Anil Kumble debuts as international commentator

Lord

http://www.espnstar.com/cricket/icc-world-t20/news/detail/item278572/ESPN-STAR-Sports-ropes-in-Kumble/ Former India Test captain will join his former teammate Sourav Ganguly behind the microphone. The ace Indian spinner, who retired from international cricket after carving his name on 619 Test wickets in a career spanning 17 years, will join the ESPN STAR Sports commentary panel which also includes Ian Chappell, Ian Bishop, Wasim Akram, Sanjay Manjrekar, Harsha Bhogle and Nasser Hussain. "I have always wanted to contribute to the game of cricket whether on or off the field. My association with ESPN STAR Sports poses an interesting challenge for me as I have never tried serious analysis before," Anil Kumble said. "The T20 format does not leave much of a breathing space for both the player as well as the viewer as the match situation changes really fast. This fast format will surely open up many facets and nuances for the TV expert which I am sure will prove to be an enjoyable experience," he added. The announcement comes close on the heels of the signing of former skipper Ganguly on Wednesday. "Anil is one of the greatest spin bowlers of all time. He has recently hung up his boots but the wealth of experience in handling all the great batsmen of the last two decades will surely come in handy when he is behind the mike," said RC Venkateish, Managing Director of ESPN software India. Aussies and Proteas are main threats Kumble, meanwhile, said that he considered Australia and South Africa as the two most potent sides who will pose a threat to India's title defence in the ICC World T20. "Australia and South Africa among others will also pose a strong challenge to India at the tourney," Kumble said. Kumble feels India needed to be on guard against complacency if they are to defend their title. "T20 is still a new concept, an evolving game, where every player is learning match by match. So anything is possible but sure