Your unpopular opinion thread

Stradlater

@Gollum let me quote your points one by one. 

41 minutes ago, UrmiSinhaRay said:

Nehru was a good PM, as was Indira Gandhi. Rot started with that Italian lady's entry into GOP. 

Nehru wasn’t. His lack of spine created the whole Kashmir mess. We lost a war under him. Wining or Losing a war doesn’t always define a great leader, however this mofo didn’t want an army to begin with. If you read the horror stories of the brave soldiers during the Chinese war who fought without supplies or equipment, your blood will boil. This guy fked an up entire future generations with pseudo history. Do we even know Bose’s contribution in bleeding out the British? Do we learn Vallabhai Patel’s contribution or Ambedkar’s role in creating the constitution in school.

Bose still doesn’t have the bharat ratna. Ambedkar and Patel got it in the 90s under the Chandrasekhar regime.

I used to think Mughals ruled entire India when I read History in school where as the Vijaynagar empire was a footnote which had a lot more land mass of present day India than the Mughal empire.

We always learnt Indians were pacifist pussies who always took a beating and all the battles we won were not even  mentioned.

India had one of the worst famines after Nehru and we need to thank Lal Bahadur Shastri for the green revolution. Nehru was in a position to set things right as the first PM of India even though Patel was the unanimous choice and this guy politicked his way in.

Despite  all the progress we made in the last 25+ years we still have a **** loads of issues thanks to this “chacha”.

Don’t give me bs like he founded educational institutions, our elite educational institutions at best have produced bureaucrats or  students who are good at taking orders. May be a handful of innovators and even that is debatable.

Indira Gandhi- emergency,license raj which drove India to the brink of bankruptcy. Creating a conflict with our Sikh brothers who are the sons of this soil as much as Hindus and not some foreign ideology .

Yes she won a war but as I said winning or losing wars doesn’t make one a great leader case in point Rani of Jhansi. In fact it is said that the Army genreals had to feign ignorance in receiving some orders to carry out some missions in hastening the fall of Dhaka.

These guys have singlehandedly made a mockery of India. British and Mughals couldn’t kill the resilience of the people of our great nation but these guys have done more damage to our pshyce than the foreign invaders.

I was going to address each point of yours but this rant took a lot out of me so will save it for later.

Edited by maniac

8 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

@maniac Vijaynagar had more area than Mughals. When the heck did that happen? 

Also the role of Indira Gandhi in Sikh militancy is massively exaggerated. The seeds of the movement were sown way back during the1920s.

Vijay nagar empire at its peak covered huge parts of south India,Maharashtra and Goa ,a more significant piece  of our history than Tuglkaq, qutubuddin aibak and other douchebags isn’t it?

Can someone tell me how far and wide Mughal empire was spread during the Akbar Shajahan era? 

Edited by maniac

@Stradlater we can argue the semantics of the actual land mass area etc but the very fact that we have a chapter dedicated every Islamic invader but an empire which ruled a significant land mass of present day India is totally kept out. 

I dont know what the syllabus or ciricullum is now but every middle school kid knows who Tughlaq is or Qutubuddin Aibak is. What are the odds they knew who Krishna Deva Raya is or Hampi which was a significant trading city of medieval India?

The Ahom dynasty of Assam defeated the Mughal empire in its peak. Do we even learn that? 

The Portuguese were defeated by a small obscure kingdom in Kerala.

All we learn is the beating we took by Mughals and the foreign invaders.

We learn that we won Azaadi due to ahimsa which did jack **** for us. British left us after world war 2 and also netajj’s azad hind fauj that gave an alternative to the soldier. 

24 minutes ago, maniac said:

Vijay nagar empire at its peak covered huge parts of south India,Maharashtra and Goa ,a more significant piece  of our history than Tuglkaq, qutubuddin aibak and other douchebags isn’t it?

Can someone tell me how far and wide Mughal empire was spread during the Akbar Shajahan era? 

