Cricket_Hacker Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 HYDERABAD: A national controversy over whether Muslims and Christians are being pressured to convert to Hinduism has been amplified today by politician Asaduddin Owaisi, head of the MIM political party, headquartered in Hyderabad. "Everyone is born a Muslim, and then he is converted to other religions. Ghar wapasi is for these people to return to Islam," said Mr Owaisi, referring to the Hindi phrase for homecoming used by right-wing hardline groups who organise conversion ceremonies for religious minorities. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been attacked by critics for failing to rein in affiliates of his party who are accused of blatantly promoting Mohan Bhagwat, chief of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh, which is also the ideological mentor of the ruling BJP, said recently that India is a "Hindu nation", seen by opponents as a grim undermining of the country's constitutional commitment to secularism. "I am not retaliating (to those sort of remarks). This is what the Quran says. You are free to not accept my interpretation," Mr Owaisi told NDTV. The 45-year-old represents the constituency of Hyderabad in the Lok Sabha. His MIM made inroads in neighbouring Maharashtra in October's elections, gaining two seats in the state legislature. "I am not offering money, nor telling people that they are not citizens of this country, if they don't belong to a particular religion. Nor that the country will be converted into a one-religion nation. After all, plurality is India's strength," he professed in support of his claim that his take differs from that of people like Mr Bhagwat. http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/every-indian-is-born-a-muslim-says-politician-asaduddin-owaisi-644231?fb
EnterTheVoid Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 How come Mani Shankar Aiyar is silent on dickheads like these?
Austin 3:!6 Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Hmmm not sure about that. I am an Indian and I was born as a proud Hindu. Infact even being a non religious person, I can never even think myself a muslim. Imagine how bad it would feel to wake up every morning with people calling you terrorists, murderers and cheats. It must have been so tough to live a normal respectful life.
FischerTal Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 the problem with this country always be people who think that their way of life is somehow supreme to another person's way of life. once that goes, india will be a much better place
Khalpat Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 the problem with this country always be people who think that their way of life is somehow supreme to another person's way of life. once that goes' date=' india will be a much better place[/quote'] I think this problem is world wide that most of the people think highly about their way of life. The problem which our country is facing that people have this opinion that their "thinking is supreme to another person". Once India was popular for shastrarth. People use to debate for hours, they might be having opposite views but then also they had high regards about other person. Bose did not had similar view as Gandhi but he had very high respect for him. Their was a period when after huge debate between Nehru and Vajpayee in parliament, Nehru would pat on the back of Vajpayee and say , "you speak good". Coffee house was the place of having long conversations. Now it is all hatred, you think differently then me now I will call you bad names.
FischerTal Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 I think this problem is world wide that most of the people think highly about their way of life. The problem which our country is facing that people have this opinion that their "thinking is supreme to another person". Once India was popular for shastrarth. People use to debate for hours, they might be having opposite views but then also they had high regards about other person. Bose did not had similar view as Gandhi but he had very high respect for him. Their was a period when after huge debate between Nehru and Vajpayee in parliament, Nehru would pat on the back of Vajpayee and say , "you speak good". Coffee house was the place of having long conversations. Now it is all hatred, you think differently then me now I will call you bad names. its limited now to happening in the household, atleast in the cities. people wont say such stuff in public, but during family gatherings a lot of such stuff passes off as humor. ill give you an example. ive been here in gujarat for past 3 weeks. in the states, im not used to shaving everyday. many of my family elders will jokingly say you should shave ASAP otherwise you will look like muslim. its a bit offensive but stuff like that passes off as harmless humor here in india and i have no doubt even in muslim families there are jokes like that about hindus. i personally feel uncomfortable but its my family and no matter what, ill never look down upon them. im just saying that this kind of attitude will need to go if india is to truly progress.
