sensible-indian Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 Its a miracle we are still in the series after the comedy captaincy by Rohit. This guy has no idea how to use bowlers, when to make bowling changes, how to set fields, etc. Imagine Rahane as the captain here. Poor Aussies would have had trauma by now lol. Vijy and Ultimate_Game 2
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 even Bumrah was miles better Ultimate_Game and sensible-indian 1 1
sensible-indian Posted December 29, 2024 Author Posted December 29, 2024 What I loved about Rahane was that his captaincy was sooooo precise. He just knew when to give the ball to whom. And if things didnt work out, he would course correct... He had a deep understanding of the rhythm of the game which Rohit lacks. There are times when you have to stick with a bowler even though results arent there yet...and there are times when sticking on only worsens the situation. You can only make these changes if you understand the game on a deep level which is why MSD was such a monster captain in LOIs. And then theres field setting. (I felt Kohli and Rahane used to have pretty solid field sets for test cricket). Ultimate_Game 1
wanted_desi Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 Rohit is only there to show frustrations in field.
AuxiliA Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 13 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: What I loved about Rahane was that his captaincy was sooooo precise. He just knew when to give the ball to whom. And if things didnt work out, he would course correct... He had a deep understanding of the rhythm of the game which Rohit lacks. There are times when you have to stick with a bowler even though results arent there yet...and there are times when sticking on only worsens the situation. You can only make these changes if you understand the game on a deep level which is why MSD was such a monster captain in LOIs. And then theres field setting. (I felt Kohli and Rahane used to have pretty solid field sets for test cricket). Rohit lacks the test acumen to be a long term captain. He was never a serious test cricketer to begin with. His lazy, chalta hai attitude also doesn't help.
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 19 minutes ago, sensible-indian said: What I loved about Rahane was that his captaincy was sooooo precise. He just knew when to give the ball to whom. And if things didnt work out, he would course correct... He had a deep understanding of the rhythm of the game which Rohit lacks. There are times when you have to stick with a bowler even though results arent there yet...and there are times when sticking on only worsens the situation. You can only make these changes if you understand the game on a deep level which is why MSD was such a monster captain in LOIs. And then theres field setting. (I felt Kohli and Rahane used to have pretty solid field sets for test cricket). That guy gave us a win without Bumrah. Rohit's whole plan is to bowl Bumrah. Ultimate_Game 1
The Realist Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 Sample size fir Rahane is small so hard to judge how he would have fared long term. But Sharma is dreadful. Zero strategy, planning or ideas. His attitude towards his own appalling fitness sums it all up.
Sean Bradley Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 What's the point in imagination, Rahane is already gone, mental masturbation is pointless.
vvvslaxman Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 Rahane was totally sold down the river by Jadeja at the MCG. Rahane did not take it personally. He got on with the job. But ROhit's reaction to Jaiswal's all the drops was not showing his leadership. He himself dropped 6 catches or so against NZ. adi B and Lord 2
Suhaan Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 With current Siraj he too would have returned bald after pulling out all his hair
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 12 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Rahane was totally sold down the river by Jadeja at the MCG. Rahane did not take it personally. He got on with the job. But ROhit's reaction to Jaiswal's all the drops was not showing his leadership. He himself dropped 6 catches or so against NZ. Perhaps Rahane didn't react because he himself ran Virat out in Adelaide lol. Full circle. Rohit behaves very badly on the field. No control over his body language whatsoever
vvvslaxman Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Lord said: Perhaps Rahane didn't react because he himself ran Virat out in Adelaide lol. Full circle. Rohit behaves very badly on the field. No control over his body language whatsoever He literally patted him when he left. Don't think any of our seniors had that kind of quality. THey will probably stare or yell at their partner. Remember Jadeja himself yelled at Raina. Edited December 29, 2024 by vvvslaxman Lord and Ultimate_Game 2
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 34 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: He literally patted him when he left. Don't think any of our seniors had that kind of quality. THey will probably stare or yell at their partner. Remember Jadeja himself yelled at Raina. yep Rahane wa gem as a leader and captain. No wonder he was systematically targetted and thrown out soon after.
Suhaan Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 2 minutes ago, Lord said: yep Rahane wa gem as a leader and captain. No wonder he was systematically targetted and thrown out soon after. So that badada vada had no competition for specialist captaincy Lord 1
Vijy Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 2 hours ago, Lord said: yep Rahane wa gem as a leader and captain. No wonder he was systematically targetted and thrown out soon after. he was also a pretty poor test batter for years by then, so that contributed to it.
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 3 minutes ago, Vijy said: he was also a pretty poor test batter for years by then, so that contributed to it. But he was removed only when he became a threat. Others were bad too
Vijy Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 1 minute ago, Lord said: But he was removed only when he became a threat. Others were bad too the point is that he, chepu, and klown should have been removed a long time ago - all overstayed their period Lord 1
Lord Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 Just now, Vijy said: the point is that he, chepu, and klown should have been removed a long time ago - all overstayed their period yeah and I dunno how Rohit ended up becoming captain lol. Had one good series at perfect time. Vijy 1
Ultimate_Game Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 If we need to have a specialist captain, I would prefer Rahane to Rohit. In fact if we can drop Rohit and Kohli and replace them with Rahane to fill the specialist captain + Experience quota, we would be ahead in the series by now. Rahane has never lost a match and he had some tought assignments. He led us to a series win in the decider in 2017 in Kuldeep's debut match. He did the same in BGT 2020-21, and whenever he had to step in he looked the part. That's not a small sample size given the quality of opponents and situation in which he had to captain.
Vijy Posted December 29, 2024 Posted December 29, 2024 2 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: If we need to have a specialist captain, I would prefer Rahane to Rohit. In fact if we can drop Rohit and Kohli and replace them with Rahane to fill the specialist captain + Experience quota, we would be ahead in the series by now. Rahane has never lost a match and he had some tought assignments. He led us to a series win in the decider in 2017 in Kuldeep's debut match. He did the same in BGT 2020-21, and whenever he had to step in he looked the part. That's not a small sample size given the quality of opponents and situation in which he had to captain. he is a specialist against Aus - knows the team well. Ultimate_Game 1