Devotees shower 5.5 lakh Kg of pure Ghee worth Rs 16 crores on Godess on Mahanavami in Gandhinagar

same can be said about mangalyaan as well... what did it do for the poor?
I disagree. If you ask what the space-launch did to the daily life of a day laborer, of course the answer to that will be nothing. However, technological feats like this tend to pay rich dividends to the population in the long run. If you look past the sheer intangibles of national pride these feats tend to produce in ordinary people, new technologies/techniques used in the mission invariably end up in civilian application, especially in the medical field, saving lives in the long run. Success in space will bring more funding, eventually creating more jobs in the space sector for Indians, many of them likely to come from the lower end of the society. This success will also spurn a bunch of privately funded research; the beneficiary of the same will mostly probably be Indian students and workers.
By the same token, 15.5 lakh kgs of ghee will please the Gods so much that they will now willingly shower money, fame and fair male children on all of these people.
By the same token' date=' 15.5 lakh kgs of ghee will please the Gods so much that they will now willingly shower money, fame and fair male children on all of these people.[/quote'] Haha! Btw, dont you think that your assessment that only those engaged in the various fields of science actually have real jobs and the rest of us are just doodling around pointlessly is a bit harsh? What about the proud men and women in the armed forces? Policemen? Firefighters? Charity and non-profit workers? :)
By the same token' date=' 15.5 lakh kgs of ghee will please the Gods so much that they will now willingly shower money, fame and [b']fair male children on all of these people.
Did ghee include paste of fair & handsome and kesar ?
Haha! Btw, dont you think that your assessment that only those engaged in the various fields of science actually have real jobs and the rest of us are just doodling around pointlessly is a bit harsh? What about the proud men and women in the armed forces? Policemen? Firefighters? Charity and non-profit workers? :)
True. I just got a bit carried away. Include businesspeople in that category, too.

Ghee being wasted like this will actually save lives. Somebody consuming all this cholesterol is bound to end his life. The milk used to prepare the ghee could be used for a better purpose.

It's a very wasteful endeavor really........the only possible positive could be that the local ghee makers would've made some extra income.......but the wastage is totally unnecessary......

Yep. They could've bottled it and distributed it to poor families.
By the same token' date=' 15.5 lakh kgs of ghee will please the Gods so much that they will now willingly shower money, fame and fair male children on all of these people.[/quote'] Lovely touch of "fair" male children. :giggle:

Its a waste but then again how is it different from the money spent on celebrating other festivals ? If you ask them, they will say its important to them. Each have their beliefs.

It is not just waste , it is filthy and I am sure, no god will be happy with this kind of excesses. We are all free to celebrate festivals and offer the best we can afford to the god, but intention of these celebration should be redistribution of wealth , not waste it on some idol..It is obscene considering a kg of ghee costs 400 + Rs and most families cannot afford a kg of ghee for their children..What is the point of such celebration, if you cant see around and empathize with them?

Its a waste but then again how is it different from the money spent on celebrating other festivals ? If you ask them' date= they will say its important to them. Each have their beliefs.
The monetary value is one thing. But the fact that it is food that bothers me. We live in a world where poverty and malnutrition are still common. How about using all that food to feed people in need? That is all.
You could say the same thing about celebrating Diwali, Ganesh Nimarjan or even trips to Mecca etc. Stop spending money on firecrackers, Ganesh statues or even visits to holy places and give the money to the poor.
You could say the same thing about celebrating Diwali' date=' Ganesh Nimarjan or even trips to Mecca etc. Stop spending money on firecrackers, Ganesh statues or even visits to holy places and give the money to the poor.[/quote'] One must also consider scale while having these discussions. It is not that they are pouring ghee away - one can understand a few liters. It is the sheer volume of it that makes this appalling. People must celebrate, have a good time, socialize, do firecrackers, make Ganesh statues etc. But, there comes a point when it goes way over the top - like this ghee incident.
One must also consider scale while having these discussions. It is not that they are pouring ghee away - one can understand a few liters. It is the sheer volume of it that makes this appalling. People must celebrate' date= have a good time, socialize, do firecrackers, make Ganesh statues etc. But, there comes a point when it goes way over the top - like this ghee incident.
Its nothing compared to how much money is spent for firecrackers and Ganesh statues which is in the order of thousands of crores every year. Tell me why is showering Ghee on a goddess more of a waste than burning crackers or making statues and drowning them in the sea ?
Ghee being wasted like this will actually save lives. Somebody consuming all this cholesterol is bound to end his life. The milk used to prepare the ghee could be used for a better purpose.
The last I heard was that ghee isnt bad for you as its "good cholesterol" of course it doesnt mean that one eats .5 kg ghee everyday. I was myself surprised when I was told by a medical visiting our office, she suggested eating ghee and butter. :icflove: