Shoaib Akhtar's advice helped me increase pace

Crediting Shoaib Akhtar for bringing back rhythm in his bowling, Indian pacer Mohammad Shami has said the former Pakistan speedster advised him to shorten his run-up, which has helped him increase his pace. "The recent change in run-up has surely increased my pace. So I am continuing with it and hoping that it pays rich dividends. I did have a chat with Shoaib (Akhtar) bhai and he suggested that I should reduce my big strides. So shortened my stride and it has worked. It (the new run-up) is smooth and comfortable and it has also increased my pace," Shami said in a post-match chat on Star Sports.

Crediting Shoaib Akhtar for bringing back rhythm in his bowling' date=' Indian pacer Mohammad Shami has said the former Pakistan speedster advised him to[b'] shorten his run-up, :facepalm: which has helped him increase his pace. "The recent change in run-up has surely increased my pace. So I am continuing with it and hoping that it pays rich dividends. I did have a chat with Shoaib (Akhtar) bhai and he suggested that I should reduce my big strides. So shortened my stride and it has worked. It (the new run-up) is smooth and comfortable and it has also increased my pace," Shami said in a post-match chat on Star Sports.
Shorten his strides in the runup.

Thanks Shoaib, he always gets excited seeing promising fast bowlers irrespective of nationality, can see that in his commentary.

wow he had to find this from Akhtar. Pretty much lot of us on the ICF' date=' commentators said the same.[/quote'] I knew this problem of his since I saw him first in Duleep trophy.
What is the official fast bowling coach doing
Wasnt it Shami only who said a few weeks ago that Wasim helped him on a plane flight.. masla kya hai? can he figure anything out on his own?
The official coach Bharat Arun couldnt do anything for himself and was a third grade domestic bowler.What will he do for International level bowlers?
Umesh credited Arun for his turnaround Shami has always been good since last year but let's credit Akhtar for helping him maintain it:giggle: Mohit is doing well too, I doubt everyone goes to Akhtar
Yeah what's he doing? Our fast bowling has been so bad this WC
Umesh credited Arun for his turnaround Shami has always been good since last year but let's credit Akhtar for helping him maintain it:giggle: Mohit is doing well too, I doubt everyone goes to Akhtar
No, Shami was not always good. He has been poor in test matches because of the issue he had. Also, in ODIs, he was not as consistent as he is now and was very expensive most of the times due to the lack of control since his run up had issues. I am not crediting Akhtar but saying his runup indeed had issues which would have helped him gain better control and generate more pace. Since he credited Akhtar, then he certainly meant it.
No' date=' Shami was not always good. He has been poor in test matches because of the issue he had. Also, in ODIs, he was not as consistent as he is now and was very expensive most of the times due to the lack of control since his run up had issues. I am not crediting Akhtar but saying his runup indeed had issues which would have helped him gain better control and generate more pace. Since he credited Akhtar, then he certainly meant it.[/quote'] We still have to see improvement in Tests In ODIs he was never expensive at the start, in the death overs he got hit but that situation hasnt come here due to other bowlers also doing well Sure there might have been issues n good on Akhtar for that, but that doesn't mean our bowling coach is doing nothing
Where? And Umesh has dropped his top pace by 2ks.