Pranab Mukherjee , Nanaji Deshmukh and Bhupen Hazarika awarded Bharat Ratna

3 hours ago, rageaddict said:

IMG_20190126_135942.jpg

:facepalm:

Southies whining and bringing the North-South issue again. Even awarding someone from Assam and WB is considered as an appeasement  of Cow Belt Naaaaarth Indian Sanghis. 

Not surprised which state in South is at forefront of spewing hatred against Rest of the country these days. 

The guy has Rajiv Gandhi's picture as his avatar. For all we know he might be a Congressi stooge playing divide and hate politics.

Kabhi dimag bhi laga liya kar thoda.

14 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

If BJP can just lay off the 'patit-pawan-siyya-raam-leela' hindugiri, atleast in Bong-land, Bengal would be theirs for the taking. The main reason Bongland tilted Commie, in the first place, is because of the feeling of every damn Bengali that Congress not only completely undermined and covered up Netaji's contributions, but Bengalis, who were the foremost contributor to the freedom struggle in terms of creating problems for the British ( and this is indisputable - there were more Bong inmates sentences to Kalapani, for violent actions against the British Raj, than rest of India put together) were utterly ignored.

If BJP can correct this perception of historic injustice, by promoting the likes of Khudi Ram Bose (who is quite LITERALLY Bhagat Singh before Bhagat Singh) and the hoardes of Bengali revolutionaries that rest of India knows nothing about, Bengal would become a BJP bastion. 
Already the 'green tide' is worrying a lot of Bengalis but we are a proud people- we'd rather suffer than accept the likes of Congress who promote nobodies like Nehru or Bhagat Singh over the legions of Bongs who've done way, way more. 

Did I just read some Chewt calling Bhagat singh a nobody 

17 minutes ago, Mariyam said:

Strangely, no outrage here @Muloghonto calling Pandit Nehru a nobody. 

Well Nehru wasn't a nobody but has enjoyed more adulation than what he deserved. He got more from Indians than what he gave, his family still reigns supreme, so people tend to overlook criticisms directed towards him. If his dynast successors weren't such leeches maybe there would have been more sympathy for him. 

10 hours ago, Stradlater said:

How was Bhagat Singh a nobody you *ing moron? 

Take your Punjabi hate somewhere else midget.

When you do what has been done a dozen times before you, it makes you a nobody, not a trailblazer. Simple. 

17 hours ago, Under_Score said:

^^Shaheed Bhagat Singh the Martyr was hanged to death by the British when he was 23 years old and then there is a internet warrior who is hiding & most likely will call for an Ambulance due to exhaustion while folding his wife's laundry :wp3: ...bitter old man.

From the Wikipedia

220px-Shaheed_Bhagat_Singh._Rewalsar%2C_

Wall painting of Singh, Rewalsar, Himachal Pradesh.

Subhas Chandra Bose said that: "Bhagat Singh had become the symbol of the new awakening among the youths." Nehru acknowledged that Bhagat Singh's popularity was leading to a new national awakening, saying: "He was a clean fighter who faced his enemy in the open field ... he was like a spark that became a flame in a short time and spread from one end of the country to the other dispelling the prevailing darkness everywhere".[17] Four years after Singh's hanging, the Director of the Intelligence Bureau, Sir Horace Williamson, wrote: "His photograph was on sale in every city and township and for a time rivaled in popularity even that of Mr. Gandhi himself".[17]

He was nothing more than a plagiarist of Khudi Ram Bose and got more popularity for it because Congress was tilted towards punjab more than Bengal. A pucca nobody who's been elevated to hero status over a thousand others, because of politics.

10 hours ago, Gollum said:

@Muloghonto you can appreciate the Bengali freedom fighters without talking smack about others. To praise one icon , no need to bring another one down. Khudiram Bose was our youngest martyr and a predecessor of Bhagat Singh...but why insult the latter? Both those guys selflessly sacrificed their lives, something none of us are capable of doing. Kindly avoid this kind of talk.

Bhai, Bhagat Singh is a nobody in the freedom struggle, in the sense that what he did, literally thousands of others before him did equally or more. he is the Kim Kardashian of Indian independence struggle - getting way more publicity and adulation than he deserves based on his actions. This doesn't make him disrespectable or a leech or any such - just that he should've been a nobody like tens of thousands others like him. 

Another point, Bengali intellectuals have occupied high offices in academic institutions and think tanks for 7 decades now, in fact disproportionately represented. What stopped them from giving due credit to the Bengalis who fought in the freedom struggle? All easy to blame Congress and BJP, but Bengalis in positions of power have chosen to ignore certain aspects while OTOH appropriating and worshiping dynasts and icons from other countries....all a matter of convenience I am sure. How many local Bengalis know about Khudiram Bose or Prafulla Chaki? I have seen enough Bengali youngsters parading those hideous  Che T shirts and singing hymns about Marx, Lenin, Trotsky but with no awareness about their own forefathers of 100-200 years back. 