The Mughal empire at it's peak encompassed an area almost double the size of Vijaynagar at it's fullest.

I understand your grievances regarding history teaching in India. This is what happens when you have fraud historians such as the likes of Thapars and Chandras occupying chief positions for decades. It will take loong loong time for the narrative to change in our textbooks.

The whole field is dominated to the core by the leftist historians.

@Gollum I had high hopes from BJP with regards to it that we would finally see an end to leftist hegemony from Indian historiography scene. They disappointed as usual.

Cricket was never meant to be a global sport and will never be one.

In the Georgian era UK, cricket was played without any rules and for fun, gambling was very common too. Only when Victorian era began, complex rules were made keeping the Victorian morality and Anglo Saxon Protestantism in mind, which is why test players wear white, it is the colour of purity and Christ.

Cricket was exported to colonies not for fun and games but to civilize them with Victorian morals, the game was specifically designed for the Englishman and had no philosophical similarities with the local culture of the colonies.

Which is the reason why you will never find and Italian enjoy cricket because it's philosophically British sport and the colonies enjoy it because they obviously remained colonies long enough to develop a taste for the game.

9 hours ago, Stradlater said:

The hell man!!

I don't even know where to begin. Obviously I disagree with a lot of these but hey it's an unpopular opinion thread after all.

Even then the way you clubbed Desi music in one and rated it above certain famous international musical groups is as blasphemous as it gets. Didn't expect this from a refined poster like you :/

PS: And yes Muloghonto will eat you alive. Good luck lol.

Come on man, I was doing justice to the thread title :p:. These are just random musings made well past midnight, don't fret over it. Another day I will have an entirely different outlook regarding the same points I made. I am not steadfast regarding many of my opinions, just like most people I guess. 

Coming to desi music I clubbed them in one because I didn't want to deviate from the thread title or get into specifics. Of course I don't rate entire spectrum of desi music as great and all international music groups as less, just my observation as a whole (best vs best, average vs average) based on my limited experience. Besides I don't want to make mulo/tibarn type essays over one random opinion. It is a subtle and vast topic that will spark long winded debates, perhaps leave it for another day . 

I am ready for mulo even though I have had this same debate with him on countless occasions in the sports sub forum. And yeah unlike me he will carry his viewpoints to the grave.

@maniac chill. This thread by @Stradlater bro is in a lighter vein. Don't get so serious or emotional. We can get into the specifics about history or Indian politics in another thread, plenty of old threads to dig up. I guess the point of this thread was to have fun or provoke generally held conventions, nothing more to it. At least I certainly wasn't expecting to indulge in serious, intellectual pursuits here...typed the first things that came in my mind. 

Nagraj and his team of "Brahmand Ke Rakshak" superheros from Raj Comic wipes the floor with The Avengers and anything else Marvel has to offer.

Tolerance does not necessarily mean endorsing and encouraging behavior you disagree with.

Lesbian porn is the best thing to happen to humanity.

Vampire Diaries had a pretty decent concept when it first started airing.

I didn't like Uri. The flare of emotions and deshbhakti abound in bollywood films never work for me.

Atheists are more annoying than religious people. This I say despite practically being an atheist/agnostic.

Hitler gets too much flak because of the powerful Jewish lobby. There have been much more brutal dictators such as Pol Pot/Stalin/Mao whose crimes have been swept under the rug to make Hitler look like Satan reincarnated. Similarly nobody wants to talk about how Western imperialist powers practically raped China during 19th century with Japan providing icing on cake with Nanking massacre.

I think Arranged marriage is a lot more fun and the criticism directed at it is totally unjustified.

Akbar was actually a pretty decent emperor if we ignore some of his questionable acts committed during his teenage years(Chittor massacre).

Bengali intellectuals deserve a "zordar g**d pe laat" (Take a note @Muloghonto

Hindus are the most chewtia qaum on this planet and deserve to be ridiculed.

