Black Money case  

• I feel good about this
    • I have my doubts
    • Its all the same

These same people applauded the courts when stern language was used against UPA Govt but if its done against Modi Sarkar then the courts are called "nautanki" and some Modi Bhakts hope that the courts are purged in due time.
not true. if the courts have a valid reason, then they can criticize. here they don't

What were the SC thinking here? How could they make such a demand and now back track? :(( This is why I hate the Indian MSM.........a bunch of absolute band-wagon jumpers........I'm sure the SC was swayed by the media circus on this issue........

Absolutely spot on. I don't think that BJP could have done anything much differently on black money case as they did since coming in power in May. Nor I am inveterate cynic to ascribe that all names have not been revealed because BJP wants to protect certain people. But they are guilty of absolute breach of public trust and immorality because they always knew that little can be done by getting the lists from foreign banks only and were well aware of impediments lying the road of recovery of black money. Yet they went ahead and made tall claims like making names public within 100 days or say. They very well knew that nothing very significant will come out of this, still they lied to people and fooled them like on many other things. Sometimes I feel that BJP made as much impractical promises as AAP had done. But while AAP had done that out of lack of experience, BJP did that out dishonesty.
These same people applauded the courts when stern language was used against UPA Govt but if its done against Modi Sarkar then the courts are called "nautanki" and some Modi Bhakts hope that the courts are purged in due time.
I would highly recommend that the two of you actually bother to read up on the entire timeline of the black money issue........if you don't want to read, I would be kind enough to explain.......cheers

As I said earlier and don't know why the post got deleted. All countries have black money for covert operations, spies etc . As an average citizen we should not push for revelation of all names. Leave that to the Government and SC. Even if they reveal 100 names for a start, and even if it is of opposition members, that's a good start to punish the criminals. Someday the current govt will be in opposition and their names will also come out. My guess is Politicians today who are asking for all names to be revealed are on the list and want some company. Just don't want only their name to come out. To somebody who is not on the list, it does not matter whether 100 names are out OR 628

"BJP campaigners had promised in the elections that Modi government would bring back black money stashed in foreign banks within 100 days. They had said the recovered black money would be distributed equally among all and would come to Rs 15 lakh per person. " http://m.timesofindia.com/india/Black-money-Where-is-Rs-15-lakh-for-each-Indian-Congress-asks/articleshow/44977830.cms
Black Money karma: BJP has fallen into the ditch it dug for Congress http://www.firstpost.com/india/black-money-karma-bjp-has-fallen-into-the-ditch-it-dug-for-congress-1779267.html
The BJP government has fallen into the ditch it had painstakingly dug for the Congress on the issue of bringing black money from abroad. After making the much publicised election promise of bringing black money from abroad and revealing the names of the culprits "within 100 days of coming to power", the government is now running for cover, not knowing where to hide. The Supreme Court has further embarrassed the government by rejecting the Attorney General's argument that the full list of about 700 Indians with illegal foreign bank accounts cannot be disclosed until investigations are completed and charges framed. After the SC's stern intervention, the government has had to submit the full list in a sealed cover to the apex court. The list will also be provided to the SC-directed SIT, formed recently to investigate all aspects of black money generation in India and abroad. The SC order, deeply embarrassing for the government, has been publicly welcomed by BJP's own senior party leaders like Subramaniam Swamy. Even Ram Jethmalani, who had campaigned on the black money issue, has said only the Supreme Court can be depended on to deliver justice. Last week finance minister Arun Jaitley told a TV channel that some names would cause the Congress party embarrassment. As it turned out, one Goa mining company, whose name was made public, has funded the BJP nine times since 2004. It has given the BJP twice as much funding as the Congress. So was Jaitley aware of all the facts, one wonders! Reuters Reuters This, in fact, is the crux of the whole black money issue. The Goa based mining company gave just over Rs.1 crore to the BJP. But there are much bigger fish in this game who generate billions of dollars of black money every year and regularly fund the cash component of election funding for the bigger national parties. Will the BJP government ever bring the big companies, which fund elections with pure cash, under investigation? Most unlikely. Therefore, an elaborate charade of bringing back black money is being played by successive governments. These days a new mythology is being created-- that of leaders who are "personally clean" even though they run organisations which get thousands of crores of slush funds. This "personal cleanliness" of individual leaders is the most bogus narrative and this new theme being propagated by the faithful because there is a yearning for clean politics in a system which perpetrates its very opposite. So where does the BJP-led crusade against black money go from here? It goes nowhere, really. For now the list of about 700 allegedly illegal account holders is lying in a sealed cover with the Supreme Court and the Special Investigation Team headed by a retired judge. The SIT, under the apex court's monitoring, will further probe the individuals named as owners of these accounts. Most of them are businessmen, and bit players at that. The SIT will have to establish the illegality of these accounts and frame charges over the next few months. The names cannot be revealed before that. The government told the Supreme Court that it will become difficult for India to sigh future treaties on information sharing with other countries if the names are revealed before gathering evidence and making out a reasonably foolproof case. Surely Arun Jaitley knew this legality when the BJP, as opposition, was screaming from the rooftops promising to publicly produce all the names and the money in their accounts within 100 days of coming to power. For now, the BJP has got trapped in its own hyped-up rhetoric around black money. Its initial bravado about revealing some names was based on a list of account holders in HSBC, Switzerland. This list was stolen by an HSBC employee on a particular day in 2006. So the accounts reveal the status of funds on just that particular day. Not before or after that date. In a sense, this list has very sketchy and inadequate information. There is no way the government can come up with anything substantive in the next one year. As for the much publicised $500 billion of black money allegedly lying in tax havens, even the Sangh Parivar faithfuls are becoming increasingly skeptical about it. In effect ,the BJP has truly made a mockery of its much publicised election commitment that it will reveal the identities of all Indians who have black money stashed in illegal accounts abroad. The ultimate irony,of course, is that finance minister Arun Jaitley's position before the Supreme Court on black money is the same as that of UPA's. Jaitley is now saying India can't resort to any "adventurism" while dealing with international treaty obligations on information sharing. This is exactly what Pranab Mukherjee and P.Chidambaram had been repeating ad nauseam as finance ministers under the UPA regime. Meanwhile, Arun Jaitley will now have to deal with another 1000 page report on black money brought out by the finance ministry's think tank NIPFP. This report had been submitted to Jaitley as well as the SIT on black money. Broadly the report says the black money generated in India for over two decades since 1980 ranges from 45% to 70% of GDP every year. That puts annual black money generation within India at over $ 1 trillion or close to $ 3 billion a day! The SITwill try to probe sectors where black money is being produced and report to SC. SC may in turn put pressure on the government, which will become a new headache for the NDA. The best way out for Jaitley is to first attack domestic generation of black money so that the incremental bleeding is controlled. Later India must try to do special agreements with foreign governments to get its legitimate share of tax on black money held by Indians abroad. Britain has done this with the Swiss government in the past. Black money held by British citizens in foreign accounts were taxed at the current rate and handed over to the UK exchequer. India must decide whether it wants its share of tax from foreign havens which can then be distributed among the poor as promised by the BJP. That will be the most logical course to follow.
In this whole thing which turned out to be a fiasco, BJP has egg all over it's face.
I would highly recommend that the two of you actually bother to read up on the entire timeline of the black money issue........if you don't want to read' date=' I would be kind enough to explain.......cheers[/quote'] I would highly recommend that you read my post again - then you will notice that I was talking in general about how Modi Bhakts criticize the courts if stern language is used against Modi Sarkar but the same people applauded the courts if stern language was used against UPA Govt. If you don't want to read my post again, I would be kind enough to explain it again.

