7 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

In a nutshell, this is what we are dealing with when it comes to protest. Absolutely no clear demands. No understanding of facts. No specifics on farm bills. Oligarchy. Ambani’s and daughters wedding. PSUs. 

That’s how resistance to change operates. Just shoot in any direction and offer as much friction as possible. This resistance will be broken in time. Question is how many towers will these idiots break. 

Reason we lament lack of reforms is the we will always have resistance in this country. Intelligence, communists, NGOs, Opposition parties and their useful idiots like these farmers. 

India is destined to remain a third world country. 

One Nation One MSP.

Honest journalism is a dying breed but

nice to see few legitimate journalists like Sandeep Chaudhary are still alive in the country.

This Chaudhary guy is savage owns BJP bhakt spokesperson like a boss, way better than ravish Kumar.

On 12/31/2020 at 8:18 AM, Khota said:

Underline issue is farmers are working very hard and can barey support their family. There are inefficiencies that need to be dealt with but the safety net needs to stay. No where in the world farming is free market. Thew system will crash if it is free market. It has to be regulated.

If they need to fix stuff they need to start from PSU's which are a bigger drain.

Modi coming from a highly Industrial state does not understand farming. Farmers from rajasthan will support farmers from Haryana, Punjab etc. because they understand exactly what is going on.

Considering the fact that majority of farmers own less than 1 hectare of land, I am not surprised with their struggle. My brother in law owns a hobby farm that's 5 times bigger, but even he wouldn't consider making a living off of farming. The fundamental issue is that we have far too many farmers with too little land to feed their families. Eventually they have to transition from farming to other industries and trades like any other developing nation. As for the proposed farm bill, government should retain any safety measures that existed in the previous system and introduce some new measures to address farmers' concerns. 

Edited by donkey
9 hours ago, Under_Score said:

Here is a small group of farmers from Haryana that voted for Modi, there are million of others like them who have a different opinion now about that corporate slave Modi.

so let them vote him out in next elections oh but then people will cry EVM.

12 minutes ago, FischerTal said:

17 lakh crores per annum. 

Can you show the data for public sector spending???

5 hours ago, donkey said:

Considering the fact that majority of farmers own less than 1 hectare of land, I am not surprised with their struggle. My brother in law owns a hobby farm that's 5 times bigger, but even he wouldn't consider making a living off of farming. The fundamental issue is that we have far too many farmers with too little land to feed their families. Eventually they have to transition from farming to other industries and trades like any other developing nation. As for the proposed farm bill, government should retain any safety measures that existed in the previous system and introduce some new measures to address farmers' concerns. 

Sounds reasonable.

2 minutes ago, FischerTal said:

that was the estimate given if all 23 crops were brought under MSP by the Home Minister.

Can you show the current spending and compare it wrt to PSU?

Just now, Khota said:

Can you show the current spending and compare it wrt to PSU?

why are you asking for PSU data when im telling you 17 lakh crores per annum will be required to fund this One Nation One MSP proposal of yours?

14 minutes ago, FischerTal said:

why are you asking for PSU data when im telling you 17 lakh crores per annum will be required to fund this One Nation One MSP proposal of yours?

I am glad you ask. GOI spends 1000's of crores on OFB's/PSU's/DRDO and they still cannot make one rifle for Army. That  has to be imported. Planes have to be imported. Israel a nation of 3 million exports missile technology. Atleast farmers are efficient enough to be self sufficient. So if waste needs to be cut start from non performers like AI and not the poor farmers.

I fully understand that farmers should not expect subsidies but farming all over world is controlled by governement.

3 minutes ago, Khota said:

I am glad you ask. GOI spends 1000's of crores on OFB's/PSU's/DRDO and they still cannot make one rifle for Army. That  has to be imported. Planes have to be imported. Israel a nation of 3 million exports missile technology. Atleast farmers are efficient enough to be self sufficient. So if waste needs to be cut start from non performers like AI and not the poor farmers.

I fully understand that farmers should not expect subsidies but farming all over world is controlled by governement.

agree. i am no fan of DPSUs. they should have been privatized a long time ago but that doesnt mean we excuse one failure for another. 

On 1/3/2021 at 6:04 PM, Khota said:

There is a middle ground somewhere.

farmers are not pampered lot and ultrarich. Majority are poor and can only sustain farming if there are subsidies. In return they do put in their fair share of effort. Making 10,000 pm is barely living wage and that is being threatened.

PSU's on the other hand produce nothing with inefficiencies and their employees are well paid. They have pensions and all that.

Need to find a happy medium so that top does not keep on getting rich and everyone else poor.

India cannot be an oligarchy.

Ambanis can spend $150 mn on their daughters wedding but a farmer making $100 pm for working 100's of hour is too much. If that is the case Indian dream will be lost.

India is already an oligarchy.

Modi has already relieved Ambani and Adani from pending loans, while the middle class have swords hanging above their heads when it comes to loans.

Modi's speech is full of hyperbole these days. He talks in great length about importance of scientific research without conveying what steps he has taken to provide large grants to universities for research and setting up R&D plants. 

Edited by MechEng

If we're burning thousands of crores in PSUs (A Congi poison which the NDA has tried from the ABV term to limit over time) we should also burn lakhs of crores for farmers. 

Additionally, growing wheat and rice is equivalent to making fighter jets and missiles. I bet Burundi & Madagascar can make some just like they grow their crops. 

Did the previous Delhi-Lahore corridor lead to import of some lahori logic seeds that have given fruits in Delhi recently ?

44 minutes ago, Khota said:

Farmers need subsidies, because farm produce does not have a linear relationship with the work farmer does, there is weather, locust swarms and other factors that come into play where the farmer has no control. In that case subsidies are needed to be provided to farmers for survival if crops fail.

12 hours ago, Clarke said:

If we're burning thousands of crores in PSUs (A Congi poison which the NDA has tried from the ABV term to limit over time) we should also burn lakhs of crores for farmers. 

Additionally, growing wheat and rice is equivalent to making fighter jets and missiles. I bet Burundi & Madagascar can make some just like they grow their crops. 

Did the previous Delhi-Lahore corridor lead to import of some lahori logic seeds that have given fruits in Delhi recently ?

Neither do Madagascar spend that much money on PSU's. I am not talking any complex system. Just one frickin rifle. They cant do that.

12 hours ago, MechEng said:

Farmers need subsidies, because farm produce does not have a linear relationship with the work farmer does, there is weather, locust swarms and other factors that come into play where the farmer has no control. In that case subsidies are needed to be provided to farmers for survival if crops fail.

This x1000