Ultimate_Game Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 For those of you who never had the chance to follow Indian cricket in 90s, great news! It's back to the 90s all over again!!! Here are a few similarities and feel free to add more... 1. Barely 2-3 decent batsmen and if the top order fails you can kiss the match goodbye. 2. Tail starts at 5 and when you see Saha come out to the middle, it's eerily similar how you felt when you saw More or Mongia come to the crease. 3. Bowlers mostly useless both with the bat and the ball. 4. Match is still not over even if you need 50 runs with 6 wkts in hand, and most probably you will see an epic batting collapse. 5. No match is ever safe or won and you can lose from any position. 6. Tigers at home and hopeless away. If it's an away match, you may as well not waste time and effort since the result is a foregone conclusion. 7. Fragile and brittle under pressure. Hint of pressure and you know how the result will unfold.
kubrickian Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 For those of you who never had the chance to follow Indian cricket in 90s, great news! It's back to the 90s all over again!!! Here are a few similarities and feel free to add more... 1. Barely 2-3 decent batsmen and if the top order fails you can kiss the match goodbye. 2. Tail starts at 5 and when you see Saha come out to the middle, it's eerily similar how you felt when you saw More or Mongia come to the crease. 3. Bowlers mostly useless both with the bat and the ball. 4. Match is still not over even if you need 50 runs with 6 wkts in hand, and most probably you will see an epic batting collapse. 5. No match is ever safe or won and you can lose from any position. 6. Tigers at home and hopeless away. If it's an away match, you may as well not waste time and effort since the result is a foregone conclusion. 7. Fragile and brittle under pressure. Hint of pressure and you know how the result will unfold. I wont be so sure about that. Saffers would wreck these sorry bunch of losers if they play spineless cricket like this.
fineleg Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 90s bad. But 90s atleast had legend in making SRT, and legend in making Kumble, and few others. 90s team will beat this team 10-0. No point wrist slitting over this (current) team which selects Nohit-like players (he is poor in all formats, wait n watch). Move on.
sticky wicket Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 90s bad. But 90s atleast had legend in making SRT, and legend in making Kumble, and few others. 90s team will beat this team 10-0. No point wrist slitting over this (current) team which selects Nohit-like players (he is poor in all formats, wait n watch). Move on. Agree...90s team would easily triumph the current XI. Really difficult to understand the non-selection of Pujara, who had a decent outing in County and vs Australia A (ok fine pick Rohit infront of Pujara, but then to select even L Rahul over Pujara, think thank have screwed-up) and selection of a has been Bhajji - total mockery of Indian cricket and insult to players toiling away in domestic cricket.
kosingh Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 We always had 4-5 class players in the side during the 90s. Tendulkar, Dravid, Ganguly, Azharuddin, Srinath. We also had some fighters like Navjot Sidhu. We had multiple spinners better than anyone now-- Kumble, Chauhan, Raju. We had Nayan Mongia, who was was hated then, but we have not had a better keeper since. There was the dislikeable Manoj Prabhakar, who, although hated, was a better batsman and a better bowler than any pace bowler now.
sticky wicket Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Also, I wouldn't put it past current Bangladesh team beating the current lot on a bowling friendly pitch.
Gollum Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 90s was much better. It's more like welcome back to the 50s.
CG Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Well we have been losing away from home long time now under dhonis captaincy whom Op is a big fanboy.
vayuu1 Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 If this slide is not arrested, soon u will see people loosing interest in cricket as a matter of fact people are loosing interest in cricket, viewership is declining and with chewts like shastri at helms and nandans like darty, flair and saha in team, chutzpah doesn't seems like ending.
vayuu1 Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Don't insult our 90s. Yup exactly, 90's team had tendulkar, dravid, ganguly, Laxman, azhar,amre, siddhu, jadeja and bowlers like Kumble Srinath,wily venky ,sir aggy, joshi , sarndeep and kartick, the above batters would have smashed ashwin and co into oblivion and bowlers eould have run riot on subcontinent pitches.
Gollum Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Yup exactly' date=' 90's team had tendulkar, dravid, ganguly, Laxman, azhar,amre, siddhu, jadeja and bowlers like Kumble Srinath,wily venky ,sir aggy, joshi , sarndeep and kartick, the above batters would have smashed ashwin and co into oblivion and bowlers eould have run riot on subcontinent pitches.[/quote'] +1
MechEng Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Yaar in 1990s we had second string spinners like Venkatapathy Raju, if he was playing cricket today he would have picked up at least 260 wickets in 60 tests considering the fact how current generation of batters all over the world suck against spin (except Pakistan maybe). Abhi ki team toh bhai kuch aur hi level waali phissaddu team hain.
tweaker Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Now this players gets lot of money playing in IPL,why they will work the extra yard for test.I think this may be the last generation of player playing test cricket.A player like Hardik Pandya plays 2 , 3 good inning in IPL & is the toast of the town.Why he will put extra effort in domestic cricket & get selected in test team.Instead he will declare himself unfit for domestic,cricket & play for Ipl only
zen Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 India struggled abroad in the 90s, but it was a different team at home. There was even a phrase to describe them - tigers at home, mouses abroad .... Ind in Ind was like an unconquerable fortress We also saw some amazing performances such as Ten 100 vs. Pak, Kum's 10-for, Kambli's back to back doubles, etc. One performance that was truly amazing and not seen that much was this: http://youtu.be/Q4NST8PVMJo
vayuu1 Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Yaar in 1990s we had second string spinners like Venkatapathy Raju, if he was playing cricket today he would have picked up at least 260 wickets in 60 tests considering the fact how current generation of batters all over the world suck against spin (except Pakistan maybe). Abhi ki team toh bhai kuch aur hi level waali phissaddu team hain. Even like of nilesh kulkarni, sairaj bahutule, vijay bharadwaj, rajesh chauhan would have eaten them alive, in helpful conditions, suberato banerjee,t a shekhar, Manoj prabhakar, Srinath vs tailunt would have been a treat to watch.
zen Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 Even like of nilesh kulkarni' date=' sairaj bahutule, vijay bharadwaj, rajesh chauhan would have eaten them alive, in helpful conditions, suberato banerjee,t a shekhar, Manoj prabhakar, Srinath vs tailunt would have been a treat to watch.[/quote'] Srinath is an ATG bowler for Ind :winky:
HippoSucks Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 For those of you who never had the chance to follow Indian cricket in 90s, great news! It's back to the 90s all over again!!! Here are a few similarities and feel free to add more... 1. Barely 2-3 decent batsmen and if the top order fails you can kiss the match goodbye. 2. Tail starts at 5 and when you see Saha come out to the middle, it's eerily similar how you felt when you saw More or Mongia come to the crease. 3. Bowlers mostly useless both with the bat and the ball. 4. Match is still not over even if you need 50 runs with 6 wkts in hand, and most probably you will see an epic batting collapse. 5. No match is ever safe or won and you can lose from any position. 6. Tigers at home and hopeless away. If it's an away match, you may as well not waste time and effort since the result is a foregone conclusion. 7. Fragile and brittle under pressure. Hint of pressure and you know how the result will unfold. 1. and 6. are true for practically all teams at the moment.
YCCC Posted August 16, 2015 Posted August 16, 2015 If you want to see how bad the 90s could have been, look at England's record. Virtually a new team every Test match, each as hopeless as the last. Dominated by the Aussies, bottom of the Test rankings, jeered off the ground at the Oval after losing to SL and drawn home series seen as huge successes