rdthewall Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 Great achievement by a Great cricketer- you rock Sachin!
flamy Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 My mate reckons i'm going to have a three-way sex romp tonight. I think ur mate wants to be more than ur mate :nervous:
IKnowU Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 I think ur mate wants to be more than ur mate :nervous: hahah good one 'mate' :hysterical:
Guest Gunner Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 My mate reckons i'm going to have a three-way sex romp tonight. I think ur mate wants to be more than ur mate :nervous: Vaat flamy said. :haha::haha:
akshayxyz Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 Goose! I am curious to know the 'reasoning' behind your mate's reckoning.. was it numerology, astrology, tarot, betting. or does he pass such statements every other match, and this one turned out to be true ;) ? It is about time that s/he shows up and owns up, his prediction is as big as actual result itself..
Sachinism Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 My mate reckons i'm going to have a three-way sex romp tonight. MMF :nervous:
Desi Cartman Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 :shok::shok: U mean :shok::shok::shok:
The Outsider Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 :shok::shok: The troika being completed by flamy and h4te.
The Outsider Posted February 26, 2010 Posted February 26, 2010 In all honesty, there was no mate. The call was entirely my own. By passing it off as a 'mate's' call i'd thought i'd make some effort to comply with the jinx etiquette around here. It all started when i woke up and checked into Cricinfo. I knew the 2nd game was due to start at 9.30 GMT. The headline on Cricinfo was 'Sehwag Goes Early' or something like that. Kartik was on 0 and Tendulkar in his high teens at a run a ball. Then i logged into sports betting site www.sportingindex.com. I knew i was going to be spunking away a lot of cash on a holiday i'd just booked and thought i'd check out the betting markets on the game to see if i could make some back. The site said India to win by 12 runs or something. I thought to myself that's fair enough and left it alone. 10 yrs ago i made a lot of cash on cricket bets. I'd bet on the quirkiest aspect of a game and often come up trumps. I'd only take on bets where i had strong conviction or where the bookmaker had clearly got it wrong. Then things started to go wrong. I begun placing bets on anything and everything. Suddenly it was just about having some risk on. The conviction betting had been replaced by fifty-fifty coin toss betting. I started losing. One day i stopped. That was five years ago. Now i rarely bet if at all. In fact, that morning was the first time i'd logged into www.sportingindex.com for a long while. Having opted to stay away from their bets, the thought of Tendulkar getting 200 just popped into my head. Just like that, for no rhyme or reason. I wasn't even watching on telly - no Sky Sports in my flat. He had moved into the 30s i think. I then proceeded to post this prediction on www.indiancricketfans.com. I knew full well i'd be risking my considerable reputation around here not to mention condemnation from the anti-jinx brigade. I mean anyone can make a silly prediction on any given day right? Still, i just felt compelled to write down, and lodge some record of the premonition i had. Thus, this thread was born. I think Tendulkar was on 40 odd by the time i hit 'new thread'. Having posted this thread, i proceeded to get ready and pack my suitcase. That expensive holiday meant i had to catch a flight at 15.45 from London to New York that afternoon. The clock said 10.00. It was going to be very tight. In between, showering and packing, i think i hit the Cricinfo update button a million times. The thread started to grow and attracted universal condemnation. Then, i couldn't find my passport. F%ck. i actually could not find my passport. I looked everywhere. Tendulkar had just got to three figures. I might actually miss my flight. F%ck my passport, and f%ck this holiday. Tendulkar was batting. I remembered then my passport was at my parent's house. That was an hour drive away round trip! I had no choice. I drove, one hand on steering wheel, and other hand clutching the Cricinfo Mobicast iPhone application. The updates were taking longer and longer. India was logged on. I arrived at the house, and ran straight to the telly and switched Ch 401 on. There he was, batting on 170 odd. I hadn't seen my parents in over a month. The clock said 12.20. I was seriously late. I wanted to watch but i couldn't. Ok maybe for an over or two. I collected my passport and drove back to my flat. Cricinfo on my phone had crashed. The net was jammed. Back in my flat, I checked Cricinfo, Cricbuzz but they were stuck on India 363-3. Had he done it? Fittingly, it was in this very thread that i got to find out. Tendulkar had done it! I was right. I was also very f%cking late. I grabbed all my stuff and got a taxi to Heathrow. I didn't have time for trains. I got there at 14.45. Driver wanted eight-five pounds. I gave him a round hundred and dashed for the check-in counter. They escorted me to the front. I made it. Flight BA 189 was leaving on time at 15.45 with me on board. As i type this post from my hotel in New York, it still hasn't sunk in. How did he do that? How did i do that? Perhaps sub-consciously i had good reasons to make the call. He was in great nick, his opening partner had gone early leaving Tendulkar to hog the stage. He's also looking leaner and fitter than ever. Maybe after following just about every one of his knocks since he debuted in 1989 i'm just in tune with this rhythms. Of course that's all bullsh%t. I leave you with a quote from Sehwag. I paraphrase. It says everything i want to say. It wasn't just Tendulkar that got 200. We all did. Regards Goose. Wonderful write up! Straight from the heart! BTW, if you are in NYC area for some time, drop me a line and we might be able to meet up.