1. I have no idea what makes you think that Bengali intellectuals working for public works or the civil service has any say in who gets the awards - which are usually 100% politically determined, as in by the politicians.

2. Never met a Bengali yet who's not heard of Khudi Ram Bose. Though my touch with the below 25 age group is weak these days, i'd be shocked if there is a single bengali in that group who spent any time in Bengal that doesn't know of Khudi Ram Bose.

You claim Bengal voted the commies into power because of the perception that Congress was undermining their heroes. But what did commies do? Did they correct historical wrongs? Last I remember they imported more leftist cultural icons from foreign shores like Ho Chi Minh, Castro, Mao etc. What does an average Bengali have to do with Ho Chi Minh Sarani in the middle of Park Street Area? They were given a continuous run for 35 years during which they only took the state backwards and didn't even inspire a cultural or intellectual resurgence. * that, they (and TMC) sidelined Bengali speaking Muslims to give more prominence to the Urdu speakers. Everything great about Bengal was systematically destroyed by them and now Mamata has taken it a step further. Congress and Left have more imprint in the state than BJP, some pockets are their bastions. In places like Malda, Murshidabad, Dinajpur even TMC can't touch them.  

Yes.  All True. This doesn't change the fact though that Bengal tilted CPM due to the sense amongst Bengalis that Congress was suppressing the simple fact that we Bengali hindus did more revolutionary action against the British than rest of the country put together.

As i said, this is not a bombastic claim, this is easily corroborated by anyone who'd visit Kalapani and see the jail cell rosters - thats where the Brits stuffed any and all Indian guilty of violent crimes against the Raj as well as high profile political prisoners and the name-sheets line each and every cell or cell-block. Bong names are there more than rest of India put together. 

BJP will be resisted in Bengal not entirely because of the party's fault but because Bongs have become lazy, too smart for their own good and for lack of a better vocabulary I will say masochists.

BJP will be resisted as long as Bengalis feel that BJP is keen to push the VHP version of 'Islamized hindu' ideals that the Hindi belt follows. 

They enjoy their own humiliation and pain, almost as if they want to go to extreme lengths to nullify the great strides Bengal made over 2 centuries, a spite on the faces of the great generations of a bygone era. I don't think they are worried about the green tide, I mean if partition riots and 1971 couldn't move them, what has changed now? I am sure Bengalis will open heartedly welcome subjugation by the Muslim masters. Isn't that what it was always like? Right from surrendering to Bakhtiyar Khilji's 2 dozen horsemen till the arrival of British wasn't it the same community who not once attempted to throw the yokes of the Bengal Sultans?

Err, Bhaktiyar Khilji's period saw the biggest destruction of institutional power in pre-printing press world and Bengal was a completely spent force from the internal struggle of Pal empire and the emerging Sen dynasty, which were both collectively KO-ed by the Cholas. Bengalis had little or no reason to overthrow the Bengal Sultans because most of them ruled via the hindu Bharo-bhuiyyan zamindari systems. 

Weren't they the people who converted en masse to Islam, 70% of Bengalis today practice the alien desert faith, farthest from its point of origin in South Asia.....why fear the green tide then? If push comes to shove I am sure almost all Bengalis will willingly accept Islam, rather than that taking back their dharmic roots. From my experience in the state it seems virtue signaling, moral posturing, feigning intellectual superiority etc are very important priorities for an average Bengali, I don't see BJP or even a Bengal based pro-Hindu nationalist political party in the future making inroads. 35 years Congress, another 45 years TMC and by then...you know what. 

Pains me to type all this, I will be the last person to harbor ill will towards Bengal but some truths need to be broadcast loud and clear, for the sake of Bengal's future. Bengalis have to take responsibility for their own decision making and make sincere efforts to do better, blaming others won't work..else one fine day they will lose everything. 

Yep, this is all true. The problem is, Bengalis lost the plot in the wake of Congressi suppression of Bongs, to completely go into the arms of the CPM, who put in several corrupt institutions in the region which plague the state even today.

10 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

When you do what has been done a dozen times before you, it makes you a nobody, not a trailblazer. Simple. 

Many soldiers laid their lives for us in the multiple wars we fought against Pakistan. Should Govt have stopped awarding the most brave ones PVCs after the first war because hey we are sorry that you died so heroically for our country but the thing is that we already awarded a bunch of these medals in '48 and '65 so I guess what you did in the field doesn't make you a standout anymore since it's been already done a dozen times before you. Cool fight though but not trailblazer worthy. 

And Oh yeah You are a nobody. Next please .

14 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

He was nothing more than a plagiarist of Khudi Ram Bose and got more popularity for it because Congress was tilted towards punjab more than Bengal. A pucca nobody who's been elevated to hero status over a thousand others, because of politics.

What a shameless bastard this guy is.

How can Mods ignore such pathetic posts from losers like him. I have seen even Pakistanis pay respect to the Shaheed but look at this midget trying to troll. Not even sparing his own national icons.

Wah ji Wah. You lot deserve Mamtha.

