Can Krunal Pandya bat at #6 in the ODI team?

SecondSlip

20 minutes ago, express bowling said:

No.

In LOIs, No.7 is a slot which needs a big-hitter who can either be the 5th bowler or can keep.

8 to 10 are slots for specialist bowlers.

Who, according to you, is an ideal No.7  ?

When you are ask for specific name , guys are clkean bowled .  In another someone was harping Bhuvi is falyu and is not fit to be in the team . When asked who can match him in death overs and relacs him ...  Well still waiting for response.

5 hours ago, rkt.india said:

which batsman does not play cross-batted shots?

Nothing wrong in playing cross batted shots , the problem is if you can only play cross batted . you simply cannot survive in international cricket for too long . Body balance and straight bat are two most important basics and cant be thought at this stage . 

17 hours ago, jusarrived said:

IPL only shows that you can do well against mediocre bowlers , which is fine ..am saying hes not good enough to do well against quality bowlers . I dont rate batsmen who play cross batted shots.

Iyer too plays cross batted shots.

9 hours ago, jusarrived said:

No Consolidators , clean hitters . Hooda for eg is a clean hitter , but Pandya is not . 

Pandya is cleaner hitter than hooda. Hooda so far has only shown clean hitting against spinner and even against them he mistimes a lot. Pandya is a spin destroyer and rarely mistimes spinners.

15 minutes ago, King Tendulkar said:

Krunal needs to do a lot more . Not being in fc team shows possible lack of real quality 

very unconvinced at this stage . Particularly when at current moment stacked with so much talent playing fc at moment . 

abey bhai kitni baar bata diya hai. Him not being in the team has nothing to do with the quality but his injury. Do you even read replies to your posts? This is the third year straight he is missing ranji trophy due to injury sustained during a match. 

Regarding talents. No there are not many talents domestic cricket with his skills of big hitting spinning alrounder.

Edited by rkt.india
1 hour ago, rkt.india said:

abey bhai kitni baar bata diya hai. Him not being in the team has nothing to do with the quality but his injury. Do you even read replies to your posts? This is the third year straight he is missing ranji trophy due to injury sustained during a match. 

Regarding talents. No there are not many talents domestic cricket with his skills of big hitting spinning alrounder.

Always seems to male miraculous recovery for ipl :phehe:

16 minutes ago, King Tendulkar said:

Always seems to male miraculous recovery for ipl :phehe:

how miraculous? He missed not just ranji trophy but 2015 IPL too due to shoulder surgery injury recovery. Every time, he is injured, he has been sidelined for almost 6-8 months. 6-8 months for recovery is miraculous for you? its a very long period for a cricketer as he is missing those game which could help him to propel to Team India instead sitting idly at home. You seem to be making fun of his misfortune. Imagine if he had 1-2 full Ranji seasons without injuries, he would have been playing for India by now but these missed seasons have set him back while younger Pandya made it to Indian team.

He got injury in 2015 under went shoulder surgery, was out of game for a year, so, it is not miraculous but the timing of injury that it has been unfortunate jut before the Ranji season, then in 2016 he hurt his hamstring just before ranji and underwent another surgery, was out for 6 months got back by April.  This year he suffered injury while playing for India A in South Africa August. 

Edited by rkt.india

@jusarrived i disagree with you vehementaly, krunal is better batsman than hardik both in terms of skill and temperament,he is not as destructive against spin but still he is equally effective against spin in his own unorthodox style, he should be part of both odi/t20 sides,he is the only player i see who can match dhoni in his prime in so far as calmness is concerned, if you remember one supr over match vs gujarat this year ,how he build up his innings that game was brilliant

though he needs to get out of this injury phase,he is not helping himself

14 hours ago, express bowling said:

No.

In LOIs, No.7 is a slot which needs a big-hitter who can either be the 5th bowler or can keep.

8 to 10 are slots for specialist bowlers.

Who, according to you, is an ideal No.7  ?

we already have hardik for that 5th bowler slot who can be the big hitter at no 7.

we also have 3 frontline spinners out of which 2 will play in spin pitches and only 1 play in seamer friendly pitches. so I don't see a case were we can accommodate one more finger left arm spinner.

even if we can somehow accommodate krunal (like play him as 5th batsman in place of jhadav), he should be good enough to claim a place in the team. imo he is a weak batsman and a weak bowler. so I won't recommend him just coz he can hit some sixes.

18 minutes ago, renjith said:

we already have hardik for that 5th bowler slot who can be the big hitter at no 7.

we also have 3 frontline spinners out of which 2 will play in spin pitches and only 1 play in seamer friendly pitches. so I don't see a case were we can accommodate one more finger left arm spinner.

even if we can somehow accommodate krunal (like play him as 5th batsman in place of jhadav), he should be good enough to claim a place in the team. imo he is a weak batsman and a weak bowler. so I won't recommend him just coz he can hit some sixes.

at #6, you need a six hitter and how do conclude he is a weak batsman? if Hardik can play at 4, while he is better than Hardik as a batsman.

3 hours ago, renjith said:

Hardik is being used between No.4 to No.6 these days.   This is leaving us with a No.7  who is not a big hitter.

We cannot afford just one big hitter from 4 to 7 in LOIs.

Krunal will play as a batting all-rounder.  So, the specialist bowlers are not affected by his selection.

He will replace a batsman .... won't be any worse than Karthick batting at 7.

Someone who averages 35 in List A and 34 in the IPL as a batsman , with high SRs, is not a weak batsman at all. Add to that his low ER bowling and he adds a lot of value to the team.

Edited by express bowling
1 hour ago, King Tendulkar said:

Random statement that better bat then hardick . All hardick has achieved and you say krunal better bat just based on ipl !!! 

its not a random statement. His FC team preferred him to bat up the order which suggests that he is considered to be a better batsman. Hardik to came through the IPL and Krunal has out performed him there not just once but two years in a row.  Even MI prefers Krunal batting ahead of Hardik. Yes, Hardik has some good innings in international cricket but that does not mean Krunal can't be better than him.  Krunal has a better thinking head on his shoulders and is more cool and composed. Hardik at times gets carried away in adenaline rush.   

42 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

its not a random statement. His FC team preferred him to bat up the order which suggests that he is considered to be a better batsman. Hardik to came through the IPL and Krunal has out performed him there not just once but two years in a row.  Even MI prefers Krunal batting ahead of Hardik. Yes, Hardik has some good innings in international cricket but that does not mean Krunal can't be better than him.  Krunal has a better thinking head on his shoulders and is more cool and composed. Hardik at times gets carried away in adenaline rush.   

Krunal has played one fc game