11 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Reminds me of a real incident during Covid.

One person from my village who was working as barber in Mumbai, came back during first wave
He used to charge 150-200 per haircut in Mumbai. However, once he came back due to Covid, due to financial reasons he started cutting hairs of the local villagers to keep his family afloat.
The village people will take his services, get both hair cut and beard trimming done, and will only pay him 10 or 20 rupees. The rate is pretty much standard for the village, but not for that migrant from mumbai, he was deeply dis-satisfied and used to demand atleast 100 rupees for the same.

As soon as the Wave 1 died, he went back to Mumbai and didn't come back even during the much serious Wave 2.

3 hours ago, IndianRenegade said:

That isn’t how any of it will work. Ppl lose jobs sometimes, if they did. Good luck finding a job in US with rules like this.

they won’t stop with this, they will start attacking ppl inside the country next. 

Hpw ? 

In response, PM Modi has said that India's real enemy is dependence on others. He pushed for total atmanirbharta. He stressed foreign reliance equals national failure and weakness. India must build its own chips and ships for power 

Definitely affects people waiting on Visa or up for renewals.  Still have to fact check if it impacts those going on vac and have to pay ransom to enter back. Wish this had been when  I entered US. I would have been a Sr VP of some company in India  , probably happier

57 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Reminds me of a real incident during Covid.

One person from my village who was working as barber in Mumbai, came back during first wave
He used to charge 150-200 per haircut in Mumbai. However, once he came back due to Covid, due to financial reasons he started cutting hairs of the local villagers to keep his family afloat.
The village people will take his services, get both hair cut and beard trimming done, and will only pay him 10 or 20 rupees. The rate is pretty much standard for the village, but not for that migrant from mumbai, he was deeply dis-satisfied and used to demand atleast 100 rupees for the same.

As soon as the Wave 1 died, he went back to Mumbai and didn't come back even during the much serious Wave 2.

There is a barber association as well in Mumbai. The minimum haircut price is now Rs 150 in Mumbai and barbers cannot charge less as their association can be stooped and benefits are lost. Some charge Rs 1000 or Rs 2000 or more per haircut depending on experience of the barber.

Some barber shops offer annual membership starting at Rs. 10,000 and it goes on. There are shops which  charge Rs 75,000 to Rs. 95,000 for annual membership.

Edited by crictime
17 minutes ago, crictime said:

In response, PM Modi has said that India's real enemy is dependence on others. He pushed for total atmanirbharta. He stressed foreign reliance equals national failure and weakness. India must build its own chips and ships for power 

Time to call sons of politicians back then.

18 minutes ago, Lord said:

All politicians in our area who contested had minimum 5 crore to 30 crore declared networth. Just declared, mind you. And these are not even MLA's. Education 7th to undergraduate. Their kids are better educated, atleast graduate if not more. They handle businesses in India. They do not need to move out of Mumbai to earn well. In fact many Mumbaites dont need to because of high paid jobs and lucrative business opportunities.It is mostly the migrants who are struggling here. Those whose 5 generations or more are in Mumbai are all well settled and do not even think about America for that matter. What's the need. You cannot even imagine the property people own and networth. Like we say Mumbai me kuch nahi kar sakoge to bahar jake kya ukhadoge. Not exactly but rough translation... if one cannot become successful in Mumbai then what will he do abroad as well.

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

Hpw ? 

They have already laid the ground work, so far across admins H1B was a stable way to hire & retain talent. 

irrespective of how things end up they have made companies apprehensive, finding another job when you lose one on h1b will be lot more difficult.

if you had watched the press briefing lutnick claimed EB1 & EB2 will go away to make way for EB1 & EB2 through gold card, you pay million or your company pays 2 million with the country cap, so they want you to dish out million dollars in addition to years of contributions to the economy + taxes. 

Even for ppl who made it & got a GC they will make naturalization hard, find some flimsy reason, cite moral failing & deny naturalization!

we are 9 months in, they have already taken a sledgehammer to people who thought they are legal & fine. They will come for everyone who aren’t white enough.

I think this h1b is an opening gambit to test the courts.

If they strike it down quickly then fair enough they will try via the houses.

H1b (even those on renewal) be warned. Especially if your not earning less than 150k. They will come for you eventually. Plan accordingly.

4 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

I think this h1b is an opening gambit to test the courts.

If they strike it down quickly then fair enough they will try via the houses.

H1b (even those on renewal) be warned. Especially if your not earning less than 150k. They will come for you eventually. Plan accordingly.

Yes, any one not on GC EAD at least for 6 months should start deleveraging financially from US.

If i am a h1b i will sell my house car etc..rent lease and start keeping my assets liquid (etfs gold and alike). Push comes to shove you can just not pay your rent and abandon your car. In 2008 financial  crisis many westerners did just that in Dubai. Lost jobs tried for few months to get new jobs. Did not pay rent and car lease. Fled before collectors came to jail them never to return. Similar scenario. No path to citizenship.

Might be wise to start looking for jobs in other western countries like Germany etc or 20 to 30 lakh jobs on india.  You can command a premium only when you are in a job. Keep giving interviews so your hot going into the market. Its also time to invest in skills (non medical). A 8 to 12 week course...

In the uk you have many interest free credit cards where you can borrow upto 15k. Then you habe to pay back within 24 months at 0% and if you dont it there are huge fees. My advise to h1b folks it have 4 to 5 of these cards if you have access to them and pay them off each month until your employed. If your not employed, skip paying them and leave the country with cash 

I am also keen to see which way the dems vote in the house.

H1b is one issue which unites many dems and republicans. (Either pro or against).

If a sizable number of dems do side with the gov, then its clear indian americans in no mans land.

4 hours ago, Lord said:

You will find as a %, more politicians from the opposition are in the west than nda.

Jaishanker kids are only ones i know who are prominently settled in west.

23 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

You will find as a %, more politicians from the opposition are in the west than nda.

Jaishanker kids are only ones i know who are prominently settled in west.

Yeah I meant everyone across party lines.

So Karoline Levitt

1.) This is NOT an annual fee. It’s a one-time fee that applies only to the petition.

2.) Those who already hold H-1B visas and are currently outside of the country right now will NOT be charged $100,000 to re-enter. H-1B visa holders can leave and re-enter the country to the same extent as they normally would; whatever ability they have to do that is not impacted by yesterday’s proclamation.

3.) This applies only to new visas, not renewals, and not current visa holders. It will first apply in the next upcoming lottery cycle.

Looks like these guys are already panicking. So instead of being active today they stretched all the way to February??

15 minutes ago, MK55 said:

So Karoline Levitt

1.) This is NOT an annual fee. It’s a one-time fee that applies only to the petition.

2.) Those who already hold H-1B visas and are currently outside of the country right now will NOT be charged $100,000 to re-enter. H-1B visa holders can leave and re-enter the country to the same extent as they normally would; whatever ability they have to do that is not impacted by yesterday’s proclamation.

3.) This applies only to new visas, not renewals, and not current visa holders. It will first apply in the next upcoming lottery cycle.

Looks like these guys are already panicking. So instead of being active today they stretched all the way to February??

If this is how it actually works (plus Wage adjustment using correct methods), It literally solves the H1B abuse. It will also reduce back log for future. 

But this administration will continue to come up with random proclamations and create instability. And that’s the problem. And that actually works for them (even if some things don’t stick). It will satiate the MAGA base.

Edited by MK55