The best thing that has come out of whole black money fiasco and supreme court's repetitive intervention is, it's bringing all the investigative agencies under the one umbrella and setting up deadline to complete the investigation by march 2015.Yes, BJP made a moral (certainly not a political) mistake by raising the pitch too high over the black money issue but ultimately being a political party they too are well aware of their political gains and loses. They struck the right chord that eventually turned out to be correct political issue but making tall promises of bringing back all the money within 100 days that too after prosecuting all the black money holders, is way too much. In politics, perception does matter most but can never be substitute of real action...For long BJP has successfully been able to create a perception of being a crusader against black money (setting up SIT in their first cabinet meeting was also part of its propaganda when in real they were bound to do it under the supreme court directive) but their real actions show that either they were connived with the corrupt or identified that nothing or very little can be done on this issue... Let bygone be bygone, now that the SIT has taken over the case with active supervision of Supreme court... we can expect some outcome to come out of it...Before I rein in my fingers on the keyboard, I must say that we should remain optimistic about this whole black money issue because if one Hasan Ali Khan can stash away 8 Billion dollars in single swiss bank account than consider the volume of black money can actually be their in tax heavens taking into account the thugs and thieves there in our mother land.

I would highly recommend that you read my post again - then you will notice that I was talking in general about how Modi Bhakts criticize the courts if stern language is used against Modi Sarkar but the same people applauded the courts if stern language was used against UPA Govt. If you don't want to read my post again, I would be kind enough to explain it again.
When the SC is giving in to the media circus........and demanding that the govt. do something that would affect double taxation treaties (a number of these were signed by the UPA btw).......what do you expect people to do? There is criticism and then there is abuse.......you are free to criticize as long as it is constructive and factual....... BTW.......have you read up on the black money issue or not?
It is quite alarming to see Modi fans' reaction to anyone who questions him or his Govt. Such extreme level of insecurity and victim mentality from Modi fans can be dangerous both to the Govt and to the country in days to come.
What happened to the expose that you were gonna do on NaMo?
When did I say that?
Short memory? Before the elections. You talked about revealing to rest of us on ICf, the dirty (behind the scenes) secrets of Namo and Shah, post elections. I will try to find the exact post.

An informative piece on black money written by Arun Jaitley m.ibnlive.com/news/finance-minister-arun-jaitley-on-black-money/510115-37.html

Nearly $95 billion (Rs 6 lakh crore) were illegally taken out of India in 2012, bringing the total illicit outflow of capital from the country to $440 billion (about Rs 28 lakh crore) in the preceding decade, according to the latest study released on Tuesday by Global Financial Integrity (GFI), a Washington DC-based research and advisory organization. Not only have taxes not been paid for these enormous sums, they may be used for various corrupt or criminal activities once parked in foreign safe havens.
India ranked third after China and Russia in the quantum of illicit outflows in 2012. For the whole decade of 2003 to 2012, India ranks fourth. A total of 151 countries were studied by Kar and his colleague Joseph Spanjers at the GFI.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Black-money-Rs-6-lakh-crore-illegally-taken-out-of-India-in-2012/articleshow/45542719.cms

Some positive developments regarding this very serious issue: http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-black-money-ed-freezes-properties-worth-rs-9003-crore-files-173-chargesheets-2081765 I'll be honest, I don't think the govt. has done enough yet. It may have done 500% more than what UPA ever did, but it isn't enough in my books. I still remain hopeful, but I am disappointed atm. Also, http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2015-04-21/news/61378797_1_status-report-black-money-apex-court There is scope to do so much more than what is being done by the Centre. Subbu Swamy will be involved with a hearing on the issue on the 12th. He isn't everyone's cup of tea, but at least we will get some feedback regarding the issue via his twitter a/c. Again, Ja-Italy :headshake: