Pranab Mukherjee , Nanaji Deshmukh and Bhupen Hazarika awarded Bharat Ratna

These awards don't mean much, lost relevance a long time ago. Pranab doesn't deserve it,maybe just to spite the Gandhis and keeping Bengal politics in mind.

Pranab's son Abhijit was my next door neighbor and a colleague of my dad in SAIL, have seen enough of that family for many years, the daughter was one of my playmates in nursery/KG before shifting to a girl's convent. They were always nice and friendly as was Pranab, so don't want to throw muck. I don't mean to exaggerate but he had pretty poor reputation (corrupt contract deal with a foreign company)...Pranab used his strings to get the son promoted and transferred to Delhi HQ at a record young age in the history of the company, this despite him never having set foot in the shop floor. Later he got elected as MP on Congress ticket. I am not saying this because I hate Congress, Rajnath Singh's relative was the biggest crook in the history of SAIL and ran the company at the age of 54, despicable family...at least the Mukherjees weren't trouble makers in the society. 

Pranab is also a shady character, brand mascot of corporate cronyism and a dedicated lifelong lapdog of the Ambanis. All I am saying is that an award like Bharat Ratna should go to people with impeccable reputation and not the Sachins and Pranabs. But hey who am I kidding?

And why this fascination for awarding it to deceased persons? It opens up a pandora's box, where will it stop? I can list 150 deceased Indians of the last 75 years who deserve it...does Modi want to go down that route?

Utter disgrace !!!! 

11 minutes ago, Gollum said:

ompany at the age of 54, despicable family...at least the Mukherjees weren't trouble makers in the society. 

Pranab is also a shady character, brand mascot of corporate cronyism and a dedicated lifelong lapdog of the Ambanis. All I am saying is that an award like Bharat Ratna should go to people with impeccable reputation and not the Sachins and Pranabs. But hey who am I kidding?

And why this fascination for awarding it to deceased persons? It op

bharat ratna became a joke when a sitting PM awarded to herself. all these awards have no meaning other than being used for electoral politics. 

Happy to note that now more people will have awareness about the late Bhupen Hazarika, probably the greatest icon of the North East. Not just NE but even in Bengal and Bangladesh he has cult following. Wish it had come when he was alive, posthumous awards mean nothing. 

Rudaali's soundtrack is my all time favorite and the 'Ganga behti ho kyun' song is something that plays in my car stereo almost on a daily basis.

Aaj ki raat Bhupen ji ke saath, will start off with 'Manush Manusher jonno'..unofficial anthem for the 2 Bengals. 

1 hour ago, rageaddict said:

Ah good to see Chota Mota / Neglected  Regional personalities getting this award so that people of their state can feel good about one of their own achieving something. 

Bechare ko jeete waqt toh koi jyada janta nahi tha ab shayed chaar paanch logo ko Pata chal jae. 

Such a retarded post. Bhupen Hazarika was a pride of our Nation and good to see Government acknowledging it.

5 hours ago, Stradlater said:

Why Pranab Mukherjee though?

A master stroke from Modi/Shah

1)They are looking at West Bengal seats . By giving respect to Netaji and now bharat ratna to Pranab , they are telling Bengali's we care for you much more than CPM or Congress.

2) They are also telling Gandhi family loyalist that we are ready  you more respect than what will you get by licking boots for whole life if you make slight move toward us.

1 hour ago, Singh bling said:

A master stroke from Modi/Shah

1)They are looking at West Bengal seats . By giving respect to Netaji and now bharat ratna to Pranab , they are telling Bengali's we care for you much more than CPM or Congress.

If BJP can just lay off the 'patit-pawan-siyya-raam-leela' hindugiri, atleast in Bong-land, Bengal would be theirs for the taking. The main reason Bongland tilted Commie, in the first place, is because of the feeling of every damn Bengali that Congress not only completely undermined and covered up Netaji's contributions, but Bengalis, who were the foremost contributor to the freedom struggle in terms of creating problems for the British ( and this is indisputable - there were more Bong inmates sentences to Kalapani, for violent actions against the British Raj, than rest of India put together) were utterly ignored.

