Old guy Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 control comes when he get his action and wrist position right. He used fall to left' date=' left shoulder falling to early. It still happens sometimes. He needs to stay away from,making changes and try to repeat the same action again again which makes things fall in place for him.[/quote'] Ok
Bleed-Blue Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Ishant Sharma produced his career-best figures of 7-74 to help India win the Lord's Test. Speaking on his ward’s performance that has seen an upward swing since the South Africa tour last year, Ishant's childhood coach Shravan Kumar blamed former Indian bowling coach Venkatesh Prasad's tactics for the fast bowler’s slump in form. "Ishant is a quick bowler whom Prasad insisted on turning into a line and length bowler. He lost his natural affinity for speed at one point of time. One thing led to other and his action became flawed. The shoulder started dropping and the wrist position also suffered. This caused a drop in pace as well as confidence," said the coach. On his advice to Ishant for the long tour of England: "I told him to look at his wrist position which should be very straight. He was also becoming a bit open-chested on his final delivery stride which needed to go back to the old-fashioned side on action in order to generate speed. "These are little things I told him and I believe that Joe Dawes has done a lot of good work with Ishant after the low he hit with Prasad as the coach," Sharvan pointed out. Dawes was appointed as the bowling coach after the 2011/12 tour of Australia. He also revealed that Ishant wanted to excel in all formats of the game. "There are times when he feels bad about not being picked for one dayers but I tell him to look at the positive side that he is India's spearhead in Test matches. "Also the snub that he got in this year's IPL where Sunrisers Hyderabad didn't play him in most of the matches spurred him to do well. He is an India bowler and he should feel the urge to show people how good he is when he is ignored," the man who fine tuned Ishant Sharma in his teens at the Ramjas College ground at Patel Nagar, Delhi stated. The right-arm pacer played just three matches for his IPL franchise last season. The 25-year-old seamer has captured 30 wickets in his last 6 Test matches starting from the Johannesburg Test against South Africa last December. The Delhi lad now has three fivers in his last four Tests compared to three in 53 before. "You can't deny that consistency has been a big problem for Ishant. Hopefully, this will be the series that will make him a better bowler. He got a flak for his inconsistency and it was justified. Or else, he wouldn't have been able to correct his flaws and come back stronger," the coach mentioned the positive side of criticism he has faced for not living up the promise he shown in his first two years in international cricket. "When he is bowling between 135-140 kmph, he does a good job. Hitting the right length at that speed will be rewarding for him on all kinds of surfaces. Also in England, he has not drifted too often spraying the ball all over. Again, it is all about correction of action. He will only get better,” he added on his bowling speed. Maybe it something to be excited about afterall!!
Muloghonto Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Stop hyping Ishant or hating him and realize what he is: he is a decent bowler who can thrive in a third seamer role, which is where his success has come mostly. He does well when there is little pressure on him to lead the attack and bowlers around him bowl decent enough to let him operate freely too. he will have his good days, he will have his bad days but Ishant is not the bowler who will be a Dale Steyn + 3 guys or Bond + 3 guys/Asif + 3 guys type of deal, he is someone who is going to do his part and work well within a unit. This is the first time in a long while India has a near-complete bowling attack. A genuine swing bowler who can move the ball both ways lots at medium pace, a fast-ish skiddy bowler and a tall fast medium hit the deck hard kind of bowler. backed up by a spinner who can keep things tight. Within this setup, Ishant will thrive and India have not found their spearhead, India has found its reliable workhorse who can be a good member of the bowlng unit. And for that, we should be thankful.
rahulrulezz Posted July 22, 2014 Posted July 22, 2014 Stop hyping Ishant or hating him and realize what he is: he is a decent bowler who can thrive in a third seamer role, which is where his success has come mostly. He does well when there is little pressure on him to lead the attack and bowlers around him bowl decent enough to let him operate freely too. he will have his good days, he will have his bad days but Ishant is not the bowler who will be a Dale Steyn + 3 guys or Bond + 3 guys/Asif + 3 guys type of deal, he is someone who is going to do his part and work well within a unit. This is the first time in a long while India has a near-complete bowling attack. A genuine swing bowler who can move the ball both ways lots at medium pace, a fast-ish skiddy bowler and a tall fast medium hit the deck hard kind of bowler. backed up by a spinner who can keep things tight. Within this setup, Ishant will thrive and India have not found their spearhead, India has found its reliable workhorse who can be a good member of the bowlng unit. And for that, we should be thankful. Wtf!! We are a population of 1.3 billion and only play one sport. And in that one sport, we only play 3 pacers. And you are saying we shud be thankful that rubbish bowler like ISharma is playing for us. Even Ganguly had good days as a bowler. If you are saying that we shud be thankful that ISharma is playing for India, no wonder why it took us more than 3 years to win one overseas test match. Btw IShant played in all the green pitches of our winless spree on green tracks like England, NZlanf, RSA and Australia.
