Crookbond Posted August 1, 2014 Posted August 1, 2014 The inside story on how Sachin Tendulkar got the Bharat Ratna instead of Dhyan Chand http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report-the-inside-story-on-how-sachin-tendulkar-got-the-bharat-ratna-instead-of-dhyan-chand-2007000? TL;DR - Rahul Gandhi
asterix Posted August 1, 2014 Posted August 1, 2014 As I mentioned earlier... Congress wanted to cash in the popularity of Sachin and the Goodwill gesture to confer him the BR... Public saw through the game plan though...
Sachin=GOD Posted August 1, 2014 Posted August 1, 2014 As I mentioned earlier... Congress wanted to cash in the popularity of Sachin and the Goodwill gesture to confer him the BR... Public saw through the game plan though... I think you are seeing way too much of conspiracy in everything that happens/happened in India. You, and many others, said that when he was nominated as Rajya Sabha MP he would be asked to campaign for Cong or Cong would use somehow use him to get votes - didn't happen. You, and some others, said that the Bharat Ratna was given to him to get votes - he got that in Nov and elections happened in March/April - I doubt if even his own family voted for Cong because of the Bharat Ratna.
Texan Posted August 1, 2014 Posted August 1, 2014 Sachin is being given the Ratna not just for sporting excellence and numbers. It is because he as a sportsperson inspired the greatest number of people in this country, was and still is a great role model, influenced a lot of youth and also many of the present team were inspired into cricket because of him. You have just seen the negative side of his fans through social media, but he has been a very good role model for many youth. None of the others you have named have come anywhere close to this except Dhyanchand So, you are saying that Gavaskar did not inspire other batsmen? If not for Gavaskar, we probably would not have the confidence to play fast bowlers in tough conditions. You also don't think Kapil inspired younger people to take up fast bowling? Before Kapil, fast bowling was thought to be an alien skill in India and spin bowling was the only option. And you are saying that Vishwanathan Anand, former World Chess champion and the only Indian of repute in Chess isn't inspiring anyone? You are seeing the world with an extremely myopic view in which your demi-God prevails over all other eminent personalities. And when you say that Dhyanchand came close to SRT, that is an understatement of epic proportions. The achievements of SRT pale in comparison to Dhyanchand. The fact that India was still dominating field hockey for the next two decades after Dhyanchand retired should be sufficient evidence that he inspired many young people in those days. It is how you shape the nation and are a voice and representative of it. This has to be your biggest joke of the day! You really think Sachin has a voice? Despite being regarded as almost a demi-God in the country, has he ever spoken out about any social issue? What is he doing in Parliament? Has he ever talked about any real issues affecting the country?
Yoda-esque Posted August 1, 2014 Posted August 1, 2014 Sachin always played it safe during his career,no reason to think why he wouldn't so now
Texan Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Sachin is being given the Ratna not just for sporting excellence and numbers. It is because he as a sportsperson inspired the greatest number of people in this country' date=' was and still is a great role model, influenced a lot of youth and also many of the present team were inspired into cricket because of him. You have just seen the negative side of his fans through social media, but he [b']has been a very good role model for many youth. None of the others you have named have come anywhere close to this except Dhyanchand Once again, a Bharat Ratna is not just for excellence in one field. It is how you shape the nation and are a voice and representative of it. Sachin has been one of the biggest icon and ambassadors both at home and internationally for India and also has been the symbol of a generation for a very long time Mr. Role Model / Voice & representative of nation / First sports-person to win Bharat Ratna (requiring amendment of eligibility criteria): Errr......... Why is your attendance in Parliament in this session only 5%? Former Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar’s poor attendance at the Upper House of the Parliament has drawn criticism from other member of Parliaments on Monday. Tendulkar and Bollywood actress Rekha’s poor attendance was strongly pointed out by former Indian Premier League’s (IPL) chief and Congress spokesperson Rajiv Shukla. Rajiv Shukla was quoted as saying by Times Now, “Why have you chosen to become a member of Parliament if you don’t attend?†“I have spoken to Sachin last week that he should come, and he has promised. I hope both Sachin and Rekha will come. Sachin has said that he will come also next session,†Shukla added. Tendulkar has five per cent attendance this session and has been criticised for being present at various other events during the Parliamentary session. Tendulkar was present at Wimbledon, Pro Kabaddi inaugural match over the last two months and this has come under serious criticism from many MPs. http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/sachin-tendulkars-poor-attendance-in-rajya-sabha-criticised-by-rajiv-shukla-167142
Mariyam Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 The fact that Dhyan Chand played in the British era isn't his fault. We don't categorize Indians from the British Era as non-Indians. For example- CV Raman won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1930 during the British Rule. He was still conferred the Bharat Ratna in 1954. There is no doubt on CV Raman's "Indian association". Also, all this point about Bharat Ratna being for "India" is a bit OTT given that Nelson Mandela , Mother Teresa and Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan. The Dhyan Chand legacy was that India were one the best (if not the best team) in hockey till the late 70s (until hockey was shifted to Astro Turf). He should have been awarded the Bharat Ratna back then itself. In another 100 years, if cricket were to be "relegated to a footnote" it wouldn't mean that Tendulkar's Bharat Ratna was useless. Oh, DM I am not categorizing Dhyan Chand as a non Indian. The original citation to the Bharat Ratna mentioned something to the tune of " ... for exemplary service to India and her people... " Dhyan Chand definitely doesn't meet this parameter. Hockey itself is a minor sport. Most Indians (myself included) may not be able to name 5 Indian hockey players. The global appeal of Hockey is very limited. I am sure there would be some kabbadi/carrom player who would have similar achievements as Dhyan Chand in his/her respective sport. Will he/she too deserve a Bharat Ratna? Why not V Anand? His success is in a much more competitive (non) sport. You mention Mother Teresa and Khan Abdul Gafar Khan. They've left a tangible imprint on the Indian (or wider Indian) society and polity. Nelson Mandela too, arguably, has inspired many a social cause world wide, including India. When you include sports excellence for the Bharat Ratna, there has to be some kind of benchmark with respect to the popularity of the game. Sachin's long term contribution to Indian society may not be huge, but his influence is. And there is a discernible difference between the two. With Dhyan Chand, there isn't much of a contribution or an influence.
Mariyam Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Technically' date=' neither has Sachin represented India. He has represented the BCCI, a private body.[/quote'] The private body represents India. I don't see the parallel though. Dhyan Chand played in a team that was not representing India. It was representing the British in India. As a hypothetical analogy, if there were an Indian soldier in the British Indian army who fought in the second world war and was a war hero of sorts, would you consider him for the Bharat Ratna?
coffee_rules Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 The private body represents India. I don't see the parallel though. Dhyan Chand played in a team that was not representing India. It was representing the British in India. As a hypothetical analogy, if there were an Indian soldier in the British Indian army who fought in the second world war and was a war hero of sorts, would you consider him for the Bharat Ratna? BCCI doesn't represent anything remotely associated with "India", the country or the GOI. It is an autonomous governing body of a nation recognized by ICC as part of it's members. The players represent the member organizations only and not the country. Even the Supreme Court of India agrees with this.
CSK Fan Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Mr. Role Model / Voice & representative of nation / First sports-person to win Bharat Ratna (requiring amendment of eligibility criteria): Errr......... Why is your attendance in Parliament in this session only 5%? http://www.cricketcountry.com/news/sachin-tendulkars-poor-attendance-in-rajya-sabha-criticised-by-rajiv-shukla-167142 I dont see what this has to do with the former though. I can also bring up a list of charities he hosts and runs in India. But he was not awarded because of those charities just like his Rajya Sabha stint has nothing to do with his being a role model as a sportsperson
CSK Fan Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 So, you are saying that Gavaskar did not inspire other batsmen? If not for Gavaskar, we probably would not have the confidence to play fast bowlers in tough conditions. You also don't think Kapil inspired younger people to take up fast bowling? Before Kapil, fast bowling was thought to be an alien skill in India and spin bowling was the only option. And you are saying that Vishwanathan Anand, former World Chess champion and the only Indian of repute in Chess isn't inspiring anyone? You are seeing the world with an extremely myopic view in which your demi-God prevails over all other eminent personalities. Sachin's sphere of influence and sheer numbers go way, way beyond all you mentioned. How many Indians even understand chess? Now who is being myopic here? This has to be your biggest joke of the day! You really think Sachin has a voice? Despite being regarded as almost a demi-God in the country' date=' has he ever spoken out about any social issue? What is he doing in Parliament? Has he ever talked about any real issues affecting the country?[/quote'] Sachin's job was to be a sports role model. He is not a politician or an activist or a great speaker. He doesn't need to do that because he is incapable of that. He excelled in what he could do and left what he couldn't alone BTW, Sachin has himself done and still does a lot and lot of charity work, including being on the board of directors of one of the biggest charity organization in India, adopting 200 poor children and taking care of their education, building toilets for girls, etc. Guess action speaks louder than words sometimes
Crookbond Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Oh' date=' DM I am [i']not categorizing Dhyan Chand as a non Indian. The original citation to the Bharat Ratna mentioned something to the tune of " ... for exemplary service to India and her people... " Dhyan Chand definitely doesn't meet this parameter. Hockey itself is a minor sport. Most Indians (myself included) may not be able to name 5 Indian hockey players. The global appeal of Hockey is very limited. I am sure there would be some kabbadi/carrom player who would have similar achievements as Dhyan Chand in his/her respective sport. Will he/she too deserve a Bharat Ratna? Why not V Anand? His success is in a much more competitive (non) sport. You mention Mother Teresa and Khan Abdul Gafar Khan. They've left a tangible imprint on the Indian (or wider Indian) society and polity. Nelson Mandela too, arguably, has inspired many a social cause world wide, including India. When you include sports excellence for the Bharat Ratna, there has to be some kind of benchmark with respect to the popularity of the game. Sachin's long term contribution to Indian society may not be huge, but his influence is. And there is a discernible difference between the two. With Dhyan Chand, there isn't much of a contribution or an influence. You first talked about Dhyan Chand "not playing for India" - hence my comment on "Indian". You then talked about "Indian impact" - Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan and Mandela have none.Most people may not be able to list down 5 things down by Nelson Mandela either - doesn't make him less deserving of the "Bharat Ratna". Now, lets go to your second line of argument - Dhyan Chand doesn't have much of a contribution or influence. He does, you just need to read up on it a bit more. Also, I have pointed out that hockey is NOT popular now but it was the #1 sport in India during Dhyan Chand days. It was a great disservice that we didn't give him one then, it's time to right the wrong by posthumously honoring him with the award.