If BJP can correct this perception of historic injustice, by promoting the likes of Khudi Ram Bose (who is quite LITERALLY Bhagat Singh before Bhagat Singh) and the hoardes of Bengali revolutionaries that rest of India knows nothing about, Bengal would become a BJP bastion. 
Already the 'green tide' is worrying a lot of Bengalis but we are a proud people- we'd rather suffer than accept the likes of Congress who promote nobodies like Nehru or Bhagat Singh over the legions of Bongs who've done way, way more. 

I think BJP should start giving Bharat Ratnas to Subhas(this year was a golden opportunity but they gave it to moron Pranab isntead ),Khudiram and Surya Sen/gang.
And hopefully get rid of Dilip Ghosh and get a youth leader who understands Bengalis' pulse.
Already in rural area people are fed up of Mamata's divisive tactics and muslim appeasement.

Sent from my CPH1609 using Tapatalk

IMG_20190126_135942.jpg

:facepalm:

Southies whining and bringing the North-South issue again. Even awarding someone from Assam and WB is considered as an appeasement  of Cow Belt Naaaaarth Indian Sanghis. 

Not surprised which state in South is at forefront of spewing hatred against Rest of the country these days. 

Edited by rageaddict

If awards have to be given posthumously Verghese Kurien, the father of our dairy revolution deserved it. 

Among living persons MS Swaminathan (father of green revolution) and Sreedharan (Konkan railway, Delhi metro) are worthy candidates but I doubt they will ever lobby for such awards.

Just like Congress, BJP is using these awards for political purposes. They see a bright future in Bengal and NE....not so much in South. 

11 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

If BJP can just lay off the 'patit-pawan-siyya-raam-leela' hindugiri, atleast in Bong-land, Bengal would be theirs for the taking. The main reason Bongland tilted Commie, in the first place, is because of the feeling of every damn Bengali that Congress not only completely undermined and covered up Netaji's contributions, but Bengalis, who were the foremost contributor to the freedom struggle in terms of creating problems for the British ( and this is indisputable - there were more Bong inmates sentences to Kalapani, for violent actions against the British Raj, than rest of India put together) were utterly ignored.

If BJP can correct this perception of historic injustice, by promoting the likes of Khudi Ram Bose (who is quite LITERALLY Bhagat Singh before Bhagat Singh) and the hoardes of Bengali revolutionaries that rest of India knows nothing about, Bengal would become a BJP bastion. 
Already the 'green tide' is worrying a lot of Bengalis but we are a proud people- we'd rather suffer than accept the likes of Congress who promote nobodies like Nehru or Bhagat Singh over the legions of Bongs who've done way, way more. 

How was Bhagat Singh a nobody you *ing moron? 

Take your Punjabi hate somewhere else midget.

@Muloghonto you can appreciate the Bengali freedom fighters without talking smack about others. To praise one icon , no need to bring another one down. Khudiram Bose was our youngest martyr and a predecessor of Bhagat Singh...but why insult the latter? Both those guys selflessly sacrificed their lives, something none of us are capable of doing. Kindly avoid this kind of talk.

Another point, Bengali intellectuals have occupied high offices in academic institutions and think tanks for 7 decades now, in fact disproportionately represented. What stopped them from giving due credit to the Bengalis who fought in the freedom struggle? All easy to blame Congress and BJP, but Bengalis in positions of power have chosen to ignore certain aspects while OTOH appropriating and worshiping dynasts and icons from other countries....all a matter of convenience I am sure. How many local Bengalis know about Khudiram Bose or Prafulla Chaki? I have seen enough Bengali youngsters parading those hideous  Che T shirts and singing hymns about Marx, Lenin, Trotsky but with no awareness about their own forefathers of 100-200 years back. 

