vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 Only 6 months back Iyer added 100 partnership after India was 2 down at 17 at Adelaide oval. He curbed his shots and played a very nice innings. https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-in-australia-2025-26-1478882/australia-vs-india-2nd-odi-1478905/full-scorecard
nitinbwj Posted June 13 Posted June 13 I liked Gurnoor's pace and attitude. Give him chances instead of kambal kutai run machine Krishna
cricspirit Posted June 13 Posted June 13 3 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Tilak varma showed zero fluency like this against average Afghanistan B team bowlers. Tilak played some clutch T20 innings but with the talent coming in, I doubt he can hold on in T20I.. let alone trying to come into ODI. Something feels off about him.. he gets stuck.. cant rotate strike.. Definitely dont see him as ODI option right now..
vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 2 minutes ago, Frustrated said: One should care about a home odi series, if he/she is a cricket fan. Imagine our team getting whitewashed by a no name Afghan team at home, and then saying "I don't really care, afterall who cares about a bilateral series" No. I t means aboslutely nothing. India beat England 4 back to back T20 series only to get hammered by them in the semi final. Norman 1
Frustrated Posted June 13 Posted June 13 Just now, Gollum said: You can't be serious dude. You mean to see that was worse than Nov 19? I don't remember much of that series tbh despite following it then. You did not get my point. My point is- Getting whitewashed to Afghans/other minnows at home is never acceptable. Be it bilateral or icc tournament. S Iyer is perfectly capable of ensuring Ind's defeat at home one after another to minnows. He continues doing it... Mark my words. His batting will cost us WC2027.
Norman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 2 minutes ago, Frustrated said: You mean to say- Losing to minnows at home is acceptable? Ye kya logic he? Newzealand are not minnows..no matter if they're at full strength or not. And yes ... losing white ball bilaterals means absolutely nothing if you do some basic squad experimenting and test out new combinations and players. Gollum and rollingstoned 2
Gollum Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 minute ago, Frustrated said: You did not get my point. My point is- Getting whitewashed to Afghans/other minnows at home is never acceptable. Be it bilateral or icc tournament. S Iyer is perfectly capable of ensuring Ind's defeat at home one after another to minnows. He continues doing it... Mark my words. His batting will cost us WC2027. Bhai, I think your original point was about NZ's ODI series win here last year. It didn't affect me one bit. But the 3-0 test series win, I can't forget that for rest of my life.
Frustrated Posted June 13 Posted June 13 Just now, Norman said: Newzealand are not minnows..no matter if they're at full strength or not. And yes ... losing white ball bilaterals means absolutely nothing if you do some basic squad experimenting and test out new combinations and players. That was a NZ D team, with 6 regular players (incl. Williamson) missing.
Gollum Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 minute ago, Norman said: Newzealand are not minnows..no matter if they're at full strength or not. And yes ... losing white ball bilaterals means absolutely nothing if you do some basic squad experimenting and test out new combinations and players. Pooks whitewashed full strength RSA 2 years back, I think it was that overhyped Saim Ayyub's debut or something. Also Pooks won in Aus, with Rauf doing most of the damage. Who cares about such results in 2020s? Teams are switched on only for tests and tournaments. Baaki sab ke liye, franchise cricket zindabad.
Norman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 Just now, Frustrated said: That was a NZ D team, with 6 regular players (incl. Williamson) missing. Nope...still doesn't make them "minnows". I'm okay with 10 such cleansweeps at home in useless white ball bilaterals as long as we keep winning ICC tournaments. Gollum 1
vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 minute ago, Norman said: Nope...still doesn't make them "minnows". I'm okay with 10 such cleansweeps at home in useless white ball bilaterals as long as we keep winning ICC tournaments. Darryl Mitchell alone is equvl to 3 batsmen against India. NO batsman has domianted us in ODI than him in recent times
Norman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 minute ago, Gollum said: Pooks whitewashed full strength RSA 2 years back, I think it was that overhyped Saim Ayyub's debut or something. Also Pooks won in Aus, with Rauf doing most of the damage. Who cares about such results in 2020s? Teams are switched on only for tests and tournaments. Baaki sab ke liye, franchise cricket zindabad. Exactly.. I see these white ball bilaterals as just an extended net practise sessions these days. Result is almost an after thought. Even today i was more interested in Rohit's fluency and Gill's tempo... I don't think I even looked at the "runs required" section in our innings lol. Gollum 1
vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 (edited) 1 minute ago, Norman said: Exactly.. I see these white ball bilaterals as just an extended net practise sessions these days. Result is almost an after thought. Even today i was more interested in Rohit's fluency and Gill's tempo... I don't think I even looked at the "runs required" section in our innings lol. I was more focused on our bowling structure, rhythm. If you want to win tournaments your bowling unit has to be very good.They gotta back the right combination. We did well in last 4 world cups because of bowling. Edited June 13 by vvvslaxman Norman 1
Gollum Posted June 13 Posted June 13 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Frustrated said: That was a NZ D team, with 6 regular players (incl. Williamson) missing. Williamson only weakend their team. Not all their regular players are good, We also missed Bumrah, Hardik, Axar. Moreover you are reading too much into bilateral results. We were bilateral kings from 2013-23, but endured a painful trophy drought. We beat NZ in NZ 4-1 jin ODIs ust 2-3 months before the 2019 WC, but who cares? Everyone only talks about that SF in Old Trafford. Also we beat them 5-0 in T20 series in their backyard in 2020, but everyone only remembers how they kicked us out of Dubai WC next year. Now situation has reversed. NZ's ODI series win here pales before CT 25 and T20 26 WC finals. In fact we have won the last 5 ICC games against them, 3 of them being KOs. Edited June 13 by Gollum Norman 1
vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 We bloody bowled SA out for 84 runs after we made 330 or 340 runs in the world cup. We bowled SL out for 50 runs. Australia for 199 runs. Pakistan for 192 runs. England for 126 runs.. We are never going to get that bowling unit back again. Norman and rollingstoned 2
Chaos Posted June 13 Posted June 13 Rahul robbed gills 100 . Why cant he play like this against aussies or england
Frustrated Posted June 13 Posted June 13 10 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Only 6 months back Iyer added 100 partnership after India was 2 down at 17 at Adelaide oval. He curbed his shots and played a very nice innings. https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/india-in-australia-2025-26-1478882/australia-vs-india-2nd-odi-1478905/full-scorecard Really? I checked that scorecard. He scored only 61 from 78 balls on a flat patta, and guess what. India lost the match. Aus chased down the below par total (265), with 30 balls remaining.
vvvslaxman Posted June 13 Posted June 13 1 minute ago, Chaos said: Rahul robbed gills 100 . Why cant he play like this against aussies or england I still remember KL feeling crestfallen after hitting a 6 instead of 4 in the match against Australia. His plan was to hit 4 and a 6 or 4 and a 4. But ball went for 6 and we won the game.
Gollum Posted June 13 Posted June 13 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Chaos said: Rahul robbed gills 100 . Why cant he play like this against aussies or england Gill will be happy with his not out. He is this generation's Amla in white ball cricket. Edited June 13 by Gollum vvvslaxman, Chaos and rollingstoned 1 2