Whenever there is a discussion of energy dependence on Russia / ME, I wonder - India has such a large area, there must be some oil somewhere? This may provide an answer:

https://oilprice.com/Energy/Crude-Oil/India-Set-to-Tap-Vast-Oil-Reserves-With-Multi-Billion-Dollar-Investments.html

Am no expert in this global economics, but IMO, the path towards full prosperity is to tap into one's own natural resources judiciously. And there is nothing more essential than energy and agricultural yield. So, investing in drilling and nuclear for energy, and manufacturing synthetic fertilizer should be a priority so foreign dependency can be reduced.   

IT and other economies are derivative and volatile. Food and energy are a must and will solidify a nation. 

Edited by BacktoCricaddict

Oil is supposedly found in Ganga basin in UP district Balia in a 300 km region spanning balia to prayagraj. ONGC has taken land on lease there belonging to the family of a freedom fighter for digging.

9 hours ago, IndianRenegade said:

these stories are becoming like those coming out of paksitan, reprots oil, rare earths found at x or y location followed by euphoric youtibe videos that we will be major energy power house. Then everything falls silent. 

Rare earth is in abundance in India. We have the third largest rare earth in the world but we don't extract due to environmental concerns. Look at how Tamilnadu copper plant was closed down by environmentalists.

6 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Rare earth is in abundance in India. We have the third largest rare earth in the world but we don't extract due to environmental concerns. Look at how Tamilnadu copper plant was closed down by environmentalists.

@IndianRenegade ka point valid hai waise...be it reserves of Lithium, oil, gold, rare earth in India, there are stories on everything but output is none till now.

2 hours ago, randomGuy said:

@IndianRenegade ka point valid hai waise...be it reserves of Lithium, oil, gold, rare earth in India, there are stories on everything but output is none till now.

Bhai yahan kuch bhi karoge protest pehle shuru ho jate Hain. Lithium was found in Jammu, protest shuru. 5.9 million tonnes lithium was found. Govt started auction but no bidder showed interest. 

Sterlite copper in TN was shut down by the govt after protests by environmentalists. 

ONGC has already started drilling for Andaman offshore oil reserves too.  

https://x.com/ONGC_/status/1902305683191603418?t=BUkCtSNsB0MYhI_W9NB42A&s=19

We have huge rare earth reserves but don't have refining capacity. IREL mines 2900 tonnes rare earth every year but exports that to Japan for refining process since 2012. 

India has abundant Thorium reserves. We've been trying forever to create a working Thorium reactor. If and when that happens we could become energy independent.

28 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Bhai yahan kuch bhi karoge protest pehle shuru ho jate Hain. Lithium was found in Jammu, protest shuru. 5.9 million tonnes lithium was found. Govt started auction but no bidder showed interest. 

Sterlite copper in TN was shut down by the govt after protests by environmentalists. 

ONGC has already started drilling for Andaman offshore oil reserves too.  

https://x.com/ONGC_/status/1902305683191603418?t=BUkCtSNsB0MYhI_W9NB42A&s=19

We have huge rare earth reserves but don't have refining capacity. IREL mines 2900 tonnes rare earth every year but exports that to Japan for refining process since 2012. 

Good points. If just the Andaman drilling gives us meaningful output i will happily eat my words. hardeep puri has promised so much. There are no protest issues here hopefully.

Because our track record is poor, maybe we should promise less and surprise with over-delivery. But maybe we also have to promise more to attract more bidding.

2 hours ago, randomGuy said:

Good points. If just the Andaman drilling gives us meaningful output i will happily eat my words. hardeep puri has promised so much. There are no protest issues here hopefully.

Because our track record is poor, maybe we should promise less and surprise with over-delivery. But maybe we also have to promise more to attract more bidding.

Protest shuru ho gaye hain against another nicobar project that govt is planning. Gandhi's already started opposing it ke tribal ko khatra ho jayega. Abey jutiye raga kab Tak vahan ke logo ko tribal bana k rakhoge. They also have right to come in mainstream.

On 10/5/2025 at 10:38 AM, jf1gp_1 said:

I have gone through his podcasts a few times . I find him loud and far from facts.

While I want it to be true but I will believe zee news before him. Let this be reported by mainstream media. 

It is already reported by mainstream media since August but too early to say anything.

On 9/8/2025 at 2:57 PM, IndianRenegade said:

these stories are becoming like those coming out of paksitan, reprots oil, rare earths found at x or y location followed by euphoric youtibe videos that we will be major energy power house. Then everything falls silent. 

recently found millions of tonnes of gold. 5 times of the gold mined till now in history