interesting choice. Had a good season, esp with the bat.
rkt.india Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 ^ Harris is quick' date=' but not an outright quick. He's about 3-4 kmph faster than Siddle. But I agree that we need variety. Need someone like Vaas who might bowl slow but can swing and control the ball at will, an outright pacer who is encouraged to pick up wickets, and someone who can offer something diff - perhaps bounce, reverse swing, etc. And more imp, we need an allrounder because a 4 bowler attack won't work.[/quote'] Harris average speed in this test 87 mph, quickest 94 mph and that is fast. Johnson and Morkel's average speed was 89 and 88 mph, respectively. Steyn is slowest of the four with average 85-86 and quickest 91.
Vijy Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Harris average speed in this test 87 mph' date=' quickest 94 mph and that is fast. Johnson and Morkel's average speed was 89 and 88 mph, respectively. Steyn is slowest of the four with average 85-86 and quickest 91.[/quote'] Hmm. I wasn't expecting that. In the last Ashes test, perhaps because of the long tour, I'd seen Harris bowling somewhat slower. Well, I take back what I said - 94 peak speed is very fast indeed. As for Steyn, the man is on his way to becoming medium fast now - still a fine bowler though.
rkt.india Posted February 17, 2014 Posted February 17, 2014 Hmm. I wasn't expecting that. In the last Ashes test' date=' perhaps because of the long tour, I'd seen Harris bowling somewhat slower. Well, I take back what I said - 94 peak speed is very fast indeed. As for Steyn, the man is on his way to becoming medium fast now - still a fine bowler though.[/quote'] Harris always averages around 85-86 mph and quickest about 90-91 mph. He is never slow. Regarding Steyn, I do no think he was completely fit. He stomach issue on the first day and his right elbow which has troubled in recent past always has something around it.