SC judge writes to Modi over CJI meet on Good Friday, says all religions should get equal respect

Irked over the Chief Justice of India over holding a judges conference on Good Friday, Supreme Court Judge Kurian Joseph has written to Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He also declined the invitation to PM's dinner for judges on Saturday and added that no important programmes are held on holidays of religious significance.
I request your Honour to kindly have in mind these concerns also while scheduling events and benevolently show equal importance and respect to the sacred days of all religions which are also declared as National holidays," he wrote in his letter to the PM.
However, Justice Dattu hit back saying the question the justice had to ask himself, as he cannot ask the judge, is "whether it is institutional interest or individual interest that one should preference to".
The CJI got support from a former apex court judge Justice K T Thomas asking why Christians cannot work on Good Friday. "In America, where 98 per cent are Christians, Good Friday is a working day. Christians can attend Church service and go to work. But in India we are obsessed with holiday culture. I am totally opposed to this holiday mania that we suffer from," Justice Thomas said.
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/sc-judge-writes-to-modi-over-cji-meet-on-good-friday-says-all-religions-should-get-equal-respect/537871-3.html :facepalm:
Fight amongst the judges on such a trivial matter . :facepalm:
Well ndtv had half an hour discussion during prime time yesterday on this topic.
Not everyone can go on a paid holiday to Kashmir to celebrate Diwali.
So how was good Friday celebrated in NewYork. It must have been holiday right?What did you do during long weekend.

SC judge writes to Modi over CJI meet on Good Friday, says all religions shou...

So how was good Friday celebrated in NewYork. It must have been holiday right?What did you do during long weekend.
No idea, but schools were open and I live in a conservative place
Not everyone can go on a paid holiday to Kashmir to celebrate Diwali.
Spending time with armed forces on Diwali. I now see no difference between you and a padosi poster.
No idea' date=' but schools were open and I live in a conservative place[/quote'] Then why the schools in India are closed? I am just curious. In fact many government institutions are closed.
Then why the schools in India are closed? I am just curious. In fact many government institutions are closed.
Our company also had holiday.

Good Friday is a working day for most businesses and government/federal institutions in many christian countries (only schools are closed in US). Easter is celebrated. Only in India..

:facepalm: at least the judiciary should refrain from politicizing religion. On the matter of holidays for judges - India has way too many holidays in a judicial system with crores of pending cases - time to cut down on summer/winter breaks for judges.

Unnecessary from this judge to create this controversy. May be he is replying to poster' date=' not the post.[/quote'] The blanket statements issued from the very first day this government took charge about "how the minorities are insecure and going to be harmed" by people having similar view point as you guys is one of the reason for this controversy. Beleive me the harm has already been done and now we will see these kinds of controversies very often. One of the side effects of being judgemental without any data or fact by almost 50% of the population both on internet and offline has slowly created perception about the government. god forbid but if something on the line of Muzaffar Nagar happens this government will not win other term and hence mission will be succesfull. :two_thumbs_up:
1. Good Friday is not celebrated; it is observed. 2. Yes, it was a holiday for me because stock markets were closed. 3. Didn't do much on the long weekend; thanks for asking. The point is not whether Good Friday should be a holiday or not. If you ask me all holidays should simply be added to vacation days, left at the discretion of the person to take whenever. The point is Good Friday is a holiday in India. To call working meetings on a holiday unless there is urgency is unprofessional. When such things happen with Christmas and Good Friday, there is a not so hidden agenda.