Desi Cartman Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Ishant -- Temporary form or something to be excited about?? Stop hyping Ishant or hating him and realize what he is: he is a decent bowler who can thrive in a third seamer role, which is where his success has come mostly. He does well when there is little pressure on him to lead the attack and bowlers around him bowl decent enough to let him operate freely too. he will have his good days, he will have his bad days but Ishant is not the bowler who will be a Dale Steyn + 3 guys or Bond + 3 guys/Asif + 3 guys type of deal, he is someone who is going to do his part and work well within a unit. This is the first time in a long while India has a near-complete bowling attack. A genuine swing bowler who can move the ball both ways lots at medium pace, a fast-ish skiddy bowler and a tall fast medium hit the deck hard kind of bowler. backed up by a spinner who can keep things tight. Within this setup, Ishant will thrive and India have not found their spearhead, India has found its reliable workhorse who can be a good member of the bowlng unit. And for that, we should be thankful. The point is that a bowler after so many years of experience is supposed to improve his own performance and also learn to fit in different roles (new ball, old ball, pressure situation etc) and also lead after a few years. What you are saying is that after so many years he is someone who has limited abilities and has a place in the side. I don't agree with this theory as I expect players to get certain opportunities but if they remain limited then they get dropped. It's very obvious for batsmen but sometimes bowlers like I sharma slip under the radar.
Muloghonto Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 The point is that a bowler after so many years of experience is supposed to improve his own performance and also learn to fit in different roles (new ball, old ball, pressure situation etc) and also lead after a few years. What you are saying is that after so many years he is someone who has limited abilities and has a place in the side. I don't agree with this theory as I expect players to get certain opportunities but if they remain limited then they get dropped. It's very obvious for batsmen but sometimes bowlers like I sharma slip under the radar. Limited bowlers and batsmen play all the time due to lack,of options. ishant satisfies a certain role. He is fit, he can extract bounce and can be a stock bowler. Thus, he stays. Sent from my GT-S5830D using Tapatalk 2
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Limited bowlers and batsmen play all the time due to lack,of options. ishant satisfies a certain role. He is fit, he can extract bounce and can be a stock bowler. Thus, he stays. Sent from my GT-S5830D using Tapatalk 2 Ishant is not a limited bowler by any stretch of imagination.He has everything a fast bowler needs. Have u forgotten the 2008 series against aus in india .Please watch it and you will find when he gets his inswinger right .He is one of the hardest bowler to face.The Mos against aus was one of the best fast bowling performance on sc tracks.He was persisted due to his talent .
Old guy Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 on topic i think his childhood coach said that he worked on wrist position so its not fluke ..not saying it would last but improvement is because of effort and not just things clicking
Fontaine Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Ishant is not a limited bowler by any stretch of imagination.He has everything a fast bowler needs. Have u forgotten the 2008 series against aus in india .Please watch it and you will find when he gets his inswinger right .He is one of the hardest bowler to face.The Mos against aus was one of the best fast bowling performance on sc tracks.He was persisted due to his talent . You have the same problem plenty of other casual observers of fast bowling have. It's pretty obvious when you call it an "inswinger." :hysterical: You see a bowler do very well in one series and then expect him to become a great one in a few years time. The fact is most young bowlers who start off well never really make it or even if they do it's not like they go onto be great bowlers with just experience.
maniac Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 You have the same problem plenty of other casual observers of fast bowling have. You see a bowler do very well in one series and then expect him to become a great one in a few years time. The fact is most young bowlers who start off well never really make it or even if they do it's not like they go onto be great bowlers with just experience. Ishant has done well in more than 1 series.....his talent was there to be seen....infact he sucked when our bowling collectively sucked May be a little more than the others. When he was good he was head and shoulders above others. The fact that he has potential to turn things around has been proven time and time again.....also the fact that he is one of the fittest members in the side is heartening for an indian fast bowler,given the other flatter to deceive kind we have had in r.p,sree,Munaf,Pathan etc.....even zak was pretty poor fitness wise.
rkt.india Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 You have the same problem plenty of other casual observers of fast bowling have. It's pretty obvious when you call it an "inswinger." :hysterical: You see a bowler do very well in one series and then expect him to become a great one in a few years time. The fact is most young bowlers who start off well never really make it or even if they do it's not like they go onto be great bowlers with just experience. Ishant could have been much better than where he is now, but he destroyed himself with too many changes in his bowling approach. As some one pointed out above. After 34 tests, he had 111 wickets at an average of 31 and instead of getting better after that, he went down because of his own fault. He could only take 63 wickets in 27 tests after that and out of those 63 wickets, 25 are picked in last 4 tests, so basically 38 wickets in 23 tests. It shows how miserable he was in that period. and it is not also not like has only done well in one series. He was big factor in India winning a lot of matches even at home in 2008-2010 period when Kumble had retired and Bhajji was averaging 40 even at home. He had bowled multiple match winning spells against SA, NZ, and Aus in that period of time at home. His MOS in WI in 2011 is still one of the best performance by any Indian fast bowlers I have ever seen in a series in last 15 years.
