Paris Olympics 2024 Discussion Thread

@GollumI don't get judo lmao

So confusing. Do we just throw them overhead or ? Ippon and crap rules are weird. They keep holding collars and the gi. 

Should be without gi tbh. Unfirom/gi

I prefer singlets like wrestling. Can't cheat that way. 

Edited by Kron
2 minutes ago, Kron said:

Arre bhai it's not amateur man. 

These guys are all trained professional wrestlers. I agree the terminology is weird. 

kurt angle was an olympic champion.

a lot of american wrestlers go to pro wrestling mma for money.

some stick to it like jordan burroughs and david taylor

1 minute ago, deathmonger said:

kurt angle was an olympic champion.

a lot of american wrestlers go to pro wrestling mma for money.

some stick to it like jordan burroughs and david taylor

Also kyle Snyder. He is a beast. I wish abdulrashid participated again. He is injured I think

12 minutes ago, Kron said:

Looooool what amateur

National collegiate athletic association.

Kamaru usman

Tyrone woodley

Colby congington

Daniel cormier 

All ncaa champions who become world champions in mma. 

Ncaa is second only to olympics. It's not amateur wrestling.

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Toughest sport known to mankind. Rather this than the oh so professional golf. 

You are conflating quality with infrastructure.

Professional means big contracts, infrastructure, stadiums, investments etc. Amateurs can't match that but they can still have lots of quality .

To make it easy,Kapil Dev was an amateur and shivam dube is a professional.

Just now, MediumPacer said:

Professional means big contracts, infrastructure, stadiums, investments etc. Amateurs can't match that but they can still have lots of quality .

Ah ok. I see what you mean. I mean we can't offer that. Still not a rich country for sports. 

5 minutes ago, Kron said:

@GollumI don't get judo lmao

So confusing. Do we just throw them overhead or ? Ippon and crap rules are weird. They keep holding collars and the gi. 

Should be without gi tbh. Unfirom/gi

Judo more about throwing, wrestling has takedown and then controlling. BJJ submission, most technical, least physical. 

Wrestling most effective for MMA.

You can check interviews of the American lady wrestler Skylar Hattendorf, judo prodigy as a youngster and then transitioned to wrestling, almost made the team this time, will be a big name in the future. Because of her judo background, she is very strong with throws, use of shoulder, can also be a good Greco wrestler....unfortunately Greco not an event for women. 

2 minutes ago, MediumPacer said:

You said it is easy to medal in amateur sports. Implying lack of quality. 

NCAA  guys are tough as nails but a lot of  pehelwaans training in proper Olympic facilities especially the ones coming through from akhadaas in Haryana-Punjab can take most of these NCAA types down.

2 hours ago, New guy said:

Lots of rumors but wasnt anything concrete, there were also rumors about him joining political parties. He wont have time for anything like that, he is at his peak of his career.

Not sure about politics, but the rumours about movies were across many news channels.

Since he declined, it remained as rumour.

I think his politics point was only raised coz he expressed his positive views for one political party.

https://zeenews.india.com/other-sports/neeraj-chopra-was-offered-three-movies-the-olympic-gold-medalist-said-2489243.html

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.indiaherald.com/Editorial/Read/994520754/Neeraj-received-offers-from-films

9 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Judo more about throwing, wrestling has takedown and then controlling. BJJ submission, most technical, least physical. 

Wrestling most effective for MMA.

You can check interviews of the American lady wrestler Skylar Hattendorf, judo prodigy as a youngster and then transitioned to wrestling, almost made the team this time, will be a big name in the future. Because of her judo background, she is very strong with throws, use of shoulder, can also be a good Greco wrestler....unfortunately Greco not an event for women. 

Freestyle wrestling plus boxing is the best base for mma or fighting in general. Streets etc

Great boxer with good wrestling defence or a great wrestler who has decent boxing will destroy anyone in the world.

8 minutes ago, maniac said:

NCAA  guys are tough as nails but a lot of  pehelwaans training in proper Olympic facilities especially the ones coming through from akhadaas in Haryana-Punjab can take most of these NCAA types down.

Yea easily. Those Indian guys are uber tough.

6 minutes ago, maniac said:

Well we aren't able to win Golds are we? If we can defeat the pedigree of Russians and central Asians in wrestling and win golds thats the ultimate metric.

We are 47th in the Wrestling medal tally to date