Hardik Pandya doesn't contribute with bat, lucky to be called all-rounder: Roger Binny

saik

3 hours ago, Khota said:

At 7 it will be a proper bowler all the time. Umesh over hardik any day or Chahal.

Umesh will make the tail long  n chahal isnt considered a long format bowler prospect yet 

3 pacer n 2 spinner , 1 bowler will guarnteed be under bowled

Specially when u have inconsistent batsman u need some cushion in batting.....n thats why u look for an all rounder 

2 hours ago, Khota said:

Kapil was the leading wkt taker so many times and scored as much as batsman.

I have watched kapilin in stands and he was beating Zaheer every other delivery. pandya has pace but no where near the wkt taking control that kapil had.

why are u comparing a main bowler n a 5th bowler ......

n how come such a good bowler has such similar stats 

Do u understand the role diff being a leader of the pack vs filling overs......thats the two ur comparing ...yet stats arent much different 

10 hours ago, zen said:

The reason many are backing Pandya is because he has the potential to get 5000-6000 runs and 200-250 wkts at the 100 test mark. And most fans would be happy with such a performance  

Additionally, your definition ignores points such as whether the all-rounder is playing as the 4th or 5th bowler, fielding dynamics, intangibles such as "never say die attitude"   

Btw, ICC test all-rounder ranking https://www.icc-cricket.com/rankings/mens/player-rankings/test/all-rounder  .... Shows why guys like Pandya are valuable :winky:

You cannot go by potential. That is not a metrics. You can only go by performance.

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Umesh will make the tail long  n chahal isnt considered a long format bowler prospect yet 

3 pacer n 2 spinner , 1 bowler will guarnteed be under bowled

Specially when u have inconsistent batsman u need some cushion in batting.....n thats why u look for an all rounder 

Even if one owler is underbowled at least the quality of bowling will be better. Pndya is a liability.

9 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

why are u comparing a main bowler n a 5th bowler ......

n how come such a good bowler has such similar stats 

Do u understand the role diff being a leader of the pack vs filling overs......thats the two ur comparing ...yet stats arent much different 

So he is a filler. That is what I am trying to say too. I need a main strike bowler, not a filler.

37 minutes ago, Khota said:

You cannot go by potential. That is not a metrics. You can only go by performance.

In your comedy show, may be .... in real world, one has to invest to build the desirable portfolio .... Those coming in to Ind squad have some level of performance behind them, which translates in to potential for a new comer at international level .... Pandya has already done well 

24 minutes ago, zen said:

In your comedy show, may be .... in real world, one has to invest to build the desirable portfolio .... Those coming in to Ind squad have some level of performance behind them, which translates in to potential for a new comer at international level .... Pandya has already done well 

If medicority is your definition of well then that is great.

6 hours ago, Khota said:

So he is a filler. That is what I am trying to say too. I need a main strike bowler, not a filler.

no u dnt u already have 4 , u need to someone who can add batting plus give rest to ur bowlers

A 5th bowler will mostly be underbowled n the inconsitent batting lineup we have we need some cushion their as well

strangely ur specialist logic doesnt apply with wkt when u ask for parthiv even after seeing how horrible a keeper he is 

6 hours ago, Khota said:

Even if one owler is underbowled at least the quality of bowling will be better. Pndya is a liability.

In test - 

Pandya made runs

created wkts in field

took wkts 

gave rest to our bowlers who need it 

what did the specialist rohit sharma do, i can see pandya contribution way more then him 

In odi 

failed with bat but contributed with bowl 

Was terrific in field

The specialist bowler BK was struggling to get wkts 

If u call that a liability , son u need to check the meaning of liability again

5 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

In test - 

Pandya made runs

created wkts in field

took wkts 

gave rest to our bowlers who need it 

what did the specialist rohit sharma do, i can see pandya contribution way more then him 

In odi 

failed with bat but contributed with bowl 

Was terrific in field

The specialist bowler BK was struggling to get wkts 

If u call that a liability , son u need to check the meaning of liability again

So your underline assumption is that no one else would have taken wkts or scored runs. Only Pandya and Pandya only is capable of that.

Rohit is a completely different topic and he was going thru slump. I wanted him benched for a while now. So let us not mix that up.

But if your assunption is that Pandya is better than Rohit the batsman and Bhuvi the bowler that we have long bridge to gap.

Kindly dont talk down to me. I have very respectful of you as a poster because you put lot of effort on your posts and even I disagree with you I do respect you.

4 minutes ago, Khota said:

So your underline assumption is that no one else would have taken wkts or scored runs. Only Pandya and Pandya only is capable of that.

I dont see anyone capable of contributig in all 3 department ...

U have any player in mind who wud ...let me know. 

Rohit is a completely different topic and he was going thru slump. I wanted him benched for a while now. So let us not mix that up.

Wasnt he n pandya competing for no.6 spot so how is it a diff topic

But if your assunption is that Pandya is better than Rohit the batsman and Bhuvi the bowler that we have long bridge to gap.

Pandya the test batsman is better then rohit sharma

Well pandya did better as bowler then bhuvi in Odi series. N if i take their bowling odi stats i doubt their wud be much of a diff

M not saying anything, m just showing what happen. 

Kindly dont talk down to me. I have very respectful of you as a poster because you put lot of effort on your posts and even I disagree with you I do respect you.

M answer have been pretty respectful now , i dnt recall me abusing u till now 

Nobody asked Pandya to be fifth bowler or fill in bowler who is there is just to give main pacers a break. It is Pandya inability to be a strike bowler or leading bowler is making him a part timer. That is the point Binny and others are making. People are throwing stats at them comparing with Kapil Dev.

Kapil/Botham had better bowling stats than Imran Khan initially but even both of them would agree Imran Khan became a world class pace bowler which they never could become.

Pandya does not have ability to become that leading bowler.This is his bowling issue.

Does Pandya have batting ability to merit a place in the team , no he does not have the ability to handle especially fast bowlers. 

How the heck is he an allrounder if he can't merit a place either a bowler or batsman. Okay if we go by potential and give him a sustained run does he have ability to become an allrounder , I don't think so.

How is he better than Stuart Binny. To me Binny was better bowler than this guy ( in helpful conditions) , Pandya other than banging in short I don't see any other skill. 

Pandya has been around Indian team for a for while and I don't see any growth in his bowling.

Raina made his debut earlier than Kohli and yet Kohli became batting star , nobody gave Kohli no3 position, he made most of his chances and by his performances he overtook lot of players who debuted before.

Kapil Dev did not light up the world when he made his debut and was averaging 54 after 6 tests in 1978 but next year he took 74 wickets with 22 avg  in 1979 breaking then world record.

Does Pandya has this ability????

Edited by putrevus

Think Binny got it Vise-Versa. He has the ability to perform with the bat but his bowling skills are nowhere near to that of an all-rounder. Ben stokes has the ability to swing the ball, whereas Woakes can seam it around and Pandya has none except for the pace. This may help us in limited over internationals, but in Test cricket he will be a liability. 

21 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

I dont see anyone capable of contributig in all 3 department ...

U have any player in mind who wud ...let me know. 

Wasnt he n pandya competing for no.6 spot so how is it a diff topic

Pandya the test batsman is better then rohit sharma

Well pandya did better as bowler then bhuvi in Odi series. N if i take their bowling odi stats i doubt their wud be much of a diff

M not saying anything, m just showing what happen. 

M answer have been pretty respectful now , i dnt recall me abusing u till now 

There is the fundamental difference. I want one person to contribute in his speciality. Little bit here and there is not the way go.

Rohit is better than Pandya in batting. I wont even discuss that.

Bhuvi is better than Pandya in bowling. I will not dicuss that.

Calling someone a son is very patronizing remark. Let it and go and let us move. I dont think you meant anything bad.

Recap:

Rohit>>pandya in batting

Bhuvi>>>Pandya in bowling.

Edited by Khota
9 hours ago, Khota said:

There is the fundamental difference. I want one person to contribute in his speciality. Little bit here and there is not the way go.