AmreekanDesi Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 I used to hate the guy when I first found out abt him but now have respect for him. he says a lot of controversial stuff but is a big believer in indian nationalism and secularism and doesn't miss an opportunity to take potshots at the hypocrisy of Pakistanis which is a big change from other indian muslims in positions of influence
jalebi_bhai Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Asad chacha is busy by the looks of things........:giggle:.......
jalebi_bhai Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 I've no issues with him... Are MIM contesting in Delhi?.......Looks like Owaisi sahab is getting warmed up.........
Desi Cartman Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Nothing new, most religions state the same. I have heard the same at Gurdwara as well. My only objection is that these things shouldnt be discussed in the parliament but then its just not him.
Kalia_Test Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 No issues with this...looks very similar to the statement that all Indians are Hindus made by some people...
Austin 3:!6 Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 No issues with this...looks very similar to the statement that all Indians are Hindus made by some people... Who made that statement? No Hindu party (RSS, Shiv Sena BJP etc.) ever said that all Indians are born Hindu by default. What they said is that India being a hindu majority country is a land of Hindus. But they never questioned the existence of Muslims, Christians etc. And I completely agree with that. Does Hindu people get same rights in Pakistan, Bangladesh, other Arab countries like Muslims? They are treated like sh!t. Not saying in India other religion people should be mistreated but everyone needs to understand Hindu's are first citizens of India. What Owaisi said is absurd and a retard statement. Its like questioning everyone's belief and origin. But nothing more can be expected from Owaisi sahab who even pass derogatory remark against his own muslim brothers. Salman Khan goes on to meet Modi and Owaisi called him "Hara***". His brother (Akbaruddin Owaisi) openly criticize Hindu gods and religion. He was even jailed due to these political remarks. These people are nut case, so lets leave it at that.
The Outsider Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 This crap by jaahils is frustrating. What an informed retaliation to the RSS - you say all Indians are Hindus, we'll say all Indians were born Muslims. I am certainly being spoiled for choices here - someone says I am Hindu, another I am Muslim, another calls me a Pakistani, yet another a Haramzaada. Oh and also an ISI agent.
Sachinism Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 D'oh. When will these idiots realise you can't be born a believer?
Desi Cartman Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 D'oh. When will these idiots realise you can't be born a believer? Maro Saalay ko :orderorder::orderorder::orderorder::orderorder:
The Outsider Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 D'oh. When will these idiots realise you can't be born a believer? It's becoming more and more worrisome. Someone on this thread said he was born a proud Hindu. How is it even possible? I haven't seen too many live births but I find it hard to believe that someone was born yelling, 'Garv se kaho hum Hindu hain'. The rise of religion driven organizations is troubling and no GDP growth percentage can hide the associated risks to the society.
Sachinism Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 It's becoming more and more worrisome. Someone on this thread said he was born a proud Hindu. How is it even possible? I haven't seen too many live births but I find it hard to believe that someone was born yelling' date=' 'Garv se kaho hum Hindu hain'. The rise of religion driven organizations is troubling and no GDP growth percentage can hide the associated risks to the society.[/quote'] Anytime anyone says something along those lines, uses the word revert, I suddenly am on a mission to publicly ridicule them. To be honest, I feel it stems from insecurity and a need to reassure themselves
Desi Cartman Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 You are all ashamed of your awesome genes which are sarey jahan se achay, we were transplanting elephant heads when rest of the world was busy hunting mammoths, we have traveled to other planets and did wonderful things that only Hindus could have done. Then we ****ed up for a VERY long time but we should be proud to be born Hindu.
The Outsider Posted January 5, 2015 Posted January 5, 2015 Anytime anyone says something along those lines, uses the word revert, I suddenly am on a mission to publicly ridicule them. To be honest, I feel it stems from insecurity and a need to reassure themselves Yeah, WTF does revert even mean in the context of changing faith! Faith in such dhakolebaazi in the interest of not using more derogatory terms towards religion means you realized your mistake - how ironical that choice of faith itself is a mistake on scientific parameters!