Should long term NRIs/permanent residents support their own country and culture?

This just came to my mind a few hours ago when I was watching BBC news on TV. They were discussing and showing a report about how NRI and even settled citizens in UK are trying to force Indian culture on UK. The report showed Leicester where supposedly an Indian woman is perhaps the Mayor or something. They said that she is stressing on bringing more desi culture etc. to UK and their children to be raised as Indians rather than as as UK residents. They reported that even after getting citizenship the desi/Indian community there term themselves as desis/Indians rather than British. BBC also showed the reaction of many localites in Leicester who do not like this as they call themselves Indians yet are residing in UK. They said that they are being ruled by people who dont consider themselves proper UK residents. Frankly speaking on thinking about it I found the concerns of the locals there to be quite logical. For example, if Sonia Gandhi had not accustomed to the Indian culture and would have remained an Italian then maybe she might not have been respected at all. Especially if somebody is a citizen of country the native country where they are citizen should come first IMO. The British locals were quite right that they should consider themselves British after living in UK for 40 years or more. At least their future generations should not be forced to follow Indian culture but let them follow the British culture where they were born. Discuss

There is a big difference between supporting and trying to impose it. I don't know about the programme or the details that you are talking about, but I don't mind if any community tries to celebrate its festivals within their communities at the local temple/gurudwara etc, but if it is a case of trying to impose your 'personal' values & culture on the wider British society because you are in power, that is more of a power abuse rather than supporting your culture.

Indians are not pakistani or other arabs where they IMPOSE their culture and religion on others and fight against their host country.... Indians have adapted quite well in many countries while still maintaining their own culture and heritage...a lot of which is appreciated and welcomed by westerners as they realize the ahimsa and beauty of our culture.

Guest Gunner

If you were born in another country or have lived more than 10 years there, in my opinion that is your homeland. Your ethnicity should have no bearing on how ou feel about this. Practising certain cultural/religious events doesn't harm anyone. That seems perfectly fine to me but it should not come at the cost of integration.

Many well 'integrated' Indians suffer from identity stress. Every day we wake up with one one identity, go to work and switch to another identity, socialize with friends and switch again. That takes it's toll. Some British Indians have integrated too well, to the point where peers are blind to your Indian roots. Hell, even a Welshman or Scotsman is deemed to be more 'different'. I think some of us just want to reclaim that dual aspect to our identity and be recognized for who we really are. I envy American society in this regard.

I wouldn't read too much into the BBC report, half the time their full of sh*t. Indians, as already mentioned in this thread, are spread around the world, and have integrated and adapted better than other communities in their choice of residence. Rather than wasting their time in carrying out reports in Leicester, the BBC should be more concerned with looking at areas in East London, where there will find Islamists protesting on the street for the UK government to adopt Sharia law.

what no poal? we need poal.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: On a serious note, yes one should accept the new country as home and like other posters have said, following own culture is no issue but I have seen many desis who dont allow their kids to date White People :mad: I mean they expect kids to be aussies/americans but still marry a desi from gorakhpur and not date non-desis. Its so fecking stupid
Were you denied a gori maam? :phehehe:
lol No .. but even my generation I see desis talk how they are scared that their kids wont have Indian values and they will marry Aussies bla bla bla
Lol, my sister-inlaw is English, it's fecking comedy watching her and my mum with her broken English communicate. At times they use sign language:hysterical::hysterical:
This just came to my mind a few hours ago when I was watching BBC news on TV. They were discussing and showing a report about how NRI and even settled citizens in UK are trying to force Indian culture on UK. The report showed Leicester where supposedly an Indian woman is perhaps the Mayor or something. They said that she is stressing on bringing more desi culture etc. to UK and their children to be raised as Indians rather than as as UK residents. They reported that even after getting citizenship the desi/Indian community there term themselves as desis/Indians rather than British. BBC also showed the reaction of many localites in Leicester who do not like this as they call themselves Indians yet are residing in UK. They said that they are being ruled by people who dont consider themselves proper UK residents. Frankly speaking on thinking about it I found the concerns of the locals there to be quite logical. For example, if Sonia Gandhi had not accustomed to the Indian culture and would have remained an Italian then maybe she might not have been respected at all. Especially if somebody is a citizen of country the native country where they are citizen should come first IMO. The British locals were quite right that they should consider themselves British after living in UK for 40 years or more. At least their future generations should not be forced to follow Indian culture but let them follow the British culture where they were born. Discuss
Do you remember the name of the documenntary...Sounds interesting... Regarding the discussion, I kind of see myself confused sometimes.. I came here in Canada at the age of 16... All of sudden, it changed from 'Oye' to 'Eh'.... as Goose mentioned, I have more of a split personality... 'Every day we wake up with one one identity, go to work/classes switch to another identity, socialize with friends and switch again'... so ya, there are times it gets really confusing whether I am actually a Indian or Canadian...I dont drink but I enjoy the company of drinkers and sit in pub more often..I go to Mandir on Tuesdays and pray everyday but stilll think n call myself athiest like typical Canadian......I love India but I also hate Barney when he makes fun of Canada in HIMYM :--D.... I love cricket but I also love and enjoy Ice Hockey... so ya, I wont blame NRI specially when they come at early age..but we Indians are good in adopting to new culture yet preserving good parts of Indian culture....

Speaking for myself and my peers who have been born and bread in England, we still considers ourselfs to be Indian though British Indian, and obviously we want our culture and values to be passed down onto the next generation. The popular saying is very true for us "you can take an Indian out of India, but you cannot take India out of an Indian".

no, we should not. **** India and their smelly ****ing people. everytime i come across a fob, i go out of my way to make him feel as uncomfortable as i can possibly make him feel. stupid selfish ****s with their annoying ****ing accents. neither have any decency nor have any manners. won't stop meddling into your private lives. :mad:

no' date=' we should not. **** India and their smelly ****ing people. everytime i come across a fob, i go out of my way to make him feel as uncomfortable as i can possibly make him feel. stupid selfish ****s with their annoying ****ing accents. neither have any decency nor have any manners. won't stop meddling into your private lives. :mad:[/quote'] u didnt complain when a FOB (me :proud:) was dillying in your silly :finger:
"don't allow" is bs.... more like they encourage their kids to date other kids from the same culture... and rightly so.... if pakis, arabs, iranians, chinese, japanese... all encourages the same behaviour then why not us? we extend our culture and faith thru our next generation...if everyone starts marrying goras, christians, muslims, black, chinese...who will preserve our roots?
"don't allow" is bs.... more like they encourage their kids to date other kids from the same culture... and rightly so.... if pakis' date= arabs, iranians, chinese, japanese... all encourages the same behaviour then why not us?
Good role models arent they :cantstop: Forget dating marriage vagera, encourage ur kids to join the Hells Angels :cool: fk the toyota/honda, buy ur kid a Harley. Screw the college degree, the patch is all that matters. hellsangels02.jpg
Guest Gunner
"don't allow" is bs.... more like they encourage their kids to date other kids from the same culture... and rightly so.... if pakis' date=' arabs, iranians, chinese, japanese... all encourages the same behaviour then why not us? we extend our culture and faith thru our next generation...if everyone starts marrying goras, christians, muslims, black, chinese...[b']who will preserve our roots?
Aap hain na?