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 You have the same problem plenty of other casual observers of fast bowling have. It's pretty obvious when you call it an "inswinger." :hysterical: You see a bowler do very well in one series and then expect him to become a great one in a few years time. The fact is most young bowlers who start off well never really make it or even if they do it's not like they go onto be great bowlers with just experience. So what hardcore fanatics call an inswinger :giggle:.He started out with terrible seam position against pakistan used to be wide off the crease which created an angle.If i remember correctly he played some fc matches in aus was not impressive then he got a break in sydney test we saw a massive improvement in his seam position and action .His pace was still 135ks but u could see the zip he got.I remember commentators pointing out he used to kock his wrist well so he got zip off the track .In adelaide test first time i saw him clock 145ks and used the reverse swing well .He improved in cb series and then sa test series,srilanka. If u even saw the india australia series on docile tracks against a top class side his performance were outstanding .Name few young fast bowlers who had such impact on docile tracks against a good batting lineup.His problems Started when he himself has tried to copy zak to get the outswinger as his wrist used to fall and he used to bowl many wides to leg side during the nz tour.Under eric simmons he sorted his wrist but he never got that zip or swing . The line he bowled to right handers was unplayable as he got Inswing in the air then movement off the seam too,one could just straighten of the seam which caused huge confusion in minds of batsman be it kallis,jaya,ponting. Regarding his length it was fuller when started as he swung the ball in the air but even at 150ks in aus in 2012 he got no swing so he had to revert back to being defensive and bowl back of length.
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Ishant could have been much better than where he is now, but he destroyed himself with too many changes in his bowling approach. As some one pointed out above. After 34 tests, he had 111 wickets at an average of 31 and instead of getting better after that, he went down because of his own fault. He could only take 63 wickets in 27 tests after that and out of those 63 wickets, 25 are picked in last 4 tests, so basically 38 wickets in 23 tests. It shows how miserable he was in that period. and it is not also not like has only done well in one series. He was big factor in India winning a lot of matches even at home in 2008-2010 period when Kumble had retired and Bhajji was averaging 40 even at home. He had bowled multiple match winning spells against SA, NZ, and Aus in that period of time at home. His MOS in WI in 2011 is still one of the best performance by any Indian fast bowlers I have ever seen in a series in last 15 years. If u rememeber the wides down the legside he bowled and the loose grip wrist action aided inswing and now look at his wrist he holds it tightly .do u think is it the reason for losing of zip he got .
rkt.india Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 If u rememeber the wides down the legside he bowled and the loose grip wrist action aided inswing and now look at his wrist he holds it tightly .do u think is it the reason for losing of zip he got . it leads to loss of swing, tight grip means hitting the deck, lose grip to swing the ball.
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 it leads to loss of swing' date=' tight grip means hitting the deck, lose grip to swing the ball.[/quote'] Yup.
Old guy Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 Yup. didnt he had tight grip at start of career ? i remember all his wides down the leg side looked terrible and hand was at side of ball rather than behind
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 didnt he had tight grip at start of career ? i remember all his wides down the leg side looked terrible and hand was at side of ball rather than behind he had loose grip at the start which aided swing and got him zip but led to loss of control and wides down leg side which hampered him in odis and t20s may be he tried to change his wrist action due to that.During nz tour i also noticed his hand at side of the ball after that he changed his action.
Old guy Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 he had loose grip at the start which aided swing but led to loss of control ' date='so all the wide down the leg side which hampered him in odis and t20s may be he tried to change his wrist action due to that.[/quote'] hmm all i remember is in australia his wrist was behind the ball properly but after some time he would jsut push the ball towards leg side and wrist would look like he is bowling leg spin from behind the bowler's camera angle
CG Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 hmm all i remember is in australia his wrist was behind the ball properly but after some time he would jsut push the ball towards leg side and wrist would look like he is bowling leg spin from behind the bowler's camera angle yes his wrist position got worst in nz tour.his wirst used to slide i remember all those wides.after that he changed his action.
Old guy Posted July 23, 2014 Posted July 23, 2014 yes his worst position got worst in nz tour.his wirst used to slide i remember all those wides.after that he changed his action. it kept happening until last year when he was dropped :cantstop: finally i see improvement and then i read its deliberate so it gives me some hope as now even on bad days he is not going for those 5 rpo shot and wide spells