All the nonsensical rituals and customs in Hinduism adds to its beauty and are pretty fun. Think it's the most chilled out religion in terms of festivals.

2 hours ago, Stradlater said:

Nagraj and his team of "Brahmand Ke Rakshak" superheros from Raj Comic wipes the floor with The Avengers and anything else Marvel has to offer.

Good point. I say both Diamond and Raj comics had more entertaining content than DC/Marvel for readers with Indian background. Add Champak, Tinkle, Amar Chitra Katha, Indrajal and we guys have a pretty formidable comics collection. Hope to see some of those characters represented in movies and web series...but not under the supervision of the typical good for nothing general Bollywood chewt artistes. I say more in the spirit of the Malgudi Days adaptation by Shankar Nag. 

Hitler gets too much flak because of the powerful Jewish lobby. There have been much more brutal dictators such as Pol Pot/Stalin/Mao whose crimes have been swept under the rug to make Hitler look like Satan reincarnated. Similarly nobody wants to talk about how Western imperialist powers practically raped China during 19th century with Japan providing icing on cake with Nanking massacre.

Again agree, Jewish lobby is cunning as *.

Yup and very easy on the eyes. In fact I always had a liking for vampire/werewolf/witch themed entertainment shows and TVD had the potential to be the best in that genre.  

Bengali intellectuals deserve a "zordar g**d pe laat"

Harsh but present ones have brought it upon themselves. Also add Mallu, Tamil, Punjabi "so called" intellectuals to your GPL list. The toxic left wing ecosystem (in academics, culture, politics, media, entertainment) has contributions from all types of backgrounds but these 4 deserve special mention. I don't have anything against the common folk but boy are there some A grade assholes in their mix. UP and Maharshtra too produce such samples but behind the big 4. Of course not including Muslims and Christians who are pan India, strictly talking about the Hindu/Sikh qaum. 

Realistically speaking, Kashmiri Pandit exodus was not the worst thing that happened otherwise a mass extinction pogrom awaited them. I find more fault in how inept the govt was at that time in the population migration and how they failed to rehabilitate KPs elsewhere with more dignity and compensation. I am glad we have only Muslims left in the valley, hope our bravehearts finish all the termite jihadis still lurking there, enforce Xinjiang type discipline amongst the entire population and make those disgusting rats pay. No need of restraint, no more pro-India Hindus/Sikhs left there so we have nothing to lose. 

Tolerance does not necessarily mean endorsing and encouraging behavior you disagree with.

Lesbian porn is the best thing to happen to humanity.

I didn't like Uri. The flare of emotions and deshbhakti abound in bollywood films never work for me.

Atheists are more annoying than religious people. This I say despite practically being an atheist/agnostic.

Really Jews are so much powerful ?
Because mainstream Media is nowadays slowly creeping towards hating Israel.
(Women's march and accusations of anti semitism)

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

27 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Good point. I say both Diamond and Raj comics had more entertaining content than DC/Marvel for readers with Indian background. Add Champak, Tinkle, Amar Chitra Katha, Indrajal and we guys have a pretty formidable comics collection. Hope to see some of those characters represented in movies and web series...but not under the supervision of the typical good for nothing general Bollywood chewt artistes. I say more in the spirit of the Malgudi Days adaptation by Shankar Nag. 

What made these comic stand out from the rest was the smart integration of Indian mythology in their universe to which most of us could relate.Not to mention the use of scientific principles which gave the whole universe a legitimacy. I believe it was under Anupam Sinha when Raj Comic truly reached at its peak. I remember reading them religiously in my childhood and had a huge collection specially devoted to Nagraj And Dhruv.

Yup and very easy on the eyes. In fact I always had a liking for vampire/werewolf/witch themed entertainment shows and TVD had the potential to be the best in that genre.  

I have been a huge fan of this genre but sadly there had been a very few good quality works done in it this reducing it as a joke of genre esp marketed to teenage girls. Despite that , I enjoyed reading Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice.

