HEADS SHOULD ROLL FOR THIS !!!

Listen people – there is ONE and only ONE REASON why Pakistan are deliriously celebrating today and the whole of India is in dark depression. What is it – Simple –

The Decision Not To Bat First !!!

The people who made this decision should be made to walk down the street and be cane-whipped by the public. Too drastic, you say……..well let me tell you that the result of this match is going to have massive repercussions in the whole India-Pakistan  relationship, to the detriment of India.  

I tuned in about an hour late and heard the commentator say that India had won the toss and gave Pakistan first strike – I thought I had heard wrong  and checked CricInfo.  Would you know it……India had indeed put Pakistan into bat and Fackar Zaman & Azharr Ali were now going great guns.

Now why would the Indian think-tank do this ??  This was a no-brainer. Let’s review the facts as the coin toss hits the ground :

1)    India had beaten Pakistan many times before by batting first, putting up a competitive score and  then strangled the Pakistani who all always inevitably collapsed under the pressure into one big ignominious heap.

2)    Pakistan has a strong bowling attack with Amir and India has a pop-gun bowling attack, with two spinners  who are useless outside of India and another questionable slow bowler selection.

3)    The pitch was very good for batting.

4)    Batting first and putting runs on the board is worth its weight in gold, especially in the pressure cooker of a ICC Final.

5)    Putting Pakistan in after winning the toss would be a defensive measure, especially for a team like India with hardly any offensive bowling .

6)    India cannot afford to lose this match.  Pakistan support in England is like playing at a home ground for them.  Therefore  as an opposing captain. you need to silence this support  quickly……. by imperious Indian  batting .

So now why would you win the toss and put Pakistan in ?   Was this a pre-meditated and pre-planned decision without taking into account the facts above. Where is the critical thinking in the Indian camp ? What were the inputs of Gavaskar, Tendulkar, Dhoni  and Shastri in this disastrous decision ? How did Coach Kumble and Kohli feel about it ?  If all of these people were in sync about not batting first,  there should be heads rolling amidst apologies to the nation at large.

The other problems were subordinate to this massive misjudgment.  Selection of two useless spinners in an ODI final played in England, and the coaching incompetence in not correcting Bumrah’s  no-ball problem. Had India batted first, they would most likely have won the match irrespective of these other issues  and the whole of India would be doing what the whole of Pakistan is doing now.

The consequences  of this match for Kohli – this will haunt him to his dying day.  Whatever runs he makes for the rest of his career, they will never compensate for the error he made here.

The consequences for India – an emboldened Pakistan for years to come with impact in the Kashmir situation.  People will die.

The Indian think-tank  made a massive misjudgment here and there should be consequences for all involved.  

You are equating a Cricket Game loss (which only 8 countries play in the world seriously ) to a political situation in Kashmir ?? That shows your intellectual level

And calm down. The decision to bowl first was Correct one. This was a belter wicket. With India's batting line up you would fancy 8 out of 10 times for India to chase down 338 against this Pakistani bowing lineup.

History dosen't matter. What matters is the conditions on that very day. And the condition was that the wicket was a beauty to Bat on so chasing was not a wrong decision

The batsmen failed miserably. Thats the reason India lost.

Edited by DGBOSS
2 minutes ago, DGBOSS said:

The batsmen failed miserably. Thats the reason India lost.

Don't feed the troll.

Also, its not just the batsmen who failed miserably. How many wides and no-balls did we give them? We had to bowl atleast 3 more overs because of it. Our fielding was weak and also the captaincy was poor. It was just one of those games where nothing went right and we had a bad day.

You would think with all the IPL experience and big match moments this would not happen but unfortunately it did.

Its a crushing defeat and we are all hurt but its just a cricket game and Pakistan deserved it for the way they came back in the tournament

If you believe this win by Pakistan has no political effects for India going forward, you are politically naïve.

Frankly, I am astonished that you think the decision not to bat first was a correct one.

Look at the result of the decision, for one thing.

Listen people – there is ONE and only ONE REASON why Pakistan are deliriously celebrating today and the whole of India is in dark depression. What is it – Simple –

The Decision Not To Bat First !!!

The people who made this decision should be made to walk down the street and be cane-whipped by the public. Too drastic, you say……..well let me tell you that the result of this match is going to have massive repercussions in the whole India-Pakistan  relationship, to the detriment of India.  

I tuned in about an hour late and heard the commentator say that India had won the toss and gave Pakistan first strike – I thought I had heard wrong  and checked CricInfo.  Would you know it……India had indeed put Pakistan into bat and Fackar Zaman & Azharr Ali were now going great guns.

Now why would the Indian think-tank do this ??  This was a no-brainer. Let’s review the facts as the coin toss hits the ground :

1)    India had beaten Pakistan many times before by batting first, putting up a competitive score and  then strangled the Pakistani who all always inevitably collapsed under the pressure into one big ignominious heap.

2)    Pakistan has a strong bowling attack with Amir and India has a pop-gun bowling attack, with two spinners  who are useless outside of India and another questionable slow bowler selection.

