Are we missing Pandya already?

zen

Just now, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who other

Rohit - he has been more of a failure

Vihari- dropped for rohit not pandya , reason biasness and vihari still only has 1-50

Nair- again mishandled 

Pandya also has been dropped

U cnt go in a match thinking 4 bowler will be enough and ull get same wkts all around the world as u did in SA n ENG. Pandya did came in handy in 3rd test when ashwin got injured and when we dropped him in 5th test our bowler ended up bowling way to much 

He does offer u 2nd skill and captain will always like to have that  . Ye sab baaten se captain ko kya matalb bits n pieces n all....he ll always look at the need of the team

That option is mostly on paper, he didn't bowl much and wasn't required most of the time.

10 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

kuldeep was in england to where he struggled and kuldeep cnt bat 

So 

Kuldeep took a 5fer in aus

pandya in england 

So , yes kuldeep is a better bowler but they aint competing for same spot . Pandya will play as all rounder and kuldeep as bowler

Do you really believe that Pandya would have had more impact than Kuldeep here? If you do we really don't have a common ground.

1 minute ago, Khota said:

The bar is low for Pandya. Did you not know that he provides rest to pace bowlers. Who else in the world can do that.

True. What is failure for others is success for Pandya. Enough to create fans who believe that he should play all matches with that performance.

3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

who other

Rohit - he has been more of a failure

Vihari- dropped for rohit not pandya , reason biasness and vihari still only has 1-50

Nair- again mishandled 

Pandya also has been dropped

U cnt go in a match thinking 4 bowler will be enough and ull get same wkts all around the world as u did in SA n ENG. Pandya did came in handy in 3rd test when ashwin got injured and when we dropped him in 5th test our bowler ended up bowling way to much 

He does offer u 2nd skill and captain will always like to have that  . Ye sab baaten se captain ko kya matalb bits n pieces n all....he ll always look at the need of the team

Pandya is competing with Vihari, no 6 batting spot. We are trying to find a batsman who can do well at that position. Pandya doesn't seem to have that kind of batting atm.

9 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

@Ankit_sharma03 What's are expectations from Pandya and what type of performance would be acceptable.

For anyone batting at no 6, acceptable level is avg of 42-45 with ability to play tail. Can Pandya do it? When was the last time a batsman averaging in 30s in Indian FC averaged 40+ in internation.

If expectation is bat avg of 30 with bowling burden similar to par timer, then that's not much different from others who are failing.

ru assuming he ll avg 30 his whole life, coz ur in for surprise

M no jyotishi that ill predict what he ll avg.....ill be happy with 35+......

stokes who is conisdered so good avg 33 and even shakib avg 39.....so why is ur expectation from pandya of 45

3 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

That option is mostly on paper, he didn't bowl much and wasn't required most of the time.

as i said u cnt go thinking n predicting in the test and end reality he still ended up winning us in england the only test we won 

1 minute ago, Trichromatic said:

Pandya is competing with Vihari, no 6 batting spot. We are trying to find a batsman who can do well at that position. Pandya doesn't seem to have that kind of batting atm.

and we also need someone who can roll his arm over for 10-15 over.....and vihari is yet to prove with bat and his bowling over a period of time wud be tested to

3 minutes ago, Khota said:

Do you really believe that Pandya would have had more impact than Kuldeep here? If you do we really don't have a common ground.

anything can happen in cricket

did u expect him to win u a game in england and yet he did, on ur face

6 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

stokes who is conisdered so good avg 33 and even shakib avg 39.....so why is ur expectation from pandya of 45

No I am not. If he plays FC cricket and develops his batting then he can. I have posted that earlier. He needs to play 2 Ranji seasons for that.

If you are assuming that a batsman averaging below 30 in domestics will automatically become a good batsman in international then you're in for a surprise. It doesn't happen with batsmen. Try finding one Indian batsman who averaged below 30 in domestics and went to avg even high 30s with bat.