Vampire Diaries , I believe, could have been a game changer had they decided to maintain it's darker theme and sidelined Elena and other stupid chicks. Damon is a very underrated character but that biatch Elena and her gang of giggly girls ruined the whole fukin show for me.

Harsh but present ones have brought it upon themselves. Also add Mallu, Tamil, Punjabi "so called" intellectuals to your GPL list. The toxic left wing ecosystem (in academics, culture, politics, media, entertainment) has contributions from all types of backgrounds but these 4 deserve special mention. I don't have anything against the common folk but boy are there some A grade assholes in their mix. UP and Maharshtra too produce such samples but behind the big 4. Of course not including Muslims and Christians who are pan India, strictly talking about the Hindu/Sikh qaum. 

The thing with Bengali intellectuals is though that they are the most attention seeking of the lot and would constantly argue just for the sake of it. The other day , this lady on Twitter drew parallels between Bhagat Singh and Afzal Guru asking why the former is so venerated when infact he was nothing short of a terrorist.

People like these make me lose my mind. 

And @Gollum The Dalit intellectuals which you have praised earlier are even the worst. They call Hindu Gods all sort of names and organize events in JNU in praise of Mahishasur, calling Goddess Durga the names which I can't mention here. There is even a famous book published by that lot wherein they claim that Mahishasur was originally a Moolnivasi who was killed by trickery by Durga , a malicious Aryan lady.

Ye sab harami hai mere bhai. 

25 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Realistically speaking, Kashmiri Pandit exodus was not the worst thing that happened otherwise a mass extinction pogrom awaited them. I find more fault in how inept the govt was at that time in the population migration and how they failed to rehabilitate KPs elsewhere with more dignity and compensation. I am glad we have only Muslims left in the valley, hope our bravehearts finish all the termite jihadis still lurking there, enforce Xinjiang type discipline amongst the entire population and make those disgusting rats pay. No need of restraint, no more pro-India Hindus/Sikhs left there so we have nothing to lose. 

I will never forgive Indian Govt the way they have dealt with the entire Kashmir issue. People from my area have been dropping off like flies , killed by Pakistani cockroaches and all we hear from the Centre is silence on the issue.

Last month only a distant cousin who got married only 10 days before , was martyred in Kashmir. I'm sick of all this tamasha that's been going on.

Jawan ki jaan ki koi kimat nahi hai. Bas yaha to Uri picture dekh lo , deshbhakti ki post dal lo aur Jai Shree Ram. Bas apana kam Poora.

The thing with Bengali intellectuals is though that they are the most attention seeking of the lot and would constantly argue just for the sake of it. The other day , this lady on Twitter drew parallels between Bhagat Singh and Afzal Guru asking why the former is so venerated when infact he was nothing short of a terrorist.
People like these make me lose my mind. 
And [mention=17917]Gollum[/mention] The Dalit intellectuals which you have praised earlier are even the worst. They call Hindu Gods all sort of names and organize events in JNU in praise of Mahishasur, calling Goddess Durga the names which I can't mention here. There is even a famous book published by that lot wherein they claim that Mahishasur was originally a Moolnivasi who was killed by trickery by Durga , a malicious Aryan lady.

Ye sab harami hai mere bhai. 

A problem with Aryan Invasion theory scholars is they try to interpret Vedic and Puranic stories and stuff like Mahabharata and Ramayana as History to malign Hindus while they are clear mythologies on par with Roman/Greek/Nordic stories.

Also:
Durga is actually thought to be originally a Munda/IVC goddess (other thought is that she is a manifestation of Inanna-Ishtar who was imported to India and eventually merged with Parvati) so Mahishashur thing is a big joke

Yeah - I agree ,this Dalit groups are vilemost termites .
Isko concentration camp mein daal do.
They really needs to be treated like how they pretend upper castes treat them..
(I am a Hajong tribal from Meghalaya, btw)

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk