32 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

Yes. This was his Hindi debut. 

And it took a Telugu director RGV, the true cinephile to introduce him to the biggest stage in India i.e Bollywood.

RGV was a rebel who never believed in established structures for his films to succeed. Even today if needed he can make a decent movie with an iPhone without mainstream actors and technicians.

Over the course of his career he gave life to  so many artists and technicians like Urmila, Manoj Bajpai, Sandeep Chowta, Anurag Kashyap and countless others. Too bad he became an attention seeker these days.

AR Rahman is the biggest Muslim icon in India after Abdul Kalam who found universal acceptance across caste, creed, region and religion who coincidentally are both Tamilians.

This is one of my many favorite songs of ARR. It took so many legends to bring this song to life.

On 9/17/2025 at 6:05 PM, Tillu said:

And it took a Telugu director RGV, the true cinephile to introduce him to the biggest stage in India i.e Bollywood.

RGV was a rebel who never believed in established structures for his films to succeed. Even today if needed he can make a decent movie with an iPhone without mainstream actors and technicians.

Over the course of his career he gave life to  so many artists and technicians like Urmila, Manoj Bajpai, Sandeep Chowta, Anurag Kashyap and countless others. Too bad he became an attention seeker these days.

AR Rahman is the biggest Muslim icon in India after Abdul Kalam who found universal acceptance across caste, creed, region and religion who coincidentally are both Tamilians.

This is one of my many favorite songs of ARR. It took so many legends to bring this song to life.

SRK too perhaps.

Here is another AR Rahman and SRK number:

Shot primarily at Lamayuru monastery, between Kargil and Leh. 

A must visit if you plan a Srinagar to Leh road trip! Small detour only.

Edited by Mariyam
On 9/17/2025 at 7:41 AM, Stan AF said:

On this month , 30 years ago an Music Composer from TamilNadu showed the whole of India what talent they're really missing out on. :drool:

You Guys are welcome. :p:

Tujhe kyon Tq bole? Were you instrumental in his success? I will tell Tq to his teachers, mentors or guides like Ilayaraja, his motivators and his father who was instrumental in nurturing his talent 

On 9/17/2025 at 8:35 AM, Tillu said:

RGV is such a huge disappointment from Shiva, Satya, Company,  Raat, Koun . His production house was called The Factory by the industry giving rise to so many talents like Anurag Kashyap, etc in last 20 years. His downfall started in 2007 with RGV Ki Aag and he lost his credibility. Sort of redeemed in Rakta Charitra. He is now working on porn movies and some inane tweets. Such a sorry downfall of one of India’s best filmmakers 

Where is Himesh Bhai these days…. 

Used to create incredibly addictive music, not one for the purists, not a Kumar Sanu or Sonu Nigam, but his songs are tier to best memories from junior college. 

12 hours ago, Mariyam said:

SRK too perhaps.

Here is another AR Rahman and SRK number:

Shot primarily at Lamayuru monastery, between Kargil and Leh. 

A must visit if you plan a Srinagar to Leh road trip! Small detour only.

Best combination of ARR and Gulzar Sahab using Ghalib’s verse   in the lyrics .. 

Ishq par zor nahin, hai ye wo aatish Ghalib Ke lagaey na lagey aur bujhaey na bane"

3 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Fat fingers.

i thought your name was inspired by

Rangeela Rasool!! 

Nabi Sahab!

Na na.,, my name was inspired by the very first movie I saw as a kid at a cinema hall - and it remains my most favorite Bollywood movie ever … because it mirrors the story of my life….. well somewhat. :agree:

Edited by rangeelaraja
21 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said:

Na na.,, my name was inspired by the very first movie I saw as a kid at a cinema hall - and it remains my most favorite Bollywood movie ever … because it mirrors the story of my life….. well somewhat. :agree:

Do you know the history of Rangeela Rsaool? Google 

56 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Tujhe kyon Tq bole? Were you instrumental in his success? I will tell Tq to his teachers, mentors or guides like Ilayaraja, his motivators and his father who was instrumental in nurturing his talent 

It's my (how you guys call it) my karmic duty to promote/hype up Tamil talent any/everywhere I can.

27 minutes ago, Stan AF said:

It's my (how you guys call it) my karmic duty to promote/hype up Tamil talent any/everywhere I can.

Thank you, then. I want to contribute to your Karmic backlog. Maybe  it will help in your next janma.  :beer:

1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said:

Like Urmila?

25 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

Like Urmila?

No like Munna. Felt  “ Defeated “  and lost  every bit of hope when my “ Milli “ was courted by someone and his family, objectively better suited to her,  - left Mumbai to start life 15000 kms away in NYC.  And then “ Milli “ , followed me after a few months leaving everything behind. For this Rangeela

will always be my ATF movie. I feel I “ lived “ it :agree:

3 hours ago, rangeelaraja said:

No like Munna. Felt  “ Defeated “  and lost  every bit of hope when my “ Milli “ was courted by someone and his family, objectively better suited to her,  - left Mumbai to start life 15000 kms away in NYC.  And then “ Milli “ , followed me after a few months leaving everything behind. For this Rangeela

will always be my ATF movie. I feel I “ lived “ it :agree:

So  did you wear the kaali peeli dress?

The waiter is and will be the most chilled out guy in the movie. AC chalu hai sir 

I have listened to this song a 100 times on radio. Never came home and played on youtube even though i liked the tune. Thought of watching this Netflix show Black Rabbit. Opening scene with Jude law infront of the mirror... starts with this song. Damn. gave a different vibe.  Nostalgia for me. Heard atleast 3 or 4 times since then. What a pleasant classic song this is

Edited by vvvslaxman