You claim Bengal voted the commies into power because of the perception that Congress was undermining their heroes. But what did commies do? Did they correct historical wrongs? Last I remember they imported more leftist cultural icons from foreign shores like Ho Chi Minh, Castro, Mao etc. What does an average Bengali have to do with Ho Chi Minh Sarani in the middle of Park Street Area? They were given a continuous run for 35 years during which they only took the state backwards and didn't even inspire a cultural or intellectual resurgence. * that, they (and TMC) sidelined Bengali speaking Muslims to give more prominence to the Urdu speakers. Everything great about Bengal was systematically destroyed by them and now Mamata has taken it a step further. Congress and Left have more imprint in the state than BJP, some pockets are their bastions. In places like Malda, Murshidabad, Dinajpur even TMC can't touch them.  

BJP will be resisted in Bengal not entirely because of the party's fault but because Bongs have become lazy, too smart for their own good and for lack of a better vocabulary I will say masochists. They enjoy their own humiliation and pain, almost as if they want to go to extreme lengths to nullify the great strides Bengal made over 2 centuries, a spite on the faces of the great generations of a bygone era. I don't think they are worried about the green tide, I mean if partition riots and 1971 couldn't move them, what has changed now? I am sure Bengalis will open heartedly welcome subjugation by the Muslim masters. Isn't that what it was always like? Right from surrendering to Bakhtiyar Khilji's 2 dozen horsemen till the arrival of British wasn't it the same community who not once attempted to throw the yokes of the Bengal Sultans? Weren't they the people who converted en masse to Islam, 70% of Bengalis today practice the alien desert faith, farthest from its point of origin in South Asia.....why fear the green tide then? If push comes to shove I am sure almost all Bengalis will willingly accept Islam, rather than that taking back their dharmic roots. From my experience in the state it seems virtue signaling, moral posturing, feigning intellectual superiority etc are very important priorities for an average Bengali, I don't see BJP or even a Bengal based pro-Hindu nationalist political party in the future making inroads. 35 years Congress, another 45 years TMC and by then...you know what. 

Pains me to type all this, I will be the last person to harbor ill will towards Bengal but some truths need to be broadcast loud and clear, for the sake of Bengal's future. Bengalis have to take responsibility for their own decision making and make sincere efforts to do better, blaming others won't work..else one fine day they will lose everything. 

3 hours ago, rageaddict said:

IMG_20190126_135942.jpg

:facepalm:

Southies whining and bringing the North-South issue again. Even awarding someone from Assam and WB is considered as an appeasement  of Cow Belt Naaaaarth Indian Sanghis. 

Not surprised which state in South is at forefront of spewing hatred against Rest of the country these days. 

You basing this on one tweet by a handle (Rajiv Gandhi DP.... Congressi) with 100 odd followers and zero retweets for this particular tweet. Are you a *ing moron?

47 minutes ago, Stradlater said:

How was Bhagat Singh a nobody you *ing moron? 

Take your Punjabi hate somewhere else midget.

I am well and truly shocked by the choice of words and the sentiment behind them, how can one even quantify sacrifices made in the freedom struggle...saying one was more than the other? Mulo has a long ongoing feud with some Punjabis on this forum but never thought an icon like Bhagat Singh would get dragged into the muck. 

6 minutes ago, Gollum said:

I am well and truly shocked by the choice of words and the sentiment behind them, how can one even quantify sacrifices made in the freedom struggle...saying one was more than the other? Mulo has a long ongoing feud with some Punjabis on this forum but never thought an icon like Bhagat Singh would get dragged into the muck. 

He clearly has issues with Sikhs. While I do agree that there are some fringe elements within Canadian Sikh community who support the Khalistan cause , but going after figures such as Shaheed Bhagat Singh to score cheap points on internet means that he clearly has an agenda against them and the Khalistan issue is just a front for him to spew his nonsense.

Chutia insan.