bulbul Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 s many as 10 crore LPG consumers have joined the ambitious scheme of getting cash subsidy in bank accounts to buy market priced cooking fuel, making it the world's largest direct benefit transfer and helping end black marketing. Congratulating the beneficiaries and officials for the task achieved in just over two months, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said the scheme will "bring an end to black-marketeering and subsidy will reach people more effectively. Its role in nation-building is important". "(It) gives me great joy to know that over 10 crore citizens have been registered as a part of the PAHAL Yojana. A momentous accomplishment," he tweeted. http://ibnlive.in.com/news/direct-benefit-transfer-for-lpg-worlds-largest-direct-benefit-transfer-scheme/526747-7.html
Khalpat Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 Mr Modi has a new bhakth. Arnold Schwarzenegger gives thumbs up to PM Narendra Modi, says Gujarat is California of India Read more at: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/46132808.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst
FischerTal Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 Mr Modi has a new bhakth. Arnold Schwarzenegger gives thumbs up to PM Narendra Modi, says Gujarat is California of India Read more at: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/articleshow/46132808.cms?utm_source=contentofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst i just came back from gujarat. this is certainly false
Tiger80 Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 http://ibnlive.in.com/news/direct-benefit-transfer-for-lpg-worlds-largest-direct-benefit-transfer-scheme/526747-7.html What to congratulate?Gas agencies are threatening people that they will not give subsidised cylinders .I have personally received that either register or this will be last cylinder
bulbul Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 What to congratulate?Gas agencies are threatening people that they will not give subsidised cylinders .I have personally received that either register or this will be last cylinder What is the problem in registering?if u dont want subsidy opt out.
Tiger80 Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 What is the problem in registering?if u dont want subsidy opt out. I don't have problem but so far I was unable to visit distribuitor and connection was in my father's name who is expired .What I want clear from govt is whether this is voluntary or forced .If subsidy should now only be in direct transfor then please directly tell it to people
randomGuy Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 How is that relevant for anyone to research? The relevant factors are: 1. Fertility rate per woman. 2. Sex ratio in the 20-40 age group. 3. Rate of change in the above two factors. Muslims are 15% Hindus are 80% Muslims grew by 24% , Hindus grew by 14.5% from 2001-2011 Indias average death rate from 2001-2011 = ~8.2 per 1000 people. For 10 years = 82 per 1000 = 8.2% Add 8.2% to the growth rates to get the effective growth rate (kids between 0-10 age group) Muslims = 24 + 8.2 = 32.4% Hindus = 14.5+8.2=22.7% Muslims in age group 0-10 years = 15*32.4 = 4.86% Hindus in age group 0-10 years = 80*22.7 = 18.2% Ratio = 4.86:18.16 = 26.6:100 You can be rest assured that Muslims will be atleast 25% in coming years. My guess is we would be very very lucky if they stabilize at only 25%.
bulbul Posted February 5, 2015 Posted February 5, 2015 I don't have problem but so far I was unable to visit distribuitor and connection was in my father's name who is expired .What I want clear from govt is whether this is voluntary or forced .If subsidy should now only be in direct transfor then please directly tell it to people Sorry for your lose. I guess advertisement is given regarding DBT some time back & distributors have deadlines to meet.More than 60% consumers now covered so adequate publicity is done i guess.
BeautifulGame Posted February 6, 2015 Posted February 6, 2015 I don't have problem but so far I was unable to visit distribuitor and connection was in my father's name who is expired .What I want clear from govt is whether this is voluntary or forced .If subsidy should now only be in direct transfor then please directly tell it to people It is compulsory to receive subsidy. I think that was in the directive as well . Only difference to when Congress implemented was Aadhar not mandatory This is a very good scheme IMO will stop the back market selling of subsidy LPGs by Gas agencies & vendors
seedhi Posted February 6, 2015 Posted February 6, 2015 Please first point out where I claimed that sex ratio impacts the fertility rate. I've provided references for your question already.You first claimed that sex ratio difference amongst Hindus and Muslims is a significant factor in difference in population growth rates. Further, you said that this can be seen by a simple mathematical calculation. You have not provided any proof for your claim. Please provide proof of this claim. Looking at your replies, yes you did not claim sex ratio affects fertility rate. But you claimed that it is a significant factor in difference in growth rates of Hindus and Muslims. Again, please provide the proof for this.
