One day ICF was off and so many posters (including me) had a hard time. Goes on to show how much addicted we are to the internet and forums. I think everyone should read the announcement and follow what king said. Imagine the site was down during World cup. That would have been travesty. Off Topic - Who are the owners of this site?
OP mein owner nahi dikha kya re?
It doesn't matter if you paste the entire text too btw as long as you link to the source.
I may be wrong, I feel most of the time people hardly need to read entire article. That''s why I think it's better to just pick some parts and link the article. Moreover whenever someone writes an article and posts it on a certain website, they do expect people to visit site for that content.
This is still up for debate but in time being do not post entire article without quotes With quote and link it's ok but I feel it's best that we just highlight important part and encourage users to read rest on site where it's from ..
It is covered under "fair use doctrine". If ICF does not make money from it, there's no issue. This is the same reason why posting entire texts of articles on e-mail groups (though long dead) aren't considered as copyrighted material.
The website was down because you were copy pasting copyrighted articles from elsewhere over here. Those articles were copyrighted and the author filed a complaint to take the server down. I think it is imperative to know you can't reproduce i.e copy/paste articles from other websites. Most don't care but paid authors get annoyed as it hurts their livelihood. I can understand you guys may be ignorant about this but learning from this experience make sure you don't copy/paste articles. Linking is fine but not reproducing the articles.
Thank u for the clarifiction.
I too dug up your cell phone number once when ICF was down for a week or so.Didnt have the guts to call you. Btw i thought Shwetabh had mailed you which is why you got on to fix the site.
U did not have the guts for a phone call?
It is covered under "fair use doctrine". If ICF does not make money from it' date=' there's no issue. This is the same reason why posting entire texts of articles on e-mail groups (though long dead) aren't considered as copyrighted material.[/quote'] Icf does has ads Sure its not making much money but isn't this different from email ?
Icf does has ads Sure its not making much money but isn't this different from email ?
As far as I know, that is OK unless you are changing a monetary fee just to read the article.
Icf does has ads Sure its not making much money but isn't this different from email ?
is it ? i never seen any ads embedded inn ICF page...
You are missing out on nice underwears :winky:.Logout and check
you get ads based on what you search :giggle::giggle: nope.. still ICF is ad free for me :dontknow: i think ICF can embed banner ads
Here, it gets tricky. So, better be safe. Also, contrary to what armchair psychics would say - people on ICF do read entire articles. Not everyone is misinformed while making a point.
Here' date=' it gets tricky. So, better be safe. Also, contrary to what armchair psychics would say - people on ICF do read entire articles. Not everyone is misinformed while making a point.[/quote'] I know people read but how hard is it to read on site by clicking link ? Just post few parts of article in quote and if it interests people they can read rest by visiting the site . Thing is this last incident even with quotes would have lead to site going down ..I know its rare but why take risk ?