asterix Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Agree with DM on this... Hockey was very popular at one time in India... It's not Dhyan Chand's fault if the newer generations have ditched the sport...
Texan Posted August 6, 2014 Posted August 6, 2014 Sachin's sphere of influence and sheer numbers go way, way beyond all you mentioned. How many Indians even understand chess? Now who is being myopic here? Sachin's job was to be a sports role model. He is not a politician or an activist or a great speaker. He doesn't need to do that because he is incapable of that. He excelled in what he could do and left what he couldn't alone BTW, Sachin has himself done and still does a lot and lot of charity work, including being on the board of directors of one of the biggest charity organization in India, adopting 200 poor children and taking care of their education, building toilets for girls, etc. Guess action speaks louder than words sometimes Now you are shifting the goal post. In your prior post you said: Once again, a Bharat Ratna is not just for excellence in one field. It is how you shape the nation and are a voice and representative of it. Sachin has been one of the biggest icon and ambassadors both at home and internationally for India and also has been the symbol of a generation for a very long time So, you are clearly implying that he deserved it on the basis of not just his excellence in cricket but his influence outside of sport. Now, you are saying that he is not a politician or a speaker (but he is still the voice of India..... how ironic!). So, if he is not a politician or a good speaker, why did he accept membership of the Rajya Sabha? Was he of the impression that he is going to lead a cricket team to play against the Lok Sabha? It could have easily gone to somebody more deserving and somebody who could have participated in debates and asked relevant questions. And surely, you don't have to be a "politician" or a "good speaker" just to attend and listen in on the debates that occur in the Rajya Sabha (he was inaugurating kabaddi events when the Parliament was in session). Apart from sporting excellence, you have mentioned that he has been involved in philanthropy. While I appreciate what he is doing, he is not the only celebrity involved in philanthropy nor is he one of the biggest. Among the rich and famous in India, Azim Premji far outdoes everyone else in terms of philanthropy. As far as people in India not "understanding chess", that can hardly be grounds for discrediting the qualifications of somebody who has achieved in Chess what no other India has even come close to.
Detonator Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 Sachin's sphere of influence and sheer numbers go way, way beyond all you mentioned. How many Indians even understand chess? Now who is being myopic here? Sachin's job was to be a sports role model. He is not a politician or an activist or a great speaker. He doesn't need to do that because he is incapable of that. He excelled in what he could do and left what he couldn't alone BTW, Sachin has himself done and still does a lot and lot of charity work, including being on the board of directors of one of the biggest charity organization in India, adopting 200 poor children and taking care of their education, building toilets for girls, etc. Guess action speaks louder than words sometimes Not again dood. I have discussed this with you already. Paying to stuff which is already free isn't a charity :two_thumbs_up:
CSK Fan Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 Not again dood. I have discussed this with you already. Paying to stuff which is already free isn't a charity :two_thumbs_up: You have discussed nothing. All of these were from his own pocket and own money. I am not taking even about the charities he does through auctions, etc which are more like what you say
Detonator Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 You have discussed nothing. All of these were from his own pocket and own money. I am not taking even about the charities he does through auctions' date=' etc which are more like what you say[/quote'] well, you're right it's not a discussion, I posted some facts and you never responded.. no time to dig up those posts, so whatever.. pls continue with ur pooja
Sachin=GOD Posted August 12, 2014 Posted August 12, 2014 Firstpost @firstpostin MHA sends recommendation to PMO for Bharat Ratna for Dhyan Chand: TimesNow
Desi Cartman Posted August 12, 2014 Posted August 12, 2014 Who is bharat ratna? What did she choose DC for? why involve me in all this ?
Desi Cartman Posted August 12, 2014 Posted August 12, 2014 This is pathetic, SRT deserves it as well. Im not saying anymore or less than Dhyanchand. Now all these reports will make SRT look bad. That guy played well for so many years and is now retired, leave him alone.