The Outsider Posted February 7, 2015 Posted February 7, 2015 You first claimed that sex ratio difference amongst Hindus and Muslims is a significant factor in difference in population growth rates. Further' date=' you said that this can be seen by a simple mathematical calculation. You have not provided any proof for your claim. Please provide proof of this claim. Looking at your replies, yes you did not claim sex ratio affects fertility rate. But you claimed that it is a significant factor in difference in growth rates of Hindus and Muslims. Again, please provide the proof for this.[/quote'] I've provided references, data, and methodology. I'll explain a bit to help you: 1. The base population of Muslims is available. 2. The fertility rate of an average Muslim is available. 3. The Sex ratio in the 20-40 years old group is not available off the shelf but can be approximated. 4. The rate of decline in the fertility rate for Muslims is available. Give it a try, it's not difficult at all. PS: Did you lie when saying I said sex ratio affects fertility rate?
seedhi Posted February 7, 2015 Posted February 7, 2015 I've provided references, data, and methodology. I'll explain a bit to help you: 1. The base population of Muslims is available. 2. The fertility rate of an average Muslim is available. 3. The Sex ratio in the 20-40 years old group is not available off the shelf but can be approximated. 4. The rate of decline in the fertility rate for Muslims is available. Give it a try, it's not difficult at all.What is this approximation that you are using? From the census 2001 data the overall sex ratio (per 1000 males) for Muslims is 936 vs 931 for Hindus. Are you using the same figure for the 20-40 age group? If we do so, the difference between sex ratios is around 0.5%. A rough calculation shows that if Hindus had the same sex ratio as Muslims, all other things remaining the same their population growth rate would increase by a factor of 0.5%. Thus, instead of 14.5% decadal growth (2001-11), Hindus would have 14.5% X(1.005) = 14.5725%. This is a miniscule change, and almost nothing compared to the chasm with the Muslim decadal growth rate which stands at 24%. PS: Did you lie when saying I said sex ratio affects fertility rate?No, misconstrued post #1491. From my viewpoint TFR is the driving factor behind population growth rate in India, so I thought you were implying that sex ratio affects it somehow.
bulbul Posted February 7, 2015 Posted February 7, 2015 Indian Railways on Thursday signed its first ever bilateral Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) with an electricty producer. This was yet another step implemented by the rail ministry to address the core of the transporter’s financial woes – rising energy bills. Railways has a network spanning over 65,000 route km. Electric traction supports 63% of Indian Railways’ freight operations and 50% of passenger services. Railways is the biggest consumer of the electricity, consuming about 18 billion units per year, roughly 2% of the country’s total power generation, with peak requirement of about 4000 MW. The transporter is currently required to buy power from state distribution utilities or discoms at a cost that vries widely between Rs 4 per unit and Rs 9 per unit. The average cost last fiscal was Rs 6.45 a unit. Under the changed power purchase regime, railways’ average cost of buying power will come down as it will be able to source power from power suplus states that offers lower per unit rates. http://www.business-standard.com/article/economy-policy/indian-railways-inks-first-bilateral-ppa-to-cut-energy-costs-115020700481_1.html
Yoda-esque Posted February 8, 2015 Posted February 8, 2015 Assi Ghat pic today (apparently) https://twitter.com/Saaziailmi/status/564449703069110272
Desi Cartman Posted February 8, 2015 Posted February 8, 2015 Nice. Let the man rule for a few years. He came with a good agenda and as long as he delivers, people will keep voting him back. This makes me VERY happy
Yoda-esque Posted February 8, 2015 Posted February 8, 2015 Nice. Let the man rule for a few years. He came with a good agenda and as long as he delivers' date=' people will keep voting him back. This makes me VERY happy[/quote'] Like they voted for him in SJbad :P
asterix Posted February 8, 2015 Posted February 8, 2015 Nice. Let the man rule for a few years. He came with a good agenda and as long as he delivers' date=' people will keep voting him back. This makes me VERY happy[/quote'] Yes, allow him to keep warm the PM seat for few years... for Kejriwal... :giggle:
Texan Posted February 8, 2015 Posted February 8, 2015 BTW whats KJ done for Varanasi? He is giving them free water and half price electricity. ...... They just have to move to Delhi :two_thumbs_up:
diga Posted February 9, 2015 Posted February 9, 2015 India to have current account surplus this quarter: HSBC ...thanks mainly to crude oil although I would say Jaitley has been better than expected as the FM