It works with bowling where you can fast track a player based on potential and he can develop with time directly in international, but it doesn't work with batsmen. 

1. Stokes plays in a team which has 8-9 batsmen so his 33 avg is considered valuable. India needs strong top 6. England has systematically removed bowlers who can't hold bat from current generation. Can India afford to remove Bumrah?

2. Even high 30s would be acceptable if he bowls like front line bower just like Shakib. 

5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

as i said u cnt go thinking n predicting in the test and end reality he still ended up winning us in england the only test we won 

and we also need someone who can roll his arm over for 10-15 over.....and vihari is yet to prove with bat and his bowling over a period of time wud be tested to

He and others lost more games.

No I am not. If he plays FC cricket and develops his batting then he can. I have posted that earlier. He needs to play 2 Ranji seasons for that.

DO u see any time he ll get for that....

If you are assuming that a batsman averaging below 30 in domestics will automatically become a good batsman in international then you're in for a surprise. It doesn't happen with batsmen. Try finding one Indian batsman who averaged below 30 in domestics and went to avg even high 30s with bat.

Ok lets see who is for a surprise 

same batsman who avg 50 in domestic were struggling to reach 50 in eng and this guy almost made a 100

It works with bowling where you can fast track a player based on potential and he can develop with time directly in international, but it doesn't work with batsmen. 

1. Stokes plays in a team which has 8-9 batsmen so his 33 avg is considered valuable. India needs strong top 6.

2. Even high 30s would be acceptable if he bowls like front line bower just like Shakib. 

stokes will be picked in most team throughout the world which will not have 8-9 batting options, team do need that 5th bowling option

22 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

And somehow people believe that since others are failing then it's acceptable to have Pandya performing at similar levels.

This moronic thinking that Pandya is there to provide relief to bowlers in ridiculous.Vihari along with Pujara enabled to absorb pressure which allowed Pant and Jadeja to cash in on tiring bowlers.

They need to find a batsman who can bowl. For that Pandya has to become far better batsman.His roles are reversed in Odis though, they need his bowling more than his batting.I can sympathize with him  as expecations are high for him but we still don't know what his strong suite is bowling or batting.

Pandya has not shown any  improvement, to me he is following Rahul's footsteps more concerned about fame outside the game than his game itself.

7 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

same batsman who avg 50 in domestic were struggling to reach 50 in eng and this guy almost made a 100

That's just poor logic.

Success in FC doesn't guarantee success in internationals.

Failures in domestic has always been guaranteed failure international without exception in case of Indian cricket.

Again try finding single batsman who has averaged below 30 in domestic and averaged high 30s in internationals.

5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

stokes will be picked in most team throughout the world which will not have 8-9 batting options, team do need that 5th bowling option

Stokes will be picked by most teams as they are poor teams. Here you're looking to strengthen world no 1 team.

DO u see any time he ll get for that....

It's upto BCCI how to handle such rare talent.

Ok lets see who is for a surprise 

Then you're just expecting magic to happen

13 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Bhai Pandyas comparison with Stokes are so absurd. Stokes with his bowling strike rate of less than 60 would walk in as third seamer in lots of teams.

22 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

True. What is failure for others is success for Pandya. Enough to create fans who believe that he should play all matches with that performance.

Atleast he should get next 30 games. He deserves it. It takes that much time to develope him.

20 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Another subtle thing about sports. You should never leave anything on chance. 

These are subtle things you are missing, you always need to play a very high percentage stuff.

Now you will come up with ten useless facts where things on chance worked out. real life is different.

Never ever leave anything on chance.

11 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

That's just poor logic.

Success in FC doesn't guarantee success in internationals.

Failures in domestic has always been guaranteed failure international without exception in case of Indian cricket.

Again try finding single batsman who has averaged below 30 in domestic and averaged high 30s in internationals.

Stokes will be picked by most teams as they are poor teams. Here you're looking to strengthen world no 1 team.

He is not getting it. There is no room in Indian team for non performers or who in future might come thru.