A contribution is a contribution

Pandya 90+ was as good a contribution as any batsman in Sa wud and apart from kohli none came close to that score. 

Pandya bowled brilliantly as a bowler in Odi , thats a contribution

His fielding was an asset thats a contribution

Small small contributions also matter

A specialist if fails in one dept cannot come back n do much, but an all rounder wud. 

9 hours ago, Khota said:

Rohit is better than Pandya in batting. I wont even discuss that.

Bhuvi is better than Pandya in bowling. I will not dicuss that.

Calling someone a son is very patronizing remark. Let it and go and let us move. I dont think you meant anything bad.

Recap:

Rohit>>pandya in batting

Bhuvi>>>Pandya in bowling.

Pandya is a better test batsman then rohit sharma 

Pandya has a 100 outside india, rohit doesnt have it in test

Pandya made 90+ in one innings in Sa and if i combine rohit 2 tours it ll be less then that or almost their and then pandya has 4 ,5 wkts as well..............so rohit sharma has no claim at no 6 over pandya

even ashwin n bhuvi are better batsman then rohit in test cricket

yes bhuvi is a better bowler but pandya is a better batsman 

9 hours ago, putrevus said:

Nobody asked Pandya to be fifth bowler or fill in bowler who is there is just to give main pacers a break. It is Pandya inability to be a strike bowler or leading bowler is making him a part timer. That is the point Binny and others are making. People are throwing stats at them comparing with Kapil Dev.

Somebody has to be the 5th bowler 

Its ur inability to understand he is not a bowler , he is an all rounder. 

Binny was a better bowler :phehe::phehe::phehe::phehe::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::giggle::giggle::phehe::phehe::phehe::phehe::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::giggle::giggle::phehe::phehe::phehe::phehe::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::giggle::giggle::phehe::phehe::phehe::phehe::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::laugh1::giggle::giggle:

Kapil/Botham had better bowling stats than Imran Khan initially but even both of them would agree Imran Khan became a world class pace bowler which they never could become.

So who knws what pandya will become, u aint bejan daruwala that ull predict the future

Pandya does not have ability to become that leading bowler.This is his bowling issue.

Do u think ben stokes can be the lead bowler 

Does Pandya have batting ability to merit a place in the team , no he does not have the ability to handle especially fast bowlers. 

Yes pandya merits a place as power hitting batsman in ODi team over anyone

Find me one better power hitter then hardik pandya in whole country to play at 7 

How the heck is he an allrounder if he can't merit a place either a bowler or batsman. Okay if we go by potential and give him a sustained run does he have ability to become an allrounder , I don't think so.

so get ur accumen check becoz the likes of sachin, akram, ganguly think otherwise and they are much more intelligent then u 

How is he better than Stuart Binny. To me Binny was better bowler than this guy ( in helpful conditions) , Pandya other than banging in short I don't see any other skill. 

About ur question - how is he better then binny

He is a better hitter

he is hits the deck hard 

He bowlers 10-15km quicker 

he is an oustanding fielder , binny was avg 

He has played many crucial knocks, binny wud have played hardly one or 2

on a soggy pitch binny wud be even better then shami,umesh and many but u aint playing in ireland everyday 

yes other he has good slower ball n yorker only bif u watch cricket. 

Did u watch SA Odi series where pandya bowled brilliantly. Pandya was MOM in his debut odi game for his bowling 

He picks a wkt every game which is the similar ratio to bhuvi 

Pandya has been around Indian team for a for while and I don't see any growth in his bowling.

To tv dekh pe match dekh, kisne bola hai aaj tak pe vikran gupta ki bakwas sun ne ko

Raina made his debut earlier than Kohli and yet Kohli became batting star , nobody gave Kohli no3 position, he made most of his chances and by his performances he overtook lot of players who debuted before.

Kapil Dev did not light up the world when he made his debut and was averaging 54 after 6 tests in 1978 but next year he took 74 wickets with 22 avg  in 1979 breaking then world record.

Does Pandya has this ability????

Lets see how good or bad pandya is..........till now their is nothing that can be taken against his perfomance