12 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

So every time someone wins an Olympic medal in some event he is nobody? Because that too has been done more than a dozen times before. Here we are talking about people laying down their lives, the ultimate sacrifice. Opposite of trailblazer isn't nobody. 

14 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

He didn't ask for hero status or fame. And what has plagiarism got to do with all this? We aren't talking about academic papers here, we are talking about 2 of our great icons and their role in lighting the spark of freedom struggle. Leave the politics out of it, doubt the martyrs gave a damn about all that or their legacy. Punjabis take pride in their heroes, good on them. If Bengalis celebrate the life of Khudiram Bose, no one will have any objections and he too will get fame. But is he that well known in his own state? Maybe if the Bengal govt gives his life and achievements as much coverage as they did recently with Allama Iqbal, that would be a good start towards giving him his due popularity. 

3 minutes ago, Gollum said:

So every time someone wins an Olympic medal in some event he is nobody? Because that too has been done more than a dozen times before. Here we are talking about people laying down their lives, the ultimate sacrifice. Opposite of trailblazer isn't nobody. 

He didn't ask for hero status or fame. And what has plagiarism got to do with all this? We aren't talking about academic papers here, we are talking about 2 of our great icons and their role in lighting the spark of freedom struggle. Leave the politics out of it, doubt the martyrs gave a damn about all that or their legacy. Punjabis take pride in their heroes, good on them. If Bengalis celebrate the life of Khudiram Bose, no one will have any objections and he too will get fame. But is he that well known in his own state? Maybe if the Bengal govt gives his life and achievements as much coverage as they did recently with Allama Iqbal, that would be a good start towards giving him his due popularity. 

Seriously though, Plagiarism?

:facepalm:Ye koi copyright issue hai kya

36 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

Many soldiers laid their lives for us in the multiple wars we fought against Pakistan. Should Govt have stopped awarding the most brave ones PVCs after the first war because hey we are sorry that you died so heroically for our country but the thing is that we already awarded a bunch of these medals in '48 and '65 so I guess what you did in the field doesn't make you a standout anymore since it's been already done a dozen times before you. Cool fight though but not trailblazer worthy. 

And Oh yeah You are a nobody. Next please .

Nope. The better analogy would be awarding a dude PVC for shooting a Pakistani infantry at the border and getting shot (and killed in return)...aka something LITERALLY thousands of others Indians have done and not gotten PVC for. 
Make no mistake - i count Bhagat Singh as a hero of the Independence struggle. But he should've been a nameless, faceless one like thousands of others before him based on his actions. His fame is an example of the saying 'timing is everything'. He was at the right place, at the right time to gain so much fame & infamy out of it. 

You accuse me of anti Punjabi/anti-Sikh mentality, but i can think of atleast a dozen Punjabi freedom fighters who i respect more than Bhagat Singh. 

33 minutes ago, Under_Score said:

That means you don't agree with Subhas Chandra Bose either who had words of praise for Bhagat Singh :facepalm:

I have word of praise for every single person who died for our independence - i just dont have any extra word of praise for Bhagat Singh to be such a known name. There are dozens of Punjabis more worthy than him. 

36 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Bhai, i dunno what the state of Bengal is currently re: education but if you told me 10 years ago that any random person in Bengal doesn't know who Khudi Ram bose is, i'd have laughed......

10 hours ago, Under_Score said:

You are a sadistic person, unlike you, I don't post crap about Bengali freedom fighters just to settle scores with a retard bong like you. 

Go ahead and post the  dozen names of Punjabi freedom fighters who deserved more praise than Shaheed Bhagat Singh you claimed.

Seriously ? 

A dozen is just a start. Fine, here you go:

Lala Lajpat Rai

Udham Singh

Kartar Singh

Sukhdev Thapar

Gurmukh Singh

Mohan Singh

Labh Singh Saini

Sardar Ajit Singh

Dharam Singh Hayatpur

Ripudaman Singh

Sadhu Singh Hamdard

Madan Lal Dhingra

And so many others more. Its sad that we know more about Bhagat Singh than any of these far more illustrious people for the independence struggle. 

14 hours ago, Under_Score said:

The above list you mentioned consists of already well known freedom fighters from Punjab. There is also a movie about Udham Singh who killed Micheal O' Dwyer who was responsible for the Jallianwala Bagh massacre.

Bhagat Singh stands out because he was different, he rationalized revolution, making it accessible for us to grasp its grandeur and audacity. Thus, he did not allow himself to be dismissed (like so many other unfortunate revolutionaries were and still are) as misguided, blood thirsty, thrill seeking, religiously motivated, fanatic, intolerant, illiberal, ‘communal’ nationalists.

Also Bhagat Singh was the English speaking Marxist atheist ( and you are calling him a 'Nobody  :hmmm:)

You just want to argue & debate on various different topics, your views don't align with normal thinking people.

All of the above were way, way more influential and did way more in terms of independence struggle than 'mr right place at right time' Bhagat Singh.