Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 http://www.cricbuzz.com/cricket-news/61938/pcb-eye-top-dollar-after-thriller Elated after Pakistan's triumph over India in the ongoing Asia Cup, PCB chairman Najam Sethi said the team's continued success would help ensure more bilateral opportunities against the traditional foes and guarantee a steady flow of revenue. Pakistan's thrilling one-wicket win over India in the Asia Cup was significant in many ways after the recent changes in governance and distribution of income in the ICC. "The victory is good for us because it now puts us in a position where we can push the Indian cricket officials to play more often with us and it will also ensure that we get matches against top sides in the new FTP over the next cycle of eight years," he said. Sethi pointed out that after the changes in governance and revenue distribution, the teams that do well at the top level will be the most sought after by other boards and countries. "If our team is doing well, it means a steady flow of revenues for the PCB through broadcasting rights, ICC share and sponsorship and when I met with the players before the India match I told them these very things. "I told them if they continue to do well and improve their rankings and standing then other boards including the Indians will want to play against us and our revenue generation will increase," he said. "I told the players the world takes notice when you win such high profile games like the one against India. I have told the players if the board's income increases the major chunk will be passed on to them in their contracts and in reorganising and strengthening our domestic cricket and players," Sethi added on PTV channel. Sethi said he was very pleased with the way Pakistan had won a tight encounter. "It shows this team has character and I tell you the talent we have we can beat any side in the world. Because no matter how much money a board has unless its team is not doing well and is not a top ranked side," he said. Sethi further said he was keen on seeing Pakistan and India resume regular bilateral ties. "I think after watching the interest generated by this match all over the world there is no doubt that Indo-Pak matches are even bigger than the Ashes." The PCB chief said that even his counterpart in the Indian board, N Srinivasan, had agreed that Indo-Pak matches were a bigger spectacle than the Ashes. "That is why we believe that time is not far way when we will be playing regular bilateral cricket with India." Sethi also said that even India, Australia and England had recognised Pakistan's standing as a cricket nation and had offered them a fourth position in distribution of the ICC event revenues under the new governance system. "I don't think anyone can ever ignore Pakistan cricket because our team today showed it is a top billed side in world cricket. When we meet on the sidelines of the World T20 in Bangladesh next month there will be formal discussions with the Indian board on the state of our ties."
Gollum Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 One fluke win against a rugged side and these clowns have their panties in a twist. These thugs export terror across the border, kill innocent Indians, why would we want to play them?
Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Author Posted March 3, 2014 One fluke win against a rugged side and these clowns have their panties in a twist. These thugs export terror across the border' date=' kill innocent Indians, why would we want to play them?[/quote'] That's what I was thinking as well meanwhile Property tycoon Malik Riaz announced he would give Afridi a residential plot in a newly built housing scheme in Karachi, saying the all-rounder has made the nation proud. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/series-tournament/asia-cup-2014/top-stories/Pakistan-in-frenzied-celebrations-after-beating-India/articleshow/31333465.cms?
Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Author Posted March 3, 2014 ek aad test match khelo yaar Find the Test format between these two very boring.ODI's and T20's are entertaining
NareshK Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Just won one stupid ODI and that too a fluke and they are acting as if they won World Cup. How over the top are these reactions ? Retards.
Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Author Posted March 3, 2014 Just won one stupid ODI and that too a fluke and they are acting as if they won World Cup. How over the top are these reactions ? Retards. Their players take the contest against us too seriously while we take it as just another game.
Roshanrocks Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 SO India wasnt playing Pakistan because we thought they were a poor team? Thats new to me :hmmm: ANd I thought it was the terrorism...
thecricketer Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Two slog sixes and Afridi won it by fluke. It could have gone any where! No cricket with Pakis. Never forget 26/11
Cricket_Hacker Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Sa vs Pak is. Most interesting..steyn va hafeez
rahulrulezz Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 He has a point... Well played Pakistan... Played like tigers!!
Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Author Posted March 3, 2014 Massive overreaction' date='this is a joke[/quote'] They are hailing Afridi as a hero and for some of them its like winning the World Cup :cantstop:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 What is Sethi smoking?Srini doesnt give a damn about what is happening on the pitch.
SLICKR392 Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Against a half cooked Indian side. Going OTT with an Asia Cup group stage win. Lol
Switchblade Posted March 3, 2014 Author Posted March 3, 2014 Pakistan lauded by former players after thrilling win over India http://indianexpress.com/article/sports/cricket/pakistan-lauded-by-former-players-after-thrilling-win-over-india/99/ Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan led the chorus of appreciation for the Pakistan team after its stunning one-wicket win over India in the Asia Cup, showering special praise on senior all-rounder Shahid Afridi for his electrifying cameo. “Afridi fulfilled his responsibilities as a senior player and I am happy to see him playing so well under lot of pressure,” Imran said. Pakistan’s former fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar said while Pakistan had secured a great win but one must remain realistic at all times. “I am happy that Pakistan won but I think it was not our batting but our bowling that won us the match as they restricted India to a reasonable total on a good batting track,” he said. He pointed out that India badly missed the services of Mahendra Singh Dhoni as captain and batsman and that Virat Kohli had made some mistakes as captain. “He should have kept at least two overs for Shami knowing the way Pakistan’s batting collapses at times,” he added. Pakistan’s former captain, Muhammad Yousuf said Indian batsman appeared a bit over-confident when they batted first. “I don’t know but I got this feeling they were over confident and tried to play too many strokes and they paid the price. On this pitch India fell short by at least 60 to 70 runs,” he said. Yousuf praised the Pakistani bowlers for putting in a good effort on a batting track. “The bowlers provided the impetus for the win.” Asked about Afridi’s match winning innings, Yousuf said the all-rounder can win and lose matches for both sides. “Today he won the match for Pakistan.” Pakistan’s designated chief selector, Rashid Latif felt that India made a mistake by not selecting Yuvraj Singh for the Asia Cup particularly when Dhoni was not available and Suresh Raina had been sidelined. “I don’t know why Yuvraj was not selected because he remains a limited overs player and today India missed his aggressive attitude and all round ability. I think his experience would have helped against the Pakistani spinners.” Latif also felt that Kohli was a quality player but needed to curb his aggression to be successful as captain on the international front. Pakistan’s former batsman and former head coach Mohsin Khan said Afridi had shown why it was necessary to retain faith in senior players like him. “I think everyone contributed in the win but the way Afridi handled the pressure in the final over, that was the winning moment for Pakistan. He kept his nerves and won the match for Pakistan.” Mohsin, who has also remained chief selector, pointed out that Pakistan should have won this match more comfortably after restricting India to a gettable total. “But that is the way this team plays it makes things difficult for itself.” Pakistan’s banned fast bowler, Muhammad Aamir said that Pakistan had won a great match after a long time. “Afridi showed his value to the team and he remains a big asset for us.” As soon as the match ended there were wild celebrations in every part of the country with youngsters waving Pakistan flags and banners and riding atop cars in the eastern city of Lahore where the match was followed with huge interest. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I feel we have trolled them with Afridi
veer Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Arre ppl releax... when we win, we over react.. and when they win, they do the same.. Chill karo.. business will be usual pretty soon.
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 can you imagine DHoni hitting 2 sixes like this on the last wicket against Ajmal. even if it was Pepsi cup. there celebrations and reactions are justified.
Yoda-esque Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 can you imagine DHoni hitting 2 sixes like this on the last wicket against Ajmal. even if it was Pepsi cup. there celebrations and reactions are justified. Not talking about the celebrations but what Sethi said
Tailender Posted March 3, 2014 Posted March 3, 2014 Their players take the contest against us too seriously while we take it as just another game. :hysterical: yeah i've seen kohli celebrate and cry like that against the lungans...