India vs Afghanistan T 20 series discussion

On 9/3/2026 at 6:24 AM, singhvivek141 said:

Most selectors are generally batters. They have zero knowledge/interest in fast bowling.

This is a trend I have seen specially in India.

In serious countries like Australia..a spinner like Shane Warne will talk so passionately about fast bowling that someone like Srinath will get surprised. Coz in India hardly anyone talks about pacers.

No offense to any fan, but I am sure if you ask KL Rahul or Rohit Sharma or Virat Kohli or MS Dhoni about fast bowling nuances...they will struggle to frame 2 sentences. Their entire advice will be "Theek se bowling kar".  :cantstop:

Credit to #Covert Indian.

I disagree, Kohli had an understanding about fast bowling and Dhoni about spinners.You don't become successfull captain if you just say theek se bowling kar.

Rohit had that vibe of what you are saying that is why he struggled as a captain in some situations in test cricket.

2 minutes ago, Malcolm Merlyn said:

kya chutiyap hai, why this. Thakur over Tyagi? Chal kya raha hai?

Harshit Rana can walk over in playing 11,when ever he is fit.

They select such players who can be easily discarded 

On 9/10/2026 at 9:26 AM, Manucrick said:

Yash Thakur replaces injured Harshit Rana for Afghanistan T20Is and Asian Games why not pick Mayank this yash not a t20 bowler 

Not sure Mayank Yadav has the fitness to last a tournament even with a max of 4 overs per match.

Just now, lemsip said:

Not sure Mayank Yadav has the fitness to last a tournament even with a max of 4 overs per match.

He is playing regularly now... You won't find out if you won't try.

Testing him in WI ODIs is the right step.

From then on you can rest and rotate him in NZ.

12 minutes ago, lemsip said:

He played India’s last T20 series against Zimbabwe and played all 3 matches with barely any gap between them The Asian Games might only be 4 games and if we win 2 we go straight to the final I don’t think he’s injured either I haven’t heard anything  

How does Yash Thakur get into these squads so easily without really having done much to earn his spot? He has not done much either in IPL or in FC cricket and is not even an out and out fast bowler.

Instead, Mayank was so good in Zimbabwe and doesn't get a chance again. How can he retain that confidence of past performances if he keeps getting dropped after every series even when he performed. 

5 minutes ago, Texan said:

How does Yash Thakur get into these squads so easily without really having done much to earn his spot? He has not done much either in IPL or in FC cricket and is not even an out and out fast bowler.

Instead, Mayank was so good in Zimbabwe and doesn't get a chance again. How can he retain that confidence of past performances if he keeps getting dropped after every series even when he performed. 

Even Prince Yadav did well in the chances he got. How did Yash Thakur get ahead of him

my theory on Sanju Samson is that his performance is directly linked to how much pressure there is on his place  in the squad.in the WC we were out of options and Sanju walked in and started blasting every ball since he had no pressure AT ALL.now VS is breathing down his neck and he cant handle the pressure.

5 hours ago, cowboysfan said:

my theory on Sanju Samson is that his performance is directly linked to how much pressure there is on his place  in the squad.in the WC we were out of options and Sanju walked in and started blasting every ball since he had no pressure AT ALL.now VS is breathing down his neck and he cant handle the pressure.

There is nothing to do with pressure, sanju has entire history of ipl seasons he plays some top level innings and then have couple of ordinary to poor innings.

he always had this issue.

22 hours ago, Texan said:

Yash plays the entire season of domestic thats the only reason he gets picked. Not sure how good/bad he is in red-ball.

But white-ball he does not look like an intnl level bowler. He looked ordinary on A tours.

Mayank is not dropped, they do not want him to play all the games , they are easing him back into intnl crkt.

Edited by tapandrun
7 hours ago, cowboysfan said:

he won you a WC while rest of batsmen succumbed to pressure. He deserves to go out on his own terms.