goose Posted February 26, 2010 Author Posted February 26, 2010 Outsider, i'll drop you a line. Do i make it to the ICF Magic Moments? If so edit and post as you see fit.
chetan0304 Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 ‘Anwar used a runner, Sachin didn’t’ http://www.mumbaimirror.com/article/59/2010022620100226020251824a7bb892/%E2%80%98Anwar-used-a-runner-Sachin-didn%E2%80%99t%E2%80%99.html They didn’t have access to Sachin Tendulkar, but at the Harris and Giles Shield prize distribution ceremony on Thursday the boys were all ears to someone who, in the 90s, had seen Tendulkar make the leap to greatness. Sanjay Manjrekar, present as the chief guest for the occasion, didn’t have to regale them with tales of Tendulkar. But could he have resisted a word on Tendulkar’s 200? He said, “A man in his 20th year of cricket getting a double hundred is a special moment. In the end he was running those singles and doubles for the partner at the other end, unlike Saeed Anwar who ran his last 90 runs with a runner. “It shows Tendulkar’s commitment. Truly, this was a once-in-a-lifetime innings.†He was enchanted to see the kids in their whites. “The game has now become a lot colourful. Somehow cricket in whites has become the least preferred brand of cricket,†Manjrekar said. He was part of the programme in which Rahul Dravid had apparently remarked that the Rainas and the Rohits were not desperate to do well in Tests. “I was in that programme and he didn’t say anything of that sort,†Manjrekar clarified, “All he said was that cricketers of the coming generation do not have any role models. Youngsters monitor their heroes and work on their game accordingly. If the next-generation players do not have a hero in Test cricket, how will they become Test cricketers?â€
Cricketics Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 Even though Anwar scored plenty of runs, and I have mentioned that Tendulkar messed up big time by allowing Anwar to take a runner(even though anwar was just tired, and not injured), I have to say that Anwar did play a brilliant knock by scoring that 194. Runner or not, that was one heck of an innings. It took 10 years to surpass that even though ODI cricket has been happening on regular basis every year. Anwar knock remained the best until Tendulkar got 195 and then finished up at 200*. By writing such things, Manjrekar is just going to gain some hatred from people.
Mr Eintstein Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 another day, another record for sach. :hatsoff: on an utterly pointless note, what do you think you would say if he got stranded on 199 N.O?
Rajiv Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 BCCI have Sachin 10 Lakhs ICF Gives gose 100 Million Beat that you BCCI
Laaloo Posted February 27, 2010 Posted February 27, 2010 BCCI have Sachin 10 Lakhs ICF Gives gose 100 Million Beat that you BCCI I gave him 50 mil. So that's 150 mil BCCI :finger:
akshayxyz Posted February 28, 2010 Posted February 28, 2010 I gave him 50 mil. So that's 150 mil BCCI :finger: I parted with half of my ICF wealth. beat that :)