3)    The pitch was very good for batting.

4)    Batting first and putting runs on the board is worth its weight in gold, especially in the pressure cooker of a ICC Final.

5)    Putting Pakistan in after winning the toss would be a defensive measure, especially for a team like India with hardly any offensive bowling .

6)    India cannot afford to lose this match.  Pakistan support in England is like playing at a home ground for them.  Therefore  as an opposing captain. you need to silence this support  quickly……. by imperious Indian  batting .

So now why would you win the toss and put Pakistan in ?   Was this a pre-meditated and pre-planned decision without taking into account the facts above. Where is the critical thinking in the Indian camp ? What were the inputs of Gavaskar, Tendulkar, Dhoni  and Shastri in this disastrous decision ? How did Coach Kumble and Kohli feel about it ?  If all of these people were in sync about not batting first,  there should be heads rolling amidst apologies to the nation at large.

The other problems were subordinate to this massive misjudgment.  Selection of two useless spinners in an ODI final played in England, and the coaching incompetence in not correcting Bumrah’s  no-ball problem. Had India batted first, they would most likely have won the match irrespective of these other issues  and the whole of India would be doing what the whole of Pakistan is doing now.

The consequences  of this match for Kohli – this will haunt him to his dying day.  Whatever runs he makes for the rest of his career, they will never compensate for the error he made here.

The consequences for India – an emboldened Pakistan for years to come with impact in the Kashmir situation.  People will die.

The Indian think-tank  made a massive misjudgment here and there should be consequences for all involved.  

IMO, Pak were so resurgent that they wouls have chased down a 300+ score.

5 minutes ago, cric_fan said:

Nah... They would have folded for 200 or less too... It's not like they got defeated by 10 runs in the first game

Btw op is yet another Pak fan in the guise of an Indian? I mean have some self respect guys it's not like our guys keep unnecessarily abusing Pak fans all the time... There are asim, autonomous for example...

If not then cool..

Edited by Temujin Khaghan

bhai chasing is our strength.

no one knew Pak would make 340 after how rubbish their batting is.

They got lucky with Fakhar no ball or we would have bowled them out for 250 260

And even on that track 340 wasnt impossible chase.

Just qaidi was too good for our batsmen.

Rohit n Kohli choked it hurts me to say.

The heads that should roll are Yuvi Ash MSD all are OBSOLETE and should be DELETED from our team.

Bakwas in this format now.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

what are u talking about england is like home ground.

We always outnumber Pakistanis anywhere we play bar Pakistan.

even UAE we have more Indians there.

Atmosphere isnt the issue.

Tendu,

Why take that gamble in such a massive game when the template to beat Pak has been set-up and done many times before ?

It belies belief.

Btw. I aint Pakistani.

One thing I rally couldn't believe is the body language. It was as if watching the Jo'burg final 2003. Final against india and Pak should have crumbled like anything but it was reverse. Begs questions on the dressing room environment especially with the captain coach tussle.

Good point, VK.

And what would have changed the Indian body language ?  Batting first, putting 290 on the board and watch the Paks being strangulated at 145 for 8.

20 minutes ago, cric_fan said:

I would not put my money on that. We all know your batting record while Chasing !!!!

Thank you, Praggy.

As a follower of Indian cricket, I feel strongly about the decision to send the Paks in and the ensuing loss, hence the font :) :) :)

25 minutes ago, Sloane84 said:

If you believe this win by Pakistan has no political effects for India going forward, you are politically naïve.

Frankly, I am astonished that you think the decision not to bat first was a correct one.

Look at the result of the decision, for one thing.

You are telling me a Cricket match (even though Final - at the end its just that - A Cricket Match ) played between 2 countries will decide  political situation of India and Pakistan.

Just care to give the details please ?

Time to put that bottle down mate !!!!

Tendu,

Why take that gamble in such a massive game when the template to beat Pak has been set-up and done many times before ?

It belies belief.

Btw. I aint Pakistani.

we are best chasing team in world. our bowlers underperformed bar Bhuvi n fakhar played a blinder.

i dont criticise decision to chase. we have chased 270 odd with ease in WC Final in Mumbai.

its more our lack of intensity n passiveness that disappointed me.

I didn't say it will decide political situation.

I said it will affect.

Check reactions already in J & K and the Pak military to the result.

5 minutes ago, Tendu_10 said:

we are best chasing team in world. our bowlers underperformed bar Bhuvi n fakhar played a blinder.

i dont criticise decision to chase. we have chased 270 odd with ease in WC Final in Mumbai.

its more our lack of intensity n passiveness that disappointed me.

100% agree

All the BS of Pressure in FIials and how Putting score first up is better in a final and Scoreboard pressure is all crap. Thats the cricket of yesterday.

Don't forget - SL won in 96 Chasing, India won in 2011 Chasing. Those were Biggest platforms - World Cup Finals. Not to see the innumerable times in recent years India has won big games chasing.

Things have changed today compared to what it was back then.

Anyday you should play as per your strength and the conditions . And on Sunday the conditions were favorable for chasing